RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Powerbox iGyro

Reply
Old 05-13-2012, 10:08 PM
  #51
gonzalom
 
gonzalom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 341
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

I have some fantastic results using the Powerbox systems on all my planes. I wonder how the new iGyro can be plug to the Powerbox Royal Spectrum.

Gonzalo
gonzalom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:12 AM
  #52
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Gonzalo

Sorry the iGyro isnt supported by the Royal or Evolution PB as they are not BUS system units.

Regards

Dave
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:49 AM
  #53
ww2birds
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Dave,

Do you know if the Robbe/Futaba S-BUS PSS-2018 "powerbox" (see: [link=http://shop.rc-electronic.com/e-vendo.php?shop=k_emcotec_e&SessionId=&a=article&ProdNr=RF1660&t=861&c=1786&p=1786]http://shop.rc-electronic.com/e-vendo.php?shop=k_emcotec_e&SessionId=&a=article&ProdNr=RF1660&t=861&c=1786&p=1786[/link] ..they call it a "power supply" ) might acutally be OEM'd from the Powerbox guys?

I note that while marketed toward Futaba users, the unit also can attach JR/Spek-style satellite receivers. I recently got one shipped over from Emcotec and it's quite nice but does have a bit of the PB look and feel. Nice unit, btw.

Thanks for the info on the iGyro .. cool device!

Dave
ww2birds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:58 AM
  #54
gonzalom
 
gonzalom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 341
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Thanks Dave for the quick response!

Gonzalo
gonzalom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:14 AM
  #55
Andrew Bailey
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chippenham Wiltshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Powerbox iGyro ordered on Monday, arrived today (Wednesday) Beautiful box of tricks. Looks very well made and robust.

I had to read the manual a few times before I felt I understood how it works and the setup process. Very simple installation and setup involves just three flights to set the gain for both normal and heading modes on each axis.

Two things strike me about this product as being really important and as big differentiators from alternative gyro systems.
  1. The iGyro gives you receiver redundancy without having to buy a full bown Powerbox. So, combined with a Sensor Switch for power redundancy it gives you a much more robust setup.
  2. The iGyro works in both 'heading' mode and 'normal' mode at the same time. When the stick is centered it automatically switches that axis to heading mode. As soon as the stick is moved away from centre is switches to normal mode. The exception is the rudder which only works in heading mode when the 3rd Flight Mode is selected.
All I need to do is work out how to free up the two channels I need for setting the gyro up. I could really do with an 18ch radio! I will report back when I have installed, set up and flown with it. So far I am very impressed.

Andrew Bailey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:07 AM
  #56
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Gerhard at Aircraft International now has these in stock in the US http://www.aircraftinternational.com/

I picked one up at Joe Nall and have installed it in an electric set up before I put it in the jet. It's an impressive unit and set up so far seems to be relative simple, even for an idiot like myself. Hopefully I will fly it in the next day or so and see what it can do.
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:26 AM
  #57
quist
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Andrew,
It was nice meeting you Friday. I think I am going to do the same. I am going to test it in my Sebart SU29 before it goes in the F-16.
quist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:47 AM
  #58
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Good to meet you too, Tony.

I have installed mine in a 60" EF Extra. As I'm on JR it means I can play with the inbuilt RX as well. All the channels are assignable so it means I've been able to use a gyro channel for the throttle and shut the Gyro off on that channel.

Just need it to stop bloody raining here so I can play with it[:@]
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 09:24 AM
  #59
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,597
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ww2birds

Dave,

Do you know if the Robbe/Futaba S-BUS PSS-2018 ''powerbox'' (see: [link=http://shop.rc-electronic.com/e-vendo.php?shop=k_emcotec_e&SessionId=&a=article&ProdNr=RF1660&t=861&c=1786&p=1786]http://shop.rc-electronic.com/e-vendo.php?shop=k_emcotec_e&SessionId=&a=article&ProdNr=RF1660&t=861&c=1786&p=1786[/link] ..they call it a ''power supply'' ) might acutally be OEM'd from the Powerbox guys?

I note that while marketed toward Futaba users, the unit also can attach JR/Spek-style satellite receivers. I recently got one shipped over from Emcotec and it's quite nice but does have a bit of the PB look and feel. Nice unit, btw.

Thanks for the info on the iGyro .. cool device!

Dave

Nice looking piece of electronics Dave
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:17 PM
  #60
ww2birds
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Yes, it's cool, even better "in the flesh" than I expected. Reading the manual for it, I did not realize that the Spektrum satellites output was the demodulated serial data stream, just like S-Bus .. so it makes sense it can take Futaba or Spek satellites as inputs. Learn something new every day...

I think I'll have to give Brother Gearhardt a call to get an iGyro!

Hope to see you this summer at some of the events...

Andrew .. let us know how the iGyro works for you.

Dave
ww2birds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:18 PM
  #61
Rezagh
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rancho Santa MargaritaCA
Posts: 1,915
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Hi Guys,

Love to hear how it works out for you.
I have one to do a review on FG. Just waiting for my transmitter to come back from tuning!
Jack Price at Duralite also has them on order and will receive a shipment very soon!

I would love to hear how it's working out for you on different planes.

Please share it here once you have yours going.

Cheers,
Reza
Rezagh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:27 PM
  #62
kev-o
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 427
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Hoping jack gets them soon he's coming up to our event in a week and hoping to see one in the flesh.

kev-o is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:09 PM
  #63
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

I've had the chance to play with mine this week as I've not been working. I should get some more time over the weekend but I've about 20 flights on it now.

