Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 17 of 17

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St. Bruno, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Heres a vid of my first turbione and its second startup. Cant believe the sound these things make.

    Question. Its never done this before but on my GSU it read RC signal lost/incorrect when my rim is low, but when i set it to idle, everyrhitng is ok and the gsu reads ready... I went for the start and everything was perfect??? Anyone have this. I should not im using a 3300 mah 7 cell for my ecu and pump etc, and a 5000mah 2s lipo for my rx.

    At home i never got these readings, but it was about 4 degrees celsius today when i ran it up....

    Devin[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksVasjeNXFk&feature=g-upl[/youtube]

  2. #2
    FenderBean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Clarksville , TN
    Posts
    3,808
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Oops sorry i thought this was a 180. I would think this is fine unless you get this with trim set for start. Check with Barry.
    Contest Director AMA # 8394

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Hey Devin! I started my K-80-E today same conditions. I'm in Vaudreuil-Dorion. It worked fine but I found my idle RPM was too fast 56,000 RPM? Hope you don't mind that i've hijacked your thread...hope we both get some suggestions or reassurance.

    http://youtu.be/3n7ZMDQqV64

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St. Bruno, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Hey no problem, in the run menu you can adjust your idle rpm. From factory it comes at 45,000 rpm which to me already had tons of idle thrust so im gonna be on the brakes the whole time. But 55k sounds extremely high. Did you buy it used? Make sure its set properly in the run menu. And while your at it make your your max rpm is 144-145k

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Bought it new from Barry. Took me awhile to get all the required fittings for a test run. I'll take a look at the settings later, I assumed they would have been set properly from the factory. I'll post what I find.

  6. #6
    smitty1001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    River Oaks, TX
    Posts
    1,958
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Welcome to the club!
    Now,,,, that's about the worst place you could stand during a start and runup! [X(] Respect the planes of the wheels and esp the rear quadrants!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Las Pinas, PHILIPPINES
    Posts
    311
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Nice... did you program your radio's throttle and trim limits into the ECU?  



  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Checked the run settings, they all look good. Might try re-learning the ECU for my transmitter and see if it helps and test again.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    I did program the ECU with my transmitter. I agree that it may be the most likely source of the problem. Going to re-learn the ECU and re-test.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    I watched Devin's video, but had not noticed that he was inline with the turbine disk and exhaust. Smitty is 100% correct always infront and do not allow spectators beside or behind when running your turbine. I like how Devin had it up against the concrete patio. I will do something similar my next test run. I used my foot to hold mine down, not good in an emergency. Can't be too safe, thanks for the heads up smitty.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St. Bruno, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Yeh my dad worked at pratt for 42 years he saw that and basically told me im an idiot :P Will not do that again. Their so loud!!!!

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Niles, OH
    Posts
    1,204
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Devin And Dham.

    Ffirst I would recommend that you relearn your TRANSMITTER ADJUST on your ECU. In the ecu under RADIO is the Transmitter Adjust. Press Yes in this menu. The next step should be TRIM UP THROTTLE UP. next will be TRIM DOWN THROTTLE DOWN, and last will be TRIM UP THROTTLE UP.

    After you have done this go ahead and do a start. once the engine is RUNNING, let it idle for about 2 to 3 minutes. This lets the ECU and Fuel pump LEARN the fuel tanks. That is the best way I can describe it. Do NOT run it up to full throttle until it has idled for this time period.

    Remember also that when you do install it in a jet, You will have to do this learning process over again including relearning the THROTTLE ADJUST to the ecu as a precautionary measure, but most important is to let the engine idle in the jet to let the ecu LEARN the fuel tanks.

    Hope this helps
    Joe Lewis
    Kingtech
    K-80 and K-140
    Owner



  13. #13
    flejter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Posts
    203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Hi guys and welcome to the Kingtech family.

    I am Dirk, the Service tech for KingtechTurbines here in California and I want to ensure you that if you ever have questions you can email / call Barry or myself for tech support. Jetpilot24 is right in saying that you have to give the ECU a few minutes to learn the power of your fuel pump so it can regulate the turbine properly. Learning RC is very important that you press the + button to move forward in the set up menu after stick up / trim up, and when you get to the throttle curve (half expo is a good starting point) then you want to press the arrow up button to exit and save your settings. Also, after it learns it's idle and you go to full throttle it may take a few minutes to reach the max limit and stabilize. Once you have them set, fly, fly fly!!!

    Hope this helps,


    Barry Hou
    kingtechturbines@gmail.com
    626-793-4677

    Dirk Flejter
    dirk@kingtechturbines.com
    626-712-8751
    Smoking Holes are no fun!!

  14. #14
    flejter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Posts
    203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Devin,

    I just watched your video....You have a K-170F model and it is very powerful!!! The stand/ work bench you have it on could easily fly forward at full throttle and cause serious damage. I have a 100LB work bench and have to lock the wheels under it or it will push it across my floor. You also need to run a fod screen, even on a test bench, you could easily suck in fuel lines, wires, fingers, camera lens and anything else just hangin out on the bench, then you will be sending it to me for repairs before you even get a chance to fly it. Just sayin, SAFETY, SAFETY, SAFETY!!!
    Smoking Holes are no fun!!

  15. #15
    marquisvns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    1,290
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Hi Devin, could you take a look at your transmitter throttle travel and make sure that they are 100%, on the other K-80, I saw 56,000 with pump pw at 134 which is extremely high, probably more than double of what the pw should be. I understand that this is on a stand, but could you please verify that there's no fuel restriction before we look into the fuel pump. Thanks!

    Barry
    www.kingtechturbines.com
    kingtechturbines@gmail.com
    1-626-793-4677
    1-626-399-7588 Barry's cell/text

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St. Bruno, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    My throttle curve is 0-100 straight. And i was going to run the linear setting on the k80? as i heard they only produce power up high, thought it would be the best setting.Btw whilst i have some reps here whats the lowest idle rpm i can use on my k80f as i found the idle thrust moderatly high and i know im going to be on brakes all the time. going into a 1/8 JL f-16

    I am running a K80. And the other guy is running a k80 also. Everything is A-OK with my engine, relearned the rc and now not getting signal incorrect. Im just the noob who stands next to a compressor wheel and turbine. Will not do that again. Thanks for the support guys!

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Vaudreuil, QC, CANADA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kingtech K80-F Startup video and questions

    Barry, As we discussed I'm going to teach the ECU my throttle settings again and remove the felt clunk. Hopefully the PW will drop withing the normal range during idle. Unfortunately I'll most likely have to wait until the weekend to try. Thanks for the help.

    David


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.