Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Fuel line tie wire?

    Finishing up a Falcon 120 and I read somewhere that it is good practice to tie off your fuel line connections with metal wire so they don't come loose. Just wondering what most guys are using as far as good tie wire? I have some thin gauge wire but when I tie it off with a few good twists, the stuff just breaks. What works for you guys? Thanks Jon

  2. #2
    Boomerang1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,561
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    I'm an electrician & have wire scraps around.
    I just strip some 7 strand wire (7/050 wire being 7 strands of .5mm copper wire)
    & use one strand of that.

    Or use a stripped strand of 8 core data cable. - John.

  3. #3
    lookilook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NICOSIA, CYPRUS
    Posts
    537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    i am using stainless steel locking wire used on aircrafts, i also bought the plier for it on ebay.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	He97470.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	1801560   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wr54958.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	23.0 KB 
ID:	1801561  
    OWNER OF
    F16 1/8 K80E
    F16 1/6 K170F
    F18F K180G
    TD VIPER EV90

  4. #4
    smchale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malvern, PA
    Posts
    2,445
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Sean McHale - Malvern, PA
    "Strive for simplicity. You never have to repair what you leave out." - Bill Lear
    Kingtech Turbines - www.kingtechturbines.com

  5. #5
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,018
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    I also use stainless safety wire. I will update with the size later.

    ********Edit*****

    My spool is 0.030". It works, but it's a little thick. I'd recommend something thinner. 0.020" would be better.
    Tony
    Owner of A&L Motorsports, LLC

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vernon, CT
    Posts
    1,782
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    .015 soft stainless steel wire from McMaster Carr and twisting pliers from Harbor Freight.
    John

  7. #7
    aquaskiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sedalia, CO
    Posts
    916
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Dreamworks also sells it and pliers
    George

  8. #8
    bcovish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    4,653
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Bob-O
    I Crashed All My Planes, Can I Fly Yours

  9. #9
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wychling, Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,583
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Don't forget to barb the fuel tube and tie behind that, I solder a bit of paper clip onto the fuel tube and file it smooth after soldering and tie behind that.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  10. #10
    Eddie P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    1,631
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?


    ORIGINAL: BaldEagel

    Don't forget to barb the fuel tube and tie behind that, I solder a bit of paper clip onto the fuel tube and file it smooth after soldering and tie behind that.

    Mike
    GREAT idea, why haven't I thought of it

    I typically haven't made a big deal about vent lines that aren't barbed but I still safety wire them anyway with SS wire. I just use pliers and a wire cutter and some hemostats to loop the ties wire back on itself to reduce a chance of wearing into other fuel lines or electrical wires, it works just as well as the fancy twisters. But the quick solder barb sounds like a decent idea.
    Eddie P - NOT sponsored - I pay the bills of hobby manufacturers with my purchases - Free to evaluate products honestly

  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,010
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Jon,
    I use a dark green wire I got at the garden shop at Home Depot. It is used for tying plants etc. Cheap and strong enough.

    Sid
    SidGates
    Web: http://www.sidgates.us

  12. #12
    limeybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rockwall, Tx, TX
    Posts
    961
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    go to Hobby Lobby ect and get some picture hanging wire, they have stainless.
    Unbraid and use.
    limeybob
    Laser-Design-Services
    JetMach manufacturer

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    217
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Don't tell anybody... but I've been using the twisty tie wire that comes with a loaf of bread for years. Leave the plastic sheath on to prevent fuel line cuts, double wrap it, cross it, grab it with the needle nose pliers, rotate the plane 3-4 times, trim with side cutters. (some prefer to rotate the pliers instead so I've heard)

    I know, I know.... pretty low tech.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    1,646
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    I know someone is around that probaly uses stainless steel braided hoses for fuel line and also wears a motorcycle helmet when they are reading the latest issue of Street Bike Magazine while sitting on the toilet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think at times we try to over complicate and engineer our projects which can lead to more problems. But this is only MY opinion.
    \"IF YOU HAVE TOO MANY AIRPLANES -FLY BOLDLY AND REDUCE YOUR NUMBER\"

  15. #15
    highhorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    2,157
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Tying off the lines is more than a good idea IMO, it's essential.

    On my first jet I didn't tie them on the theory that they were tight enough, but had several "air-sucking bubble flameouts" before I wised up. After I tied 'em off the problems went away and the engine operation was flawless.

    My two cents regarding our multi-thousand dollar toys.