I put it in my electric Extreme Flight 60" Extra before I put it in a jet to make sure I'm on top of how the whole thing works. It also gave me the chance to use it as a JR RX as well.
The EF 60" is an impressive little plane - it flies very well but I ended up using Savox servos in mine as Horizon were out of stock of the JR units I wanted to use. These servos aren't great, they're not as consistent as I'd like and happily wonder out of trim regularly. That said, gyro free the plane flies awesome and will happily make its way through the Unlimited IMAC sequence without issue other than those my squiffy fingers create

The set up was pretty simple and I managed to get the gain set for the 3 axis' wrapped up in a couple of flights. Switching the gyro on makes the plane fly like an even bigger plane. It becomes incredibly precise and it removes all the inaccuracies and inconsistencies of the crappy servos. It's quite incredible how it makes the plane feel, especially if you fly in a decent amount of wind. I flew today in 15kts of wind gusting 20kt and it was stunning how precise the plane stays in both precision and 3d. Like I said - the plane flies straight in the first place but it will be interesting to put this in something far more unstable. I suspect this technology will take a really poor flying platform and make a huge difference. It seems to be idiot proof in that you can take a poor set up and poor quality servos and sorts the mess out.... Looking forward to getting out and playing more before I stick in something a lot quicker and play with the GPS based speed function.
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:20 PM
  #64
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Birdy

My first del left Germany today...so we will be playing soon too!

D
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:22 PM
  #65
Andrew Bird
 
Andrew Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Henley on Thames, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Please find the crappiest plane you can find and put it in! I'm really intrigued to see what it can do
Andrew Bird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:37 PM
  #66
Andrew Bailey
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chippenham Wiltshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

I have about 20 flights now on an Sebart Angel 50e and my experience is much the same as Andrew's. I had a bit of trouble with a touch of wing rock coming out fast from downline manoeveres but was able to dial that out in a few flights. One additional observation I would make is that the instant you centre the sticks when in any kind of rotational manoever the plane rotation (in whatever axis) just stops dead. It is like flying a plane with absolutely no rotational inertia.
I am very impressed with the iGyro. Just wish that I had not lost the jet in which I was intending to install it.

Andrew
Andrew Bailey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:05 PM
  #67
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

We have a series of test models lined up from Big Petrol models, to Hunters :-) I guess my DJ Vampire would be a good choice as it needs a rudder gyro and would benefit from an aileron gyro too.

Dw
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:44 AM
  #68
Ali
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Just arrived. I could go and fit it and have a play this weekend, although the only model I have that "needs" a gyro only needs a bit of help on the rudder, and this I gyro may be a tad overkill for it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10295.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	87.2 KB
ID:	1765643  
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:11 AM
  #69
ZivBit
 
ZivBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hadera, ISRAEL
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ali

Just arrived. I could go and fit it and have a play this weekend, although the only model I have that ''needs'' a gyro only needs a bit of help on the rudder, and this I gyro may be a tad overkill for it.

Hi Ali,

How about the Igyro on the SM A-4?

Cheers,
Ziv
ZivBit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 07:31 AM
  #70
jzuniga
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

How are guys setting their igyros with an Sbus setup? I mean, sbus servos? Assign servo specific function, then plug anywhere in the igyro? I'm not sure exactly how it works/supports Futaba sbus? save for the fact that I can plug an sbus receiver into it (or two) At least that's how I'm reading it from the manual. I'm thinking of getting an igyro, but I'm trying to fully understand and see how it would fit into my sbus set up? I can see the obvious advantages, in triple axis, and gps capabilities...but it appears you would have to run long extensions to all the servos like in a normal setup, thus, eliminating the cool features of sbus? I know I'm missing something here?Thanks

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 08:18 AM
  #71
Andrew Bailey
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chippenham Wiltshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

So far as I can tell it is not possible to output an S.Bus signal. It appears that the only S.Bus support is from the Rx to the iGyro. I hope someone can tell me different as I would like to install the iGyro on a jet using S.Bus on all flying controls. If I am right this seems to be a very odd omission by Powerbox.
Andrew Bailey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:34 AM
  #72
quist
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

I am running sBus to igyro for the 5 channels. AIL A and B, ELE a and b, and rudder. The other channels are plugged into channel 1-8 on the rx which is going through a power expander from Smarfly. I actually have the sBus also plugged into one channel of the PE.


I just removed it from the little pattern plane and installed it in the Aeroworks P-51. I am going to fly it in the morning.
quist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 11:08 AM
  #73
jzuniga
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro


Quote:
ORIGINAL: quist

I am running sBus to igyro for the 5 channels. AIL A and B, ELE a and b, and rudder. The other channels are plugged into channel 1-8 on the rx which is going through a power expander from Smarfly. I actually have the sBus also plugged into one channel of the PE.


I just removed it from the little pattern plane and installed it in the Aeroworks P-51. I am going to fly it in the morning.
That's kinda what I thought? I guess with sbus servos though, you'd have to assign and plug the correct servo in to the igyro?

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 11:09 AM
  #74
Richi-d
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: , DC, GERMANY
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

Hi Guys,

you can enable the Digital output. Then on Elevator B and Rudder you get a S-Bus output. It can be used to go into a SRS PowerBox, but you can also use it for S-Bus application. The channels you select for control surfaces in the "Input Maping" Menue are then with gyro signal on the output
Richi-d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 11:23 AM
  #75
Andrew Bailey
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chippenham Wiltshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Powerbox iGyro

That's great news. I missed that reading the manual. Thanks very much.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Richi-d

Hi Guys,

you can enable the Digital output. Then on Elevator B and Rudder you get a S-Bus output. It can be used to go into a SRS PowerBox, but you can also use it for S-Bus application. The channels you select for control surfaces in the "Input Maping" Menue are then with gyro signal on the output
Andrew Bailey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:57 PM.