Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 14 of 14

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    N/A, AE, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
    Posts
    115

    What lipo with JR rx?

    I am trying to get my nose & total weight down so I'm wanting a small lipo that I will have spares of ready to swap out. I'm running 8 JR 8711 servos (4 used for flt controls) , a gyro, and 2 jetronic air valves via JR DSM R1221X2.4 with regulator. I fly about 7 minute flts. Anyone have any good experienced advice, as far as 2s or 3s, mah, watts , c#, mfg, etc.?

  2. #2
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,097
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    ORIGINAL: carbunkle

    I am trying to get my nose & total weight down so I'm wanting a small lipo that I will have spares of ready to swap out. I'm running 8 JR 8711 servos (4 used for flt controls) , a gyro, and 2 jetronic air valves via JR DSM R1221X2.4 with regulator. I fly about 7 minute flts. Anyone have any good experienced advice, as far as 2s or 3s, mah, watts , c#, mfg, etc.?
    Twin 2100 2S packs.. could go 1800s, I wouldn't go any lower tho.. 30C minimum... fly twice, swap.. Size for one battery, for half the MAH, then double it.. thats my way.. In other words, add a second regulator.. 1 -2 ounces of insurance,, preference? Fromeco sahara or Spektrum 6007
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  3. #3
    David Gladwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    2,994
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    I can give you some very precise figures after flying my AW Hawk yesterday. It has 7 8711s plus 3 8411s plus 2 small digitals on nose doors, plus 3 Jetronic devices. Weatronic 12-22 reciver with 3 gyros and GPS. M
    3 6 minute , airborne , flights took 1100 Ma to top up the primary battery (use an Orbit Micro Lader) which is a Thunderpower 3800 Ma pack, The standby is 2,300 Ma Hacker Lipo ma and is not normally used. Idle current on the ground is just over 1 amp. rising to around 3 amps in flight with flaps up, gear doors closed and gyros active. V short spikes at around 7 amps. (less than 1 second).

    Primary battery start voltage, 8.1 ends at 7.9 v. and after 3 flights was still passing the Weatronics auto battery check (7 amps for 1 second). Batt 2, the standby, remained as expected at 8.2 v

    I need to lose weight for the next JWM ( the model, well me, too, I suppose) so to reduce weight I will use a 1500 Ma primary and 1000 ma standby and charge after each flight, comfortable I the knowledge that I have a considerable reserve of battery capacity. Anyway, the Wea. telemetry will advise me if the voltage drops below a set level or has switched batteries.

    Hope this helps as its REAL data not just guesswork.

    Regards,

    David.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    7,441
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    The regulator system you use has a big influence too! Some use too much capacity just regulating...

    Dw
    Motors & Rotors. JetCat, Powerbox, Intairco, Behotec, Graupner. CARF-models Rep. JR Propo for ever!, Jet 1A, MAP, Evojet, BVM

  5. #5
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,830
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Just say no to lipos..

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Blandford Forum, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    57
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Sorry, know nothing about wiggly amps; but your Hawk David was the most realistic model I have ever seen.
    The taxi, t/o and flt were superb. Well done me ol'.

  7. #7
    David Gladwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    2,994
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Thank you SO much for your kind comments , Andy, all I was doing was enjoying flying it like I was in it !

    Its thanks to you guys who do the work which allows us to have so much fun at Classic jets, thank YOU all.

    Regards,

    David.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    N/A, AE, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
    Posts
    115

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    I'm going to go with these-> http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/lipo...mah-p-869.html
    I will have 4 of them 1 for rx, 1 for ecu, and 2 for spares. All can be used in either position.
    And I will jump start the turbine with my big lifepo. Anyone see a problem with this plan?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    401
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    I use 2 a123 2300 mah packs and fly3-4 flights and top them up quick. No need to swap. I know you posted lipos but I tend to bury the packs so I like the safety of a123 chemistry leave Em in and charge.

    Just my thoughts
    if ya aint burnin well?

    KEV-O

  10. #10
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,097
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Car, you will need to answer for yourself if you want to run a redundant battery/regulator.. I for one, always use two main batteries especially with a regulator.setup. you are only as good as the capacity thruput of the reg.. alot of guys fly one, alot fly two.... Its a personal choice..

    Yes the spektrum 2000 works fine.. I see them on alot of planes.. but its not a high C rated pack, so it will be slower to charge, it has plenty power tho.. I would recommend a 30C or more pack, so that the pack is quicker to balance charge with a quality bal. charger at 2C..

    By the way, if you investigate A123's, they are 6.6 ounces per 2300 pack, but you can put them anywhere in the model buried, and just balance charge them using an extension balance tap, or a servo lead.. again a personal choice.. but no regulator needed

    I dont want to start a discussion on the merits of each, there is plenty of info in RCU.. good luck..

    David, I am hoping to be able to support JWM as US helper/caller/not sure.. I look forward to seeing that hawk..
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    N/A, AE, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
    Posts
    115

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    I got the spectrum 2000mah lipos so I have to try them out. They came with a slight charge of 7.6v, which is what the directions said they should be. I charged up 1 to 8.4v. and put it on the rx, did a sim flt for 8 mins. It dropped to 8.1v after the flt asper my onboard volt "gauge" (which is turned on with rx switch on and does not load, other than 8 servos not moving - 6 digital and 2 analog). After a 2nd sim flt it dropped to 8.0. So I am about to do a 3rd and see how much more it will drop. I'm using a 6v regulator. The volt guage onboard is before the reg. The batt directions just say no charge below 6.2. My questions now are- What should be my min volts before no more flts? And should I use my other (hand held) volt "meter" that puts a 1 amp load or a .5 amp load to check it? I believe my charger shows the total mah it puts in during each charge, so I may need to use that info in figuring no fly number/s.
    Forgive my electrical ignorance and allow me more of your knowledge kind sirs.

  12. #12
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,097
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    You dont use voltage as a charge trigger.. you figure out how many MAH each actual flight uses, and never use more than half the capacity of the battery.. so on your flights, you have to fully charge after each flight, to determine how much the typical flight uses, then round up.. most jets use around 300-500 MAH for a 7 min flight for example, so if you are using 1 2000 pack, you get 2 or 3 flights.. if you have 2 packs, which I recommend for safety, you can fly 4 times... I never fly more than 4 times without charging ever anyway, because its easy to lose track..
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com

  13. #13
    FenderBean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Clarksville , TN
    Posts
    3,760
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Ions weigh less plus jets dont seem require high c ratings like 3D planes
    Contest Director AMA # 8394

  14. #14
    gooseF22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    2,097
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What lipo with JR rx?

    Yes, thats correct, however they take alot longer to charge.. another good reason you use Hi C rated lipos or A123's are because you can charge 2+ C with them.. If you go with Ion batteries, you need a larger capacity because they take longer to charge..

    Example..

    Kingcat has 2X 5200 ions w regs.. usually charge one time per day total

    Elan, 2x2300 A123.. charge after 4 flights, but only takes about 15 min, so can charge during fueling.. Both have same battery weight

    Bandit, 2X2100 45C Lipos.. keep an extra set or pull and charge at 2C

    I would not under any circumstances use a 2600 Ion by it self on a jet because its still high impedence.. A Single A123, maybe, but Im a big redundancy geek.. but a single 2600 will power a jet because I lost a battery connector once in flight. .the other one did fine.. didnt' notice it until just before shutdown..

    fwiw..
    Goose
    Wren Turbines USA, Fromeco Avionics, JetiUSA Flight Team, www.Espritmodel.com www.demonaero.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.