RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Futaba SBUS2 telemetry, JetCat ECU, IAS and AoA indicator/warning, autothrottle and datalogger

Reply
Old 08-12-2017, 01:46 PM
  #401
mr_matt
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 10,008
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Double check you are in 18 channel FASSTest mode
mr_matt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 02:42 PM
  #402
Olkajet
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hvidovre, DENMARK
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

will this help?
-see pic in link.. https://www.dropbox.com/s/gate669r6r...39.29.png?dl=0

Last edited by Olkajet; 08-12-2017 at 02:43 PM. Reason: link
Olkajet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 02:46 PM
  #403
Olkajet
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hvidovre, DENMARK
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olkajet View Post
Or this ? https://www.dropbox.com/s/rrdniq4hrs...46.21.png?dl=0
Olkajet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:53 PM
  #404
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

There is no need to set any ID for the ASSI boards telemetry slots. You simply assign the different TEMPERATURE/RPM sensor types to the slots 20 to 31 as shown in the manual, nothing more. The SD card has to be inserted (the configuration file is read from that and the logs are written to the card). The "running lights" on the LEDs is shown when no SD card is inserted.
See page 27 of the manuel to see what the different LEDs mean.
See page 47 for an explanation of the assignments of slots (this is for 18MZ but should be similar to the FX32

If you see a short flash in the red LED, the ASSI receives SBUS communication. If you see a short flash in the blue LED, the ASSI communicates with the ECU.
Let me know if there is something else that is not clear

The current manual is available here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/93706850/ASSI.pdf
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:31 AM
  #405
tigger52
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello,
thank you for all the information you gave to me.
I was finally able to link everything, thanks to the following informations: there is not need to register the sensor and you I only need to "open" the slot on the radio!
I already had the current manual, and eventhough it was helpfull, I wasn't able to understand my trouble.
In fact, the trouble was in the jetcat ECU V10.
In this version you MUST enable the TELEMETRY FUNCTION in a specific menu of the ECU, eventhough the ASSI module is not the original jetcat module.
I can read all parameters on my FX32, but this radio doesn't allow to modify the "name of parameters": too bad but happy to finally read these parameters!
Thanks everybody for your help!
Regards
tigger52 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:40 AM
  #406
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 3,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dear all.
For info, we will have the ASSI system on demo at our stand in jet power.
Carsten will be here as well and we will conduct small presentations/ conferences once every day.
We will also have on demo our new range of 3D printed pitot tubes, micro static ports and wing leading edge AOA sensors.

https://www.ultimate-jets.net/collec...assi-telemetry

We are also coming up with a new generation of Rx bus boards with ASSI CAN bus connectivity. More to come soon...
olnico is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:05 AM
  #407
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tigger52 View Post
Hello,
thank you for all the information you gave to me.
I was finally able to link everything, thanks to the following informations: there is not need to register the sensor and you I only need to "open" the slot on the radio!
I already had the current manual, and eventhough it was helpfull, I wasn't able to understand my trouble.
In fact, the trouble was in the jetcat ECU V10.
In this version you MUST enable the TELEMETRY FUNCTION in a specific menu of the ECU, eventhough the ASSI module is not the original jetcat module.
I can read all parameters on my FX32, but this radio doesn't allow to modify the "name of parameters": too bad but happy to finally read these parameters!
Thanks everybody for your help!
Regards
Great!
Its very sad that Futaba has not made it possible (yet?) to change the names of the sensors, only the 18MZ has this.
Also, on the 18MZ and 14SG they have a specific "True Airspeed" sensor type that the ASSI board can be updated to use (instead of TEMPERATURE) for the IAS/preset speed parameters. This is also not available on the 18SZ, what a pity.

As Oli writes, I will be at JetPower this year also, if any wants to discuss telemetry stuff etc, just let me know
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:14 PM
  #408
stewart69
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pennant Hills, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi all, I have re engined my jet from Jetcat to a Kingtech turbine which uses an Xicoy ECU, do i need to buy the Xicoy telemetry adapter to see the engine values or can the ASSI be connected directly to the 'data' port on the ECU.

Thanks in advance
Stew
stewart69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 09:09 PM
  #409
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Stewart,
Xicoy had/have a small adapter that connects between the Xicoy ECU and the ASSI board. You could try and contact Gaspar and see if he still has this available
At some point, when I get the time, I will do native support for Kingtech so you can connect Kingtech ECUs directly to the ASSI
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:41 PM
  #410
stewart69
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pennant Hills, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Carsten
I do have the Xicoy adapter for regular telemetry but wasn't sure if I needed it with the ASSI.
Thankyou for the reply.

Stew
stewart69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:59 PM
  #411
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stewart69 View Post
Hi Carsten
I do have the Xicoy adapter for regular telemetry but wasn't sure if I needed it with the ASSI.
Thankyou for the reply.

Stew
Hi Stew,
I'm not sure this is the right adapter! Xicoy/Gaspar made a specific adapter that is used for this, as far as I know, this adapter is not used for anything else!
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 11:06 PM
  #412
stewart69
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pennant Hills, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hmmm, it's identical to the pic in the ASSI manual.

Stew
stewart69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 11:08 PM
  #413
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stewart69 View Post
Hmmm, it's identical to the pic in the ASSI manual.

Stew
Then maybe it is the correct one (could also be that it is just the same piece of hardware with another software running on it!)
But, maybe check with Gaspar first?
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:48 PM.