RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Reply
Old 10-29-2012, 07:13 AM
  #1
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Right now I have a f-86D as my everyday flyer and it does auwsome on grass. But I want something more to my liking like a mig. I also have a FEJ f-16 but it is not a good everyday flyer and I would never fly it off grass as the gears would collapse.


Is the skymaster mig-29 a good everyday flyer and does it do good on grass? I plan to put a K140g into it.


What is the tire size on the mig-29?


Thanks!
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:31 AM
  #2
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

I had a Skymaster MIG-29 and it can be a good everyday flyer as long as you maintain it properly. I had a P-200SX in mine and it was the PERFECT powerplant. I've seen the plane fly with a P-160SX and it looked marginal. I know of a couple that stalled and crashed with 160s. I do not think you will be able to fly the plane safely with a K-140 due to a substantial amount of thrust being lost from the bifurcated pipe. I would use a K-180 if you want to stay with a Kingtech turbine.

I don't have any experience with grass handling, but I suspect you will have a very hard time rotating with a K-140.

Here is a video of my MIG and you can see it's not overpowered. Heck, it did not have unlimited vertical even with the P-200.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfZK-30KM-8[/youtube]
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:40 AM
  #3
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,597
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

How about using this pipe? I'm sure he can make any size you might need.

http://www.grumania.com/xtcommerce/J...pipe::541.html
Bob_B is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:52 AM
  #4
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

The pipe still has to slope down and then go wide, so a pipe by a different manufacturer won't matter. I had extensive conversations with Tam about this very issue as I originally intended to use a 160 class turbine in the MIG.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:07 AM
  #5
bluescoobydoo
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: harwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

L39 from jet legend or any of the other makes will be ok on grass find somthing with trailing link gear feibao are just about to release a viper jet it might be worth looking at
bluescoobydoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:06 AM
  #6
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

OH I underestimated the weight, been looking at too many jets so k140 wont fly it well. I agree a K180 is better.

essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:32 AM
  #7
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

If you fancy a Mig 29, take a look at the Jet Legend example. It is about the same size as the SM one, but much lighter. Mine flies well on a Merlin 160 and it is a joy to fly. It is also a *****cat to land.
The finish is not as good perhaps as SM, and I plan to repaint mine as it has a bit of a "Dinky Toy" look to it. ine is in Czech camolflage. but others in the club have the Swifts scheme and this is done quite well.
John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb86647.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	1816270   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh21701.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	104.9 KB
ID:	1816271  
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:59 PM
  #8
ChrisPetersen
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hyrum, UT
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

There is a skymaster mig 29 in the classifieds right now that's a really good deal.
ChrisPetersen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:00 PM
  #9
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Chris for me it is not a good deal. Its only $200 less than retail (last I checked) and I want a different paint scheme, would rather pay $200 and get the scheme I like.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:26 PM
  #10
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Retail is $4700 + $600 for shipping. How are you getting the $200 difference from?
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:49 PM
  #11
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Hmm, looking at the website here:
http://www.skymasterjet.com/mig29.htm

Painted Arf: 2295
Gear: 1395
"Professional" Install: 200

Total: 3890

I forgot about the install fee which I would never pay. So $400ish savings, still not good enough for me to jump on it.

However, I am not seeing your numbers, it does not say it has a pipe, valves etc. I priced what it comes with on the skymaster website.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:58 PM
  #12
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

That doesn't include pipe, fuel tanks, air system, cylinders, hardware, or cockpit kit. Are you planning on this plane being a display model?

$2295 is just the bare airframe.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:06 PM
  #13
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

From my understanding that is what he is selling, bare arifame and landing gear doesnt have all the pipe and stuff. Maybe I am wrong.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:25 PM
  #14
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

From what I can tell from the ad it is complete. Only thing I'm not clear on is the pipe. Regardless, a new mig-29 is more than $3890.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:09 PM
  #15
sticks-RCU
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ogden, UT
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

