RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Spektrum DX18

Reply
Old 02-13-2012, 06:34 PM
  #176
Gixxy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fly24-7

Gixxy. You're not gonna win this one. Hound is convinced that if it comes from Horizon, it's junk. Those of us that have had a trouble-free experience are ticking time bombs who are destine to crash due to a broken radio link. Seeing that I've been using a DX7 problem-free for six years, I like my odds...

Actually he was right All of my planes just self destructed DDDDDAAAAAMMMMMNNNN YOU HORIZON !!!!

Actually horizon has been nothing but superb with customer service. Thank you Horizon.
Gixxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:58 PM
  #177
HoundDog
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Gixxy


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fly24-7

Gixxy. You're not gonna win this one. Hound is convinced that if it comes from Horizon, it's junk. Those of us that have had a trouble-free experience are ticking time bombs who are destine to crash due to a broken radio link. Seeing that I've been using a DX7 problem-free for six years, I like my odds...

Actually he was right All of my planes just self destructed DDDDDAAAAAMMMMMNNNN YOU HORIZON !!!!

Actually horizon has been nothing but superb with customer service. Thank you Horizon.
as for service one gentleman in a club I'm in in Wisconsin has had 3 because 2 just quit working. The 3rd on of witch he is still using, when he got it from Horizon it had a nut and bolt rolling around in side the case ... Just an observation.
HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:03 PM
  #178
HoundDog
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: fly24-7

Gixxy. You're not gonna win this one. Hound is convinced that if it comes from Horizon, it's junk. Those of us that have had a trouble-free experience are ticking time bombs who are destine to crash due to a broken radio link. Seeing that I've been using a DX7 problem-free for six years, I like my odds...
Not so ... all I'm saying is that the spectrum 5,6,&7's are old tech and have an inhearent problem ... i.e. they wouldn't have gone to the new tech "HOPPING" if it worked as well as you believe or i if it wasn't necessary. Too bad they made it compatible with the old receivers the DSM2
HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:11 PM
  #179
Ramz
 
Ramz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Petitcodiac, NB, CANADA
Posts: 264
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

176 posts and maybe 20% of them are relative and on topic. Awesome.
Ramz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:31 PM
  #180
stvinvegas
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

It's beyond my comprehension how any one can even argue for any radio that does not come with model match... Futaba is a joke with their over priced radios. 3k come on...
stvinvegas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:43 PM
  #181
HoundDog
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

SORRY If I OFFENDED U but anyone that needs model match so they don't have to think maybe should be running a sail boat. If U can't even check that U have the proper model set up, how did U ever get the right PIN when using 72 Mhz. Bet U don't do a range check or check that controls are "FREE AND CORRECT" every time U take the runway ... Better hope your next radio comes with a Baday ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bidet
HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:31 PM
  #182
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,926
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

hmm..
nice looking radio...
A nice touch screen and it would be a really nice radio..
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:35 PM
  #183
wildnloose
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 1,126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Hmm, I thougt this was about the new DX18. Since this is what I'm interested in, please start a new thread and do all the Spektrum bashing you want. But leave this one to the new DX18.

Thank you...
wildnloose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:23 PM
  #184
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I just blocked him wildnloose, life is too short to let him bother you he is obviously happy with his Futaba 9C and good for him, but preaching on here isn't doing him any favours
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 12:46 AM
  #185
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

some guys are just to funny.

In the A9 Hitec thread, if you mention Model Match, they go ballistic

In the Spectrum thread if you mention DSM 2, the two channels dilemma, they go ballistic

I feel like I'm the only objective person...

I have DSM2, and don't like the possibility of 2 channels being so close as to lose redundancy (that's why they have 2 channels in the first place, right?)

So I got a Hitec Spectra module in my JR based Tx, just to be on the safe side with bigger models. I still fly DSM2 with smaller stuff.

