RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Spektrum DX18

Reply

Old 08-16-2015, 09:10 PM
  #626  
bri6672
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
bri6672's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 401
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would call Horizon and send it back in! Banging on it should not be the way to fix it and it makes me believe something bigger is wrong! I have two DX18 G2's and love them but would never fly if one of mine did that....
bri6672 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:50 AM
  #627  
superhelisteve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you for your concern...
I'll call them to see what they can do...
superhelisteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 09:10 AM
  #628  
leigh_howden
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

i also have this throttle aileron mix problem

until yesterday i always thought my models have a mind of their own on occasion

the problem is intermittent and consists of the model banking of to the right, i try and retrim the model in flight but the result is constant aileron inputs even to fly straight and level

i put the problem down to servos and yesterday replaced the servos on my sebart 50cc from high tec to savox, this did two things, first thing is nothing, the plane still banks of right after a while in flight, the second thing (and this was my fault) nearly crash the model as the savox servos rotate in the opposite direction to the high tecs!! result was reversed alierons which made take of interesting, fortunately by flying the plane high to give plenty of reaction time and a fellow club member who reversed the ailerons (both channels as each servo has it's own channel) i was able to save the plane

after this near miss i decided to fly my wot 4 xl on the same DX18 and after a while the same problem, i showed the same fellow member and basically i was able to turn the plane using the throttle, i landed the plane and brought back to the pits, investigation showed that the ailerons where infact interacting when the throttle was applied

we tried looking at mixes (none of which i have set up) all the switches etc and could not get rid of the problem, i changed model back to the sebart and the problem disappeared. i then went back to the wot 4 and still the problem has gone

this is a bug in the hand set that comes and goes, not sure what the problem is or how to fix but will be contacting horizon tomorrow to arrange the handset to be returned and tested

lets see what they say?
leigh_howden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 09:42 AM
  #629  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,674
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I dont trust them. I switched to DMSS. Brand new out of box DX18 stealth screen didnt work...sent it in to get fixed. Came back and gear switch fell out. Shortly sfter that a advisory to do a range check. I how have a $900 foamy only radio. I trust my jets only to JR!
tp777fo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 05:23 AM
  #630  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Where should I send my DX18 to be checked?

hmarmaizmd717
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 06:03 AM
  #631  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,051
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by E.N.T. View Post
Where should I send my DX18 to be checked?hmarmaizmd717
Send it directly to Horizon USA.
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 10:32 AM
  #632  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks; Andy.

hmarmaizmd717
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:04 PM
  #633  
HoundDog
My Feedback: (49)
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by E.N.T. View Post
Where should I send my DX18 to be checked?

hmarmaizmd717
Man did U leave your self open on that one Sorry but i couldn't help my self ... Good luck ... Have an awesome day.
HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:19 AM
  #634  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I was just asking if owners send their radios to other place besides Horizon.
I've had this radio for 4 years , and I love it.
That's why I don't answer dumb remarks.
Sorry for that.
hmarmaizmd717
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy