Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Whats so special about jets?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Whats so special about jets?

Old 09-21-2012, 07:41 PM
FenderBean

Received 77 Likes on 51 Posts
Default Whats so special about jets?

Welcome to my Friday night special edition of bean vision(yes its another Blue Moon productions!) LOL So I am sitting here at 10:30 finishing up my new gear install and it hit me, even after all the head ache/flustrations, that I really enjoy jets. I have been building planes and helis for 20+ years and jets for a year + and I find myself enjoying the challenge. The flying part is easy, my f-16 flies like a tame pattern plane on a calm day, but what floats my boat is the build/setup to jets(which sucks because my pay doesn't support it). Granted my experience is limited to one brand but from all the reading/research its the norm.
Take for example rc helis, this year at IRCHA they had over a 1000+ pilots! All of them are stick banging beyond their ability to get the wow factor, at KY jets they had a 1/4 of that but every flight was a wow factor. So it got me thinking what exactly is the wow factor about jets? Is it the sound? The speed, or just the challenge of the build?
Old 09-21-2012, 08:11 PM
Eddie P
My Feedback: (4)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Whats so special about jets?

Jets are what I like in real aircraft. Anything jet powered is cool. Corporate jets, airliners, fighters, older jet warbirds, etc. The smooth power, the sound, the smell, the speed, the aerodynamic looks of the jet designs. The elegant designs, fit and finish of an aerodynamic work of art that is also a work horse - a blend of everything man kind has wanted to do for eons. Jets represent the best of aviation to me.