    Don
    RCU Rocks, I\'\'d hate to be without it !!

  16. #16
    eddieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jackson, MI
    Posts
    2,048
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Safety-wire pliers ???  Really ??

    And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

    KISS
    I might not be very good, but I am fun to watch!

  17. #17
    InboundLZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    1,938
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?


    ORIGINAL: eddieC

    Safety-wire pliers ??? *Really ??

    And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

    KISS
    Yeah, Really....if you know what you are doing your safety wire is a work of art...
    Dave Bottita
    evoJet Factory Pilot
    Smart-Fly

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St. Cloud, FL
    Posts
    451
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    757jonp,

    I use the twisty ties off of loafs of bread also!! works great...

    Craig
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #10
    Revver Bro #263
    Tiger Club #26

  19. #19
    FenderBean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Clarksville , TN
    Posts
    3,760
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    twister pliers seem like over kill, you would waste more wire than if you just twist by hand. Funny the only time I really could have used them we were not allowed. LOL
    Contest Director AMA # 8394

  20. #20
    highhorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    2,157
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    ORIGINAL: eddieC

    Safety-wire pliers ??? *Really ??

    And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

    KISS
    Yes, really ;-)

    I must be doing something wrong though. I have never, ever cut a line by tightening the wire. I have gone too tight and broken the wire a couple of times, but the Tygon was fine afterwards.

    In my experience it's not about keeping the line from falling off, it's about taking a couple of wraps around the fuel line and tightening the safety wire to make a perfect seal. I haven't had a single air bubble in several years now except those recently caused by a bad filler plug seal where the line had hardened and the line is obviously not tied.

    Works for me and lots of other folks who don't think an extra pair of pliers and 1/10 of one cent worth of quality stainless wire is an extravagance. If others want to use bread twisties on their jets I'm all for it, but I will go with the best materials available on mine to ensure that my thumbs remain the greatest threat to my jets' longevity.
    ;-)

    RCU Rocks, I\'\'d hate to be without it !!

  21. #21
    InboundLZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    1,938
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?


    ORIGINAL: highhorse


    ORIGINAL: eddieC

    Safety-wire pliers ??? *Really ??

    And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

    KISS
    Yes, really ;-)

    I must be doing something wrong though. I have never, ever cut a line by tightening the wire. I have gone too tight and broken the wire a couple of times, but the Tygon was fine afterwards.

    In my experience it's not about keeping the line from falling off, it's about taking a couple of wraps around the fuel line and tightening the safety wire to make a perfect seal. I haven't had a single air bubble in several years now except those recently caused by a bad filler plug seal where the line had hardened and the line is obviously not tied.

    Works for me and lots of other folks who don't think an extra pair of pliers and 1/10 of one cent worth of quality stainless wire is an extravagance. If others want to use bread twisties on their jets I'm all for it, but I will go with the best materials available on mine to ensure that my thumbs remain the greatest threat to my jets' longevity. ;-)

    +1000!!!!

    And thats the differance between going to the field and flying and going to the field and fixing....
    Dave Bottita
    evoJet Factory Pilot
    Smart-Fly

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Redding, CA
    Posts
    995
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    shoot me your address and I'll send 20 or so feet of .020 safety wire, we get it in one pound cans at the airport and use it on most everything. or find a local aircraft repair station and ask one of the techs, I am sure someone would spare a few feet to complete your project.


    Kevin

  23. #23
    Paul_BB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lagny-sur-Marne, FRANCE
    Posts
    265
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    How about this kind of stuff ?
    Is that OK ?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr50021.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	21.0 KB 
ID:	1801863  
    "If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck."

  24. #24
    eddieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jackson, MI
    Posts
    2,048
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?

    Paul, that's too low-tech. [8D]

    Don't get your panties in a bunch, guys. I have had safety-wire pliers for decades (and plenty of wire, thanx), and they stay in my 'real plane' toolbox. Nothing wrong with maintaining olde-skool skillz like properly soldering barbs. Of course, there's always Aeroquip fittings and hose.... 
    I might not be very good, but I am fun to watch!

  25. #25
    highhorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    2,157
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fuel line tie wire?


    ORIGINAL: Paul_BB

    How about this kind of stuff ?
    Is that OK ?
    I tried those and was sad that they didn't work for me. Coulda been wrong size or something though. Thing is, the size is critical and wire is sorta universal. Still, if I had a varied assortment of those clamps I'd probably try them again.
    RCU Rocks, I\'\'d hate to be without it !!


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.