RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Rookie 2 power plant

Reply
Old 03-18-2012, 11:30 PM
  #1
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rookie 2 power plant

Im putting together a Rookie Jet 2 with full thrust vectoring.
My biggest concern is power plant for 3D flying. I am not interasting in high speed but i want a jet that can hover and do all 3D manovers.
I was thinking of putting a Jetcat 140 which puts out 31 pounds of thrust and wanted your openion if this is going to do the job.
Jet will be kept as light as possible and i will not be installing a smoke tank for thuis reason.
Thank you
Justflying1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:40 PM
  #2
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie 2 power plant

Really you still need a P160 turbine, it will hover with a P-140, but you will be close to the top of the box and will have very little for pull away. (you would not be safe to hover close to the ground!) The vector nozzle takes away quite a bit of power, even with small movements

regards

Dave
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:40 AM
  #3
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie 2 power plant

HI Dave,
Thanks for the reply.
I think i better put the bigger power plant in it then, and be extra carefull on the throttle stick. :-)
Justflying1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:10 AM.