RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Futaba SBUS2 telemetry, JetCat ECU, IAS and AoA indicator/warning, autothrottle and datalogger

Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 01:45 PM
  #26
Carbon-Customs
 
Carbon-Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

well i guesss also jetcentral end merlins???? they also use xicoy?
Carbon-Customs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:24 PM
  #27
stevekott
 
stevekott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: yorba linda, CA
Posts: 589
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I didn't think the Xicoy ecu monitored remaining fuel or fuel consumption like Jetcat does. Might be a little more work.
stevekott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:06 AM
  #28
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

A friend of mine, Lars Robert, was flying his CARF Flash (with a P160SX) a couple of weeks ago. When Lars flies it, it is with full throttle most of the time doing square loops, tight round loops (very small diameter ), generally pushing the Flash to the limits.
He installed my device in his plane (just using it as a recorder as he is not running SBUS), and did one of his usual breathtaking flights!
I have just extracted the G force from the datalog on the SD card, and the result is shown below. The sensor (3D accelorometer) has a limit of 24 G, Lars managed to get the sensor into saturation a few times in the flight!!
Looking at the data in detail, one can even see the square loops (pulling between 13 and 18G in the corners!)
In the log on the SD Card, the G forces from each of the 3 axis's are shown, as well as the combined force the plane sees (the combined is "sign less" as the software does not know the orientation of the installed device in the plane, might change that in the future)
A sample of the G sensor data:
( the first number is the X axis, the next is Y, the third is Z, and the final number (will be adjusted in the final software) is the combined force from all 3 axis's. The values are in 0.1G)

22 -7 -26 34
-5 23 -17 29
-6 18 -133 134
1 18 -145 146
8 -3 -65 65
2 4 -40 40
-1 -7 -78 78
2 -30 -44 53
6 6 -178 178
17 2 -127 128
10 -7 1 12
1 -9 -20 21
7 -6 -61 61
5 2 -86 86
15 -19 -29 37
0 1 -15 15
-10 25 -19 32
-37 36 -6 51
-19 10 0 21
-1 0 -19 19
-4 -18 12 22
6 17 -48 51
-1 24 -104 106
3 10 -63 63
0 7 -47 47
11 5 -58 59
19 -30 -55 65
-13 25 -25 37
14 -17 -22 31
2 0 -33 33
-9 14 -119 120
4 18 -95 96
1 0 -84 84
2 -5 -51 51
-14 4 -38 40
-9 27 -70 75
-6 -12 -52 53
-7 -2 16 17
-12 15 -113 114
10 -8 -82 82
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lars Robert Flash.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	163.3 KB
ID:	1913453  
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:48 AM
  #29
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have been playing a little with Google Earth. When exporting the datalog from the SD Card, it is possible to see the flightpath, each position (one each second) is marked with a small circle that you can click on. When clicking on one of the circles, the current airspeed, G force, height and amount of fuel in the tank is shown (more info will be added).
The maximum IAS, G force and height obtained during the flight is also shown with "clickable" icons.
(and yes, I plan on making it user selectable if data are shown in metric or imperial units when using Google Earth to show the data )

The only thing needed apart from the device is that a Futaba F1675 GPS receiver is connected to the SBUS2 bus (I'm listening on the bus for the GPS data, and storing this together with my own generated data in the logfile on the SD card)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	105
Size:	2.41 MB
ID:	1913828   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	116
Size:	3.17 MB
ID:	1913829   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	113
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	1913830   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.png
Views:	190
Size:	3.19 MB
ID:	1913831  

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 08-27-2013 at 08:03 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:26 PM
  #30
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Amazing work Carsten!
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 11:37 AM
  #31
punxo
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

hello i have a 180 RX when the telemetry will be availabe for buy? yves
punxo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 11:41 AM
  #32
punxo
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

salut Stan j'ai reussi ŕ ouvrir un compte ............par contre Carsten n'a pas donné de prix?
punxo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 11