RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Fuel line tie wire?

Reply
Old 09-16-2012, 12:01 AM
  #1
Jonboy2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fuel line tie wire?

Finishing up a Falcon 120 and I read somewhere that it is good practice to tie off your fuel line connections with metal wire so they don't come loose. Just wondering what most guys are using as far as good tie wire? I have some thin gauge wire but when I tie it off with a few good twists, the stuff just breaks. What works for you guys? Thanks Jon
Jonboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:21 AM
  #2
Boomerang1
 
Boomerang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

I'm an electrician & have wire scraps around.
I just strip some 7 strand wire (7/050 wire being 7 strands of .5mm copper wire)
& use one strand of that.

Or use a stripped strand of 8 core data cable. - John.
Boomerang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:56 AM
  #3
lookilook
 
lookilook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NICOSIA, CYPRUS
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

i am using stainless steel locking wire used on aircrafts, i also bought the plier for it on ebay.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	He97470.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	91.4 KB
ID:	1801560   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr54958.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	23.0 KB
ID:	1801561  
lookilook is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:32 AM
  #4
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,727
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

http://shopbvmjets.com/zencart/index...products_id=91
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:22 AM
  #5
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

I also use stainless safety wire. I will update with the size later.

********Edit*****

My spool is 0.030". It works, but it's a little thick. I'd recommend something thinner. 0.020" would be better.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:53 AM
  #6
Square Nozzle
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vernon, CT
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

.015 soft stainless steel wire from McMaster Carr and twisting pliers from Harbor Freight.
Square Nozzle is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:06 AM
  #7
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Dreamworks also sells it and pliers
aquaskiman is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:41 AM
  #8
bcovish
 
bcovish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/safety-wire-p-455.html
http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/safe...ers-p-458.html
bcovish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:11 AM
  #9
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Don't forget to barb the fuel tube and tie behind that, I solder a bit of paper clip onto the fuel tube and file it smooth after soldering and tie behind that.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:55 AM
  #10
Eddie P
 
Eddie P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BaldEagel

Don't forget to barb the fuel tube and tie behind that, I solder a bit of paper clip onto the fuel tube and file it smooth after soldering and tie behind that.

Mike
GREAT idea, why haven't I thought of it

I typically haven't made a big deal about vent lines that aren't barbed but I still safety wire them anyway with SS wire. I just use pliers and a wire cutter and some hemostats to loop the ties wire back on itself to reduce a chance of wearing into other fuel lines or electrical wires, it works just as well as the fancy twisters. But the quick solder barb sounds like a decent idea.
Eddie P is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:57 AM
  #11
sidgates
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Jon,
I use a dark green wire I got at the garden shop at Home Depot. It is used for tying plants etc. Cheap and strong enough.

Sid
sidgates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:01 AM
  #12
limeybob
 
limeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rockwall, Tx, TX
Posts: 977
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

go to Hobby Lobby ect and get some picture hanging wire, they have stainless.
Unbraid and use.
limeybob
limeybob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:54 AM
  #13
757jonp
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: williamsburg, VA
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Don't tell anybody... but I've been using the twisty tie wire that comes with a loaf of bread for years. Leave the plastic sheath on to prevent fuel line cuts, double wrap it, cross it, grab it with the needle nose pliers, rotate the plane 3-4 times, trim with side cutters. (some prefer to rotate the pliers instead so I've heard)

I know, I know.... pretty low tech.
757jonp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:52 PM
  #14
PLANE JIM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AT THE AIRPORT
Posts: 1,963
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

I know someone is around that probaly uses stainless steel braided hoses for fuel line and also wears a motorcycle helmet when they are reading the latest issue of Street Bike Magazine while sitting on the toilet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think at times we try to over complicate and engineer our projects which can lead to more problems. But this is only MY opinion.
PLANE JIM is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:23 PM
  #15
highhorse
 
highhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Tying off the lines is more than a good idea IMO, it's essential.

