Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 12 of 12

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    LaSalle, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    544
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Futaba 14 question

    I'm about to start my new Kingtech K-80 turbine. I'm an old JR guy so please be gentle on me. I understand that the throttle channel has to be reversed for the ECU to work properly with a Futaba radio.

    Do you use servo reverse or hardware reverse? Also I need to set up a kill switch instead of a trim to turn the turbine off. How much offset is required?
    Thanks again for all the help.

    Peter D

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Putnam Valley, NY
    Posts
    969
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    SERVO REVERSE is what you need, not sure about how much offset you need for a kill switch

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    burlington, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    413
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    I use hardware reverse on channel 3, also dont forget to reverse the trim in here as well, if using the hardware option
    OUfly12

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    SANTA ANA, CA
    Posts
    2,074
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Peter,

    Simplest answer is just use servo reverse and it's done. No other adjustments then need to be made.

    David S

  5. #5
    FenderBean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Clarksville , TN
    Posts
    4,104
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    +1
    ORIGINAL: David Searles

    Peter,

    Simplest answer is just use servo reverse and it's done. No other adjustments then need to be made.

    David S
    Global Jet Club Team Pilot
    Contest Director AMA # 8394
    Avanti XXL, Skymaster F-14
    FEJ F-15
    46% Ultimate Bi-Plane
    Avant Mostro Nitro 90
    Futaba 18MZ
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCE_...BAxA8bHVCw3VQQ
    https://www.facebook.com/FenderbeanRCBuilds

  6. #6
    ww2birds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Katonah, NY
    Posts
    1,047
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Peter,

    Agree, use servo reverse, not hardware reverse.

    On my 14MZ, I set the slider next to the throttle (it's on the left of the stick) to be the trim for the throttle channel (called J3). You can do that swap on the function menu, on the linkage screen.

    When inside the function screen, press the trim box next to the "throttle" box .. that brings up the menu where you can use the "Sel H/W" option to select LS. That box will probably be labeled T3, the name of the digital trim that is the default for J3 (throttle).

    When you do this swap, you have an analog trim, like the JR units do (which I think is a nice feature).

    Depending on how much difference the Kingtech wants to see from low throttle to off, you may need to increase the trim rate, also available on the function menu. Once in the function menu, press the trim box (which should now say "LS"), I have mine set to -20%. FYI, I have "trim mode" set to ATL and "ATL reverse" set to "Norm" (I believe these are the defaults). Also FYI, my ATV settings for throttle are 100% (on the left/up side) and 82% on the right/down side. This gives almost exactly +/- 100% travel with the full stick and trim motion.

    You can inspect the setup using the servo monitor menu as a double check before "learning" the ECU.

    Don't forget to go to the failsafe menu and set the failsafe properly .. simple way is to go again to the linkage screen, then select the Fail Safe menu, on the throttle channel change it from Hold to F/S (failsafe) .. then take the throttle and trim to full down, and press the F/S position button .. that will set the failsafe position turn the turbine off in the event of a failsafe. If you want to get fancy, you can use the ATV to set the failsafe far "below" low throttle which will register as a failsafe command to the ECU, and be displayed as such. Then set the ATV back to the previous position once ATV is set. Most people just set it to to off position (low stick and low trim). Your call.

    Hope this helps
    Dave McQ

  7. #7
    Gary Arthur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hamilton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,394
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Servo reverse and use throttle cut for your kill....Simple

  8. #8
    highhorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    2,176
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Agree with others who say "servo reverse"

    For kill switch I use T6 rather than a two position switch. I want to make certain that it isn't a switch I might bump accidentally under and circumstances !!
    RCU Rocks, I\'\'d hate to be without it !!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norfolk , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,082
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Peter

    As others suggested just use the servo reverse menu in the Tx and set the fail safe afterwards, very simple. Avoid using hardware switches.

    When using the T3 trim to switch off the engine you will find that there are rather a large number of steps so it can take a while. Fortunately Futaba thought of this and the number of steps can be reduced by going to the T1-T6 setting menu and increasing the step on T3 from the default 4 to say 40. You can try the effect moving the trim while in the T1-T6 settings menu.

    John
    John Wright

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norfolk , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,082
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Peter

    As others suggested just use the servo reverse menu in the Tx and set the fail safe afterwards, very simple. Avoid using hardware switches.

    When using the T3 trim to switch off the engine you will find that there are rather a large number of steps so it can take a while. Fortunately Futaba thought of this and the number of steps can be reduced by going to the T1-T6 setting menu and increasing the step on T3 from the default 4 to say 40. You can try the effect moving the trim while in the T1-T6 settings menu.

    John
    John Wright

  11. #11
    Bob_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bluegrass State of Mind
    Posts
    2,907
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Good point Jon I suggest changing the trim step value to 200
    EDF Jet Jam 2015 - http://www.orvrcf.com/
    Cincinnati Jet Club, Team Futaba

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    LaSalle, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    544
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 14 question

    Thanks for the info.
    Peter D


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.