Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 25 of 25

  1. #1
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Hi all

    I am in the process of "building" a Navy Cat (or Falcon 120) and have one question.

    How do you fit the main wing to the fuselage?

    There are 4 wing bolts provided but when the tank is fitted you have no chance of reaching inside the fuselage to fit the two rear wing bolts.
    Maybe it's me and I am not seeing the obvious, so if anyone could give some advice that would be very much appreciated.

    cheers

    Ulli

  2. #2
    aquaskiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sedalia, CO
    Posts
    912
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    The wing is a pain with the stock setup. If you go to the falcon thread the best way I have seen to modify it, is to put tabs on the wing root and run a bolt from the bottom of the fuselage to hold the wing on.
    George

  3. #3
    Chris Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Berea , KY
    Posts
    731
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    on the original Falcon 120 there was a belly hatch. You must have a clone of a clone RobCat.

  4. #4
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    ooops, I forgot the hatch. Silly me [:@]

    What I noticed so far is that this kit is not a beginners kit. But then a beginner wouldn't buy a turbine Jet

    Although ARTF a lot of adjustments and tweaking is needed.

    Thanks again for the replies.

    Ulli

  5. #5
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    1,948
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Yep... what Chris said. My Falcon has a hatch, and it's the only way to get to the rear bolts. I would recommend cutting a hatch.

    I'm not sure I like the "Tab" set up. The wings, and wing tubes are pretty light weight... and we are flying these things at about 2x's the suggested flying weight. I like the bolts that pull the wings tight to the fuse. It helps things from moving around. Tabs are fine on a full composite model.

    Also... I made bolts with both a ID hex, and an OD hex. That allows me to use a ball driver to run them in. AND... on my front bolts, I cut a couple holes in the bottom, so I can run the ball driver in without an issue.

    Finally... I put studs in the tails. It makes putting it together easier.






    Tony
    Owner of A&L Motorsports, LLC

  6. #6
    SJN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Copenhagen, DENMARK
    Posts
    5,967
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    I did mine like this :
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sq48439.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	46.8 KB 
ID:	1825488   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fa86556.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	47.4 KB 
ID:	1825489   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ch96395.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	34.5 KB 
ID:	1825490   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp43145.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	41.6 KB 
ID:	1825491   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gc91425.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	50.2 KB 
ID:	1825492  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ej13821.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	28.2 KB 
ID:	1825493   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp43327.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	17.8 KB 
ID:	1825494   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Je99540.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	36.9 KB 
ID:	1825495   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo39812.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	48.4 KB 
ID:	1825496   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	To45069.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	52.5 KB 
ID:	1825497  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ot46776.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	37.1 KB 
ID:	1825498   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qj20047.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	66.6 KB 
ID:	1825499  
    Sonnich Johannesen

  7. #7
    aquaskiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sedalia, CO
    Posts
    912
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Post 6 is what I was thinking of. It does not take a lot to hold the wings on that is not where the load is.
    George

  8. #8
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,693
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    The front bolts are tricky you just need to leave plenty of room for your hand.
    The belly hatch is bigger on the navycat than the falcon I built, there are more details of this and my navycat build on the main Falcon thread.
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  9. #9
    ModellbauUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    AltonHAMPSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    652
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    We'll have replacement canopies (thicker plastic that won't split) and swept back turbine mounts in stock soon. 

    What's the Navy Cat turbine mount like? Allow fitting of a FOD and no need to butcher the rear fuzz fairing? 

    Ian
    www.modellbauuk.com
    The Aurora Project
    The Kestrel Project
    FCT Kevlar & Hopper Tanks
    Blog. http://modellbauuk.blogspot.com

  10. #10
    Boomerang1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,491
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    There's a motivational poster at a factory I visit.

    'Don't be afraid to ask dumb questions, the're easier to handle than dumb mistakes!'

    John.

  11. #11
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Hi again

    thanks for the suggestions.

    Sonnich:
    That's looks great but I guess it took a little bit of time and effort to do.

    Tony:
    I like the bolts you are using. I think I will do the same.

    Btw, what is the take off weight of your plane? Just asking as I am considering what retracts to fit.

    Thanks again.

    Ulli

  12. #12
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    1,948
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?


    ORIGINAL: uixkes

    Hi again

    thanks for the suggestions.


    Btw, what is the take off weight of your plane? Just asking as I am considering what retracts to fit.

    Thanks again.

    Ulli

    Mine is heavy. it's almost 22 Lbs with fuel. I've seen some as light as 17 Lbs. But, even at 22 Lbs... it flies great.
    Tony
    Owner of A&L Motorsports, LLC

  13. #13
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,693
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Mine is only 15lb 2ozs Tony! (empty)
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  14. #14
    Dieselman1220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    McAllen, TX
    Posts
    500
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Most of Tonys weight comes from that iron lung he's got strapped to it. Mine first one also had an
    Amt 180 and it weighed 21 pounds wet...as tony said still flew fantastic
    Joseph K

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    , OH
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Here's my silly Question

    Hey guys as I'm having so much fun with my new Balsa USA North Star that converted to Electric

    I got this big bird doing a little over 100mph with my T600 880kv with 6s 5000mah 40c and 12x12

    So I know some have converted this bird to EDF running 2 of the above 6s lipos

    So what I'm thinking of getting 2 of these motors an put one in the rear as stock and then cut the nose off for the 2nd motor.

