RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Rookie II Thrust line?

Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 02:29 PM
  #1
carbunkle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: N/A, AE, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rookie II Thrust line?

I wanted to check my thrust line and this is how I did it.
I am assuming it needs to be parallel with the bottom of the jet.
Experienced knowledge would be appreciated if shared.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24503.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	1810377  
carbunkle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:53 PM
  #2
hotspot 01
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 188
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

I've actually got a little up thrust in mine with no bad affects now with 130 flights.
hotspot 01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:53 PM
  #3
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

I think it says in the instructions putting the thrust line about in line with the top of the fus, I admit when i flew mine I put a trim adjust on the T6 trim of the vectored thrust setting and flew it like that, it needed a bit of adjustment, but not much.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:41 AM
  #4
Robrow
 
Robrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

Nice jet, I miss mine sometimes, shame they have not replaced it with another entry level composite machine.

rob.
Robrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:44 AM
  #5
B.S.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

You can still buy one(new)..
B.S. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:16 AM
  #6
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: B.S.

You can still buy one(new)..[img][/img]

Sort of.

I tried to buy one all last spring/summer. The response was... I had to pay for it up front, and it was 10 weeks (min) for delivery. Why have a US distributor if they aren't going to stock anything??
Dr Honda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:36 AM
  #7
B.S.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

Oh bad...

In Europe you can buy ithere and it is on stock:
http://www.der-schweighofer.at/wg/6537/jet_trainer
B.S. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 02:40 PM
  #8
ivesdo
 
ivesdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East Berne, NY
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

Ialways flew mine with neutral thrust. Let the mounting rails set the thrust. Iset the nozzle by eye to neutral as well and never seemed to have any issues with changes in trim due to thrust. The only thing Ican say about my setup is that Iam flying with a Simjet 1700 (17 lb engine), started with a Kangaroo, then a Rookie 1 and the the II. As a result of the lower thrust, the thrust nozzle never had a lot of effect except to help around corners and raise the nose for landing.

Iflew it again later this last season and really had fun with it.

Doug
ivesdo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:58 AM
  #9
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rookie II Thrust line?

C-ARF have available a full vectored thrust unit for the Rookie, its a lot lighter than the Zimmerman unit, but not as well made.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 AM.