I am the one with the Mig 29 for sale, and it is the Arf Pro with the gear and gear doors installed. It has the air system with most the lines installed and it does come with the SS pipe kevlar tanks, etc.. It has a cockpit with a pilot, however the cockpit is brittle and does have some damage. Please let me know if you have any questions.
sticks-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:09 AM
  #16
Levi Wags
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 305
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Back to the original question. Dantley is correct about the power plant. I had a P160SX in mine to start and because of the pipe and a draggy airframe it was borderline. It used to struggle with the climb out after take off and on verticals.
Mine now has a p200SX and is perfect.
As for grass. I have never seen any jet handle grass as well as the Skymaster Mig 29. I fly mostly off grass and it soaks up the bumps so sweet. Wheels are massive and gear works great. Mine is fairly heavy as well.
Levi Wags is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:18 AM
  #17
DrScoles
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Dantley and Levi,

How hard was it to get the P200 to fit? Now you have me second guessing my decision! The new P180 is two pounds lighter and smaller. I like both of those! Did you have to change the pipe? Worried about heat issues anywhere? Levi, is yours vectored thrust?

Thanks, Mike
DrScoles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:32 PM
  #18
icepilot
 
icepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,605
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

If you want a smaller turbine with a proven track record and even more power that a 180, take a look at the Behotec JB220,
it's slimmer, lighter and almost as powerful as the 200, and it uses less fuel - it's going to power my new 1:6 SM F-16.
icepilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:35 PM
  #19
Levi Wags
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 305
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Hey Mike

If I had my time again and they were available I would probably go a new P180. At the time it was still the old school 180 so I went a 200.
The 200 is awesome and sounds so good but it is a tight fit and is a heavy turbine. There is a bit of dremeling to do to make sure there is enough air flow.
My opinion of the ideal set up would be to go a new P180 and leave out the front fuel tank. That would bring down the weight and still have 7 min flight times. With the reduced weight and wing loading you would have similar performance to the 200.
The stock pipe on mine is holding up sweet and mine is not Vectored Thrust.
Levi Wags is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:34 AM
  #20
jettom
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Hi
I have the Skymaster Mig 29 with two VT-80,I have put the turbines all the way back and then I don't need
pipe's,it's working perfect and no loss of power.The weight of the plane is 33 pounds with no fuel.



Tom
jettom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:39 AM
  #21
DrScoles
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Tom, Can you post pics of your install? I didn't know the twin option was available when I bought the kit. It doesn't look like it would be too hard to add rails to mount the turbines between the two rear formers. Wondering if there are any other structural changes between the single and twin kits? Two P100's would be cool.
DrScoles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:42 AM
  #22
Likai
 
Likai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ShulinCity, Taipei County, TAIWAN
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Yes, there is Mig-29 twin turbines version in Skymaster product range. This is my own Mig-29 OVT powered by two JetCentral Rhino. The basic structure is same as single turbine version but kit comes with different fuel tanks and engine rails. The capacity of main tanks is 5 liters, so I add an extra Dubro 1.2 liter tank to get 6 minutes flight time (1/2 throttle in all level fly). The exhaust pipes and VT nozzles are not original but made by myself for these two big turbines. The weight is 19.3Kg without fuel. Two control surfaces( aileronm and elevator) and three axis of VT nozzles are controled by PowerBox I-Gyro.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKcTi...ature=youtu.be

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu60558.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	1816613   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75714.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	1816614   Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb86753.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	1816615  
Likai is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:24 AM
  #23
DrScoles
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine

Kai, Thats my sons name :-)

Two Rhino's! I think you have enough thrust.... LOL Is it OK to put smaller turbines farther back? I have the single kit, but am considering putting two P100's farther back than where you showed the rhino's. It seems like my tanks would work fine. They wouldn't be in the way.
DrScoles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:18 AM
  #24
Likai
 
Likai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ShulinCity, Taipei County, TAIWAN
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skymaster Mig 29 single turbine


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DrScoles

Kai, Thats my sons name :-)

Two Rhino's! I think you have enough thrust.... LOL Is it OK to put smaller turbines farther back? I have the single kit, but am considering putting two P100's farther back than where you showed the rhino's. It seems like my tanks would work fine. They wouldn't be in the way.
Even with two heavy Rhino in my Mig, the plane still no need nose weight and the battery is located just under HUD. So I think you will be fine with two P-100 mounted on tail without pipe.
Likai is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 07:09 AM
  #25
essyou35
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just FYI I ended up buying the deal that was up there. Im new to jets and assumed an "Arf" ikn the turbine world means pipe and etc etc.. I got a heck of a deal the seller is a rell gentleman to deal with!
Now I have to figure out what to put inside this thing.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:06 PM.