But there is NO excuse for the A9 not to have MM, in my opinion. So let's be fair

Anyway, that's why I'm so exited about the DX18 > it has both
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:06 AM
  #186
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I'm still on DSM2 with my JR DSX9 as the UK JR guys refused to upgrade it to DSMX like Horizon did in the states. I've never had a problem with it in 3 1/2 years of use, no lockouts or radio induced crashes. I'll happily admit that my last crash was down to my thumbs and my head being up my ass at the time, funnily enough i held my hands up when i used to fly on 35mhz to LOL
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 03:15 AM
  #187
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

So the latest all singing dancing way over priced Futaba 18ch radio dos'nt have a model match facility, wow I thought it was meant to be a top end radio?

Horizon should run a advert "don't waste your money on a 18mz buy a DX18 and we will give you a turbine for free"

You would need to be very tunnel visioned to pick the 18MZ if Ali sat a DX18/P100RX on the counter and said which one do you want.
But then again you might like taking pictures of your shoes
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:34 AM
  #188
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I've said this time, and time again....

I was a Die-Hard Futaba guy (going back to the late 70's)... but they took WAY too long to bring out 2.4... and the new line of radios, are WAY over-priced. And, I think the S-bus thing is just stupid. Futaba want's you to believe that it simplifies the system... but in reality, it just adds expense, and makes them money.

I bought my first DX6 about 7 years ago, and it was flawless. Then, when DSM2 came out... I solid it, and bought newer radios. I'm not sold on the "X" system yet, but I'm planning on buying the 18 when it comes out.

Finally... I have thought about going back to Futaba... but I just can't get past the price they are asking for "Park Flyer" Rx's.


Enough of that... this thread is supposed to be about the new 18... not about bashing Spektrum/JR.
Dr Honda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:57 AM
  #189
fly24-7
 
fly24-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Posts: 378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I've spoken with a rep from Horizon on DSMX. The feedback I received is that unless you fly at large events (Joe Nall and the like), DSMX won't buy you much over DSM2 and the upgrade isn't essential. However, if one wants to spend $70 for the upgrade and have added peace of mind, go for it...
fly24-7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:36 PM
  #190
sirzepp
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Love my DX8.  Can't wait for this transmitter...it will be just in time for my first 150cc plane!  (LOL...I wish).
sirzepp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:51 PM
  #191
jzuniga
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Anyone know who will have the DX18 available first in the states? Chief RC is showing them as available in September?
Looks like I may have found my next radio... DSM2 for 3yrs and never any problems! (knock on wood)

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:10 AM
  #192
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dr Honda

Enough of that... this thread is supposed to be about the new 18... not about bashing Spektrum/JR.
Tony you can bash Spektrum/JR all you like, in fact I think they need bashing, but I think you meant Futaba.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:17 AM
  #193
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Have you been drinking again Mike? Tony's post made sense to me
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:38 AM
  #194
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

If Mike is drinking again, so can I
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:40 AM
  #195
Mart (Ham)
 
Mart (Ham)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wickford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 244
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

Have you been drinking again Mike? Tony's post made sense to me
+1
Mart (Ham) is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:14 AM
  #196
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BaldEagel


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dr Honda

Enough of that... this thread is supposed to be about the new 18... not about bashing Spektrum/JR.
Tony you can bash Spektrum/JR all you like, in fact I think they need bashing, but I think you meant Futaba.

Mike
He said bashing Spektrum/JR in English this means having a go at, he did not say bashing on about Spektrum/JR wich would mean going on about them.

And I am always drinking, Port, Wine or Beer as long as its a good one. hic hic.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:32 AM
  #197
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

I haven't had a good port in a long time. []

Mike... when I said "Enough bashing on Spektrum" was in regards to the guys who came on this thread and were saying that they were junk. I personally like JR/Spektrum.
Dr Honda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:44 AM
  #198
John Tancock
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LondonSurrey, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

What is model match and how does it work?
John Tancock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:51 AM
  #199
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Simple. MM prevents you to link-up with the wrong model. Each model model having pre-programed features, if the wrong model is selected at the Tx, it will not work. It's a lifesaver if you ask me
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:54 AM
  #200
John Tancock
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LondonSurrey, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DX18

Many thanks.

John
John Tancock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:00 AM.