RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Reply
Old 03-13-2012, 05:07 AM
  #1
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Bandit ARF without hopper tank

I have a Bandit ARF with a P-120SE set up without the hopper tank. Any ideas on the flight time I can expect? How critical is the hopper tank?

dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:28 AM
  #2
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Dantley - Are you having a quest to own every jet ever made

I suspect 6 minutes is a good starting point. I could fly mine with both P100 and P80 for 9 minutes of a variety of power settings with and still land with the hopper full. If you stay WOT, maybe just start off with 5 and see how capacity looks......
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:34 AM
  #3
Greg Wright
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

That's all going to depend on how you fly. If you are a throw the hammer down kind of guy you could expect to get maybe 5 minutes but if you use your throttle accordingly you might get 7 minutes. I have a p80SE in mine with the large hopper tank set-up and i can get a full 10 minutes at full throttle and still have the hopper tank almost full. If i manage the throttle accordingly i could probably get 13 minutes comfortably.
Greg Wright is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:42 AM
  #4
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Andrew, in a word... yes, but only because my fleet was wiped out.

My BARF doesn't have the hopper tank. Do you guys feel it's critical to have?
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:48 AM
  #5
indubitably
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

My Bandit Arf does not have a hopper tank. Might add one for smoke soon. I believe i was getting 6 mins. I now have a 100RX and get 8mins with mainly full throttls
John
indubitably is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:46 AM
  #6
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dubd

Andrew, in a word... yes, but only because my fleet was wiped out.

My BARF doesn't have the hopper tank. Do you guys feel it's critical to have?
Sorry to hear that - I guess it means you get to go on a best of the best toy hunt though.
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:49 AM
  #7
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank


Quote:
ORIGINAL: indubitably

My Bandit Arf does not have a hopper tank. Might add one for smoke soon. I believe i was getting 6 mins. I now have a 100RX and get 8mins with mainly full throttls
John
John, what was powering your BARF before the 100rx?
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:50 AM
  #8
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Andrew Bird


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dubd

Andrew, in a word... yes, but only because my fleet was wiped out.

My BARF doesn't have the hopper tank. Do you guys feel it's critical to have?
Sorry to hear that - I guess it means you get to go on a best of the best toy hunt though.
Trying to make lemonade from a ***** load of lemons.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:57 AM
  #9
Kevin_W
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

I have a Bandit ARF powered by a P-120. I have my timer set for 8 1/2 minutes and fly mostly at around 3/4 to full throttle. The center tank is usually still full, or just beginning to drain when I land. I am seriously considering replacing it with a much smaller tank just to get rid of the extra weight.
Kevin_W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:02 PM
  #10
rcand
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coral springs, FL
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dubd

I have a Bandit ARF with a P-120SE set up without the hopper tank. Any ideas on the flight time I can expect? How critical is the hopper tank?


That depends, how good are you with dead sticks?
rcand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:22 PM
  #11
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

You don't need to use the BVM hopper tank if you want to save a few $$$. You can just find an appropriately sized plastic tank which will work great as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92499.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	413.5 KB
ID:	1738393  
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 02:22 PM
  #12
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Thanks, guys. My BARF is RTF with only the saddles and I need to decide if I want to add the hopper or just fly it. I'm time constrained, so if I have to do any work with this plane it'll be weeks before it gets in the air. I currently have smoke tanks where the saddle tank would go. So in short, I am trying to convince myself that the saddles are good enough. Sounds like I can comfortably get a 6 minutes flight with mixed throttle use... no?
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 02:27 PM
  #13
roger.alli
 
roger.alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney NSW , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 932
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Well, my S Bandit has a Merlin 140 drawing from all three tanks. So far I have only had 8-9 minute flights, but am landing with the mains 1/2 full. I reckon the mains alone would be good for an 8 min flight with an engine of this size..

Rog
roger.alli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:30 PM
  #14
jlovitt
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

I have a handful of flights on my new MK II Bandit and I am going to be using the kevlar hopper tank for smoke fluid. Using just the two saddle bvm tanks and the sullivan tank that came with the fuel package from bvm (located between the saddle tanks and below the intake duct), I seem to have plenty of fuel. I have been using a 7 minute timer setting and moderate throttle usage, I have yet to even get into the sullivan tank which is plumbed between the two saddle tanks and the UAT. I have a P120SX in my Bandit.

Jeff Lovitt
jlovitt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:39 PM
  #15
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

Jeff, good to hear! Sounds like I'll have plenty of fuel for a 6/7 minute flight without the Sulivan hopper tank.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 04:30 PM
  #16
topgun24
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

I use a 10 ounce hopper with a P-80SE. If I take it easy, my hopper is still full after 7 minutes. If I let her rip I am deep into the 10 ounce header after 7 minutes. I would be careful with no hopper and 6 to 7 minutes on the P-120 unless you are why off the throttle. I would go shorter time for a couple of flights. Good luck!!
topgun24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:53 PM
  #17
indubitably
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

I used to have a 120 SX in my Bandit before the repair and then i re-fitted it with the 100 RX. A little slower, But a lot lighter, intentionally. Its a lot of fun, and is my favorite with the light setup. Light is in for sure now. Its way out of scale to see an 80 inch plane go by at 250 mph. Out of sight and small turning it around. Its just a perfect plane right now.
John
indubitably is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:33 PM
  #18
dubd
Thread Starter
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bandit ARF without hopper tank

The 100SX sounds like a great combo for the BARF. Will you have at the Buttonwillow "Spring Fling"?
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:07 PM.