RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Need Servo Advice

Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 05:46 PM
  #1
STKNRUD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need Servo Advice

Got my KingCat out that I hadn't flown for a long time. Put it up on its back and attached wings to check gear and control servos. The flaps were 'frozen' and the 8611 servos could be heard trying to move them. I stared at it for a few seconds and tried the flap switch a couple times before I turned the Rx off. Rolled the planed over on the stand and there was the tape on the top of the wing and flap starring at me...called it a brain fart or age impairment. In any event, the servos work fine (with tape removed)...no slippage with resistance or hesitation. BUT can I trust that I haven't damaged them? Please save me the lecture, I feel bad enough!

Thanks,
George
STKNRUD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:28 PM
  #2
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Servo Advice

I highly doubt you damaged them. I assume they still move smoothly and work correctly? I would do a couple of cycles and if they work properly I would be on my way....
InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:29 PM
  #3
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Servo Advice

pop wing cover and turn it on and load it with your hand for a bit to about 1-2 amps.. (use a watt meter on your main batt input) to simulate air load.. check temp of servo as well.. thats a pretty tough servo. I have one that was bound longer than that on a rudder and it was ok.. More important is checking your batts or replacing after extended sit time
gooseF22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:43 AM
  #4
rctech2k7
 
rctech2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Servo Advice

You got answer from this query already and to give you my point, you didn't damage them, test your servo no load current, with rated terminal voltage must be almost zero. At same voltage full load current it must deliver rated torque.
rctech2k7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:29 AM
  #5
GSR
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Servo Advice

Dont worry as much about the servos as you should the mounts, horns and linkages- Give them a really good inspection. Scotty
GSR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:19 AM.