On my first jet I didn't tie them on the theory that they were tight enough, but had several "air-sucking bubble flameouts" before I wised up. After I tied 'em off the problems went away and the engine operation was flawless.

My two cents regarding our multi-thousand dollar toys.

Don
highhorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:28 PM
  #16
eddieC
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Safety-wire pliers ???  Really ??

And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

KISS
eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:33 PM
  #17
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: eddieC

Safety-wire pliers ??? Really ??

And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

KISS
Yeah, Really....if you know what you are doing your safety wire is a work of art...
InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:33 PM
  #18
SeaJay
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

757jonp,

I use the twisty ties off of loafs of bread also!! works great...

Craig
SeaJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:50 PM
  #19
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

twister pliers seem like over kill, you would waste more wire than if you just twist by hand. Funny the only time I really could have used them we were not allowed. LOL
FenderBean is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:59 PM
  #20
highhorse
 
highhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: eddieC

Safety-wire pliers ??? Really ??

And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

KISS
Yes, really ;-)

I must be doing something wrong though. I have never, ever cut a line by tightening the wire. I have gone too tight and broken the wire a couple of times, but the Tygon was fine afterwards.

In my experience it's not about keeping the line from falling off, it's about taking a couple of wraps around the fuel line and tightening the safety wire to make a perfect seal. I haven't had a single air bubble in several years now except those recently caused by a bad filler plug seal where the line had hardened and the line is obviously not tied.

Works for me and lots of other folks who don't think an extra pair of pliers and 1/10 of one cent worth of quality stainless wire is an extravagance. If others want to use bread twisties on their jets I'm all for it, but I will go with the best materials available on mine to ensure that my thumbs remain the greatest threat to my jets' longevity.
;-)

highhorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:01 PM
  #21
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: highhorse


Quote:
ORIGINAL: eddieC

Safety-wire pliers ??? Really ??

And I thought small zip-ties were overkill. (They're just as good, if not better. Almost impossible to cut the fuel line if over-tightened. )

KISS
Yes, really ;-)

I must be doing something wrong though. I have never, ever cut a line by tightening the wire. I have gone too tight and broken the wire a couple of times, but the Tygon was fine afterwards.

In my experience it's not about keeping the line from falling off, it's about taking a couple of wraps around the fuel line and tightening the safety wire to make a perfect seal. I haven't had a single air bubble in several years now except those recently caused by a bad filler plug seal where the line had hardened and the line is obviously not tied.

Works for me and lots of other folks who don't think an extra pair of pliers and 1/10 of one cent worth of quality stainless wire is an extravagance. If others want to use bread twisties on their jets I'm all for it, but I will go with the best materials available on mine to ensure that my thumbs remain the greatest threat to my jets' longevity. ;-)

+1000!!!!

And thats the differance between going to the field and flying and going to the field and fixing....
InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:32 PM
  #22
seflyer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 995
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

shoot me your address and I'll send 20 or so feet of .020 safety wire, we get it in one pound cans at the airport and use it on most everything. or find a local aircraft repair station and ask one of the techs, I am sure someone would spare a few feet to complete your project.


Kevin
seflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:01 PM
  #23
Paul_BB
 
Paul_BB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lagny-sur-Marne, FRANCE
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

How about this kind of stuff ?
Is that OK ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50021.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	1801863  
Paul_BB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:30 PM
  #24
eddieC
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?

Paul, that's too low-tech. [8D]

Don't get your panties in a bunch, guys. I have had safety-wire pliers for decades (and plenty of wire, thanx), and they stay in my 'real plane' toolbox. Nothing wrong with maintaining olde-skool skillz like properly soldering barbs. Of course, there's always Aeroquip fittings and hose.... 
eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:50 PM
  #25
highhorse
 
highhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fuel line tie wire?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Paul_BB

How about this kind of stuff ?
Is that OK ?
I tried those and was sad that they didn't work for me. Coulda been wrong size or something though. Thing is, the size is critical and wire is sorta universal. Still, if I had a varied assortment of those clamps I'd probably try them again.
highhorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:05 AM.