    As I'm getting around 12 pounds of thrust with just one of these motors and a prop speed of 160mph.

    As the NorthStar is not that arrowdaymic I think with 2 of these motors this bird would screem

    Yes I know some have converted this bird to EDF, and 1 I know of that just used one electric motor as a pusher but the motor was $$$ as most electic motors that can spin a 16in prop have low KV so it's hard to get the RPM wanted

    So question: With one prop in front and the second inline behind it, would the second prop be effected by the one in front?

    Should I run more pich on the rear prop?

    I'm in the planning stage as I already have:

    The plane, 6 pairs of the 6s 5000mah 40c Lipos, the ECS's

    Thanks for advice. Mike

  16. #16
    rcguy59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    tacoma, WA
    Posts
    965
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Start with an extra inch of pitch on the rear prop, then check the current draw. Try to match the two motors' current draw.
    Jet Central Superbee & Rabbit
    18MZ FASSTest for everything I fly

  17. #17
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    1,948
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

    Mine is only 15lb 2ozs Tony! (empty)

    You have a light one. So.... it's a little over 18Lbs wet? (64oz of fuel?)




    ORIGINAL: Dieselman1220

    Most of Tonys weight comes from that iron lung he's got strapped to it. Mine first one also had an
    Amt 180 and it weighed 21 pounds wet...as tony said still flew fantastic



    Does this engine make my butt look big?? (lol)

    Yes... that's the problem. The old AMT's are heavy. I think it's around 3.2Lbs. because of that... I used NiMh packs in the nose to balance it out. (two 5 cells for the Rx, and a 6 cell for the ECU) But... you can't beat the reliability of those old engines.
    Tony
    Owner of A&L Motorsports, LLC

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Park Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    1. Cut hatch on bottom of fuse
    2. epoxy wing bolts into wing
    3.cut the head of the bolts off
    4. epoxy 1/4" plywood about an 1 1/2 square and epoxy or hysol onto interior of fuse wher the bolt goes through
    5. secure wing from the bottom of the hatch with wing nuts

    Much easier than trying to get the bolt from the fuse into the wing.
    That how I did it on my MBA Tornado

  19. #19
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    DrYankum:
    that is exactly what I will do. Just the thought of trying to fit the rear wing bolts puts me off.

    To fix the wing from the bottom makes more sense to me.

    Thanks again for all the advice.

    I am sure I will have more questions when I go along with the build. Most likely when I have to fit the turbine, but I am still waiting for the beast to be delivered
    Can't wait.

    cheers

    Ulli

  20. #20
    alasdair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    500
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Hi Ulli,
    My solution, the obvious one though nobody else mentioned it, is to buy a big enough vehicle to carry the model fully assembled. I've only assembled it once.

  21. #21
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Alasdair

    yes that would be the easiest solution. I drive quite a big Estate and I can fit my big Extra, heli and speed plane without any bother.
    Unfortunately the Jet fully assembled will not fit. Shame [>:]

    So I have to think about an easy way to get the Jet assembled at the flying field. Pain in the neck but can't be helped.
    That is why I like my Raptor. Just go to the field, fill up and fly around. Maybe I should I have bought a turbine heli.

    Alasdair, when my Jet is assembled, maybe one day we could meet and fly together?

    Ulli

  22. #22
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,693
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Yes Tony about that is fuel.

    I have tried before to get it to fit my estate with the booms off but the fuse length and the span just make it too wide, I leave the booms and the tailplane together
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  23. #23
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wychling, Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,553
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?


    ORIGINAL: aquaskiman

    Post 6 is what I was thinking of. It does not take a lot to hold the wings on that is not where the load is.
    My 3M Yak has holes in the permanent pins in the wings and R clips to hold it in place, but my Falcon 120 I reversed what Tony did, T nuts in the fus and holes in the wings to put allen bolts in.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  24. #24
    alasdair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    500
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?


    ORIGINAL: uixkes
    Alasdair, when my Jet is assembled, maybe one day we could meet and fly together?
    Ulli
    No bother. Where do you normally fly? Which club?
    What about the big Fly-in on May 4th and 5th at Machrihanish, where there is plenty of airspace, no obstacles and large areas of runway?

    I fly my Falcon from grass, but the first flight was from tarmac as with most jets (just in case).

  25. #25
    uixkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lanark, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    86
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Falcon 120 Silly question?

    Hi Alasdair,

    I am a member of Lanark Aeromodelling club. We have a grass field which is unfortunately fenced off. And we all know Murphy s law.

    Good to know that you fly your Falcon from grass too. That was one of the reason why I bought the Navy Cat. I am not sure whether I will fly the Jet at our site, maybe later when I am more familiar with the plane.
    The other problem we have at Lanark is the public. We fly at the former race course and there is a lot of public traffic around, people walking by and further away football and rugby pitch. So from a safety point of view and noise Lanark might not be ideal.

    So for the maiden I will definitely go somewhere else. I thought of Hamilton club or Cumbernauld.

    Ulli

    With regards to the fly-in at Machrihanish. I have never been there. I probably will try it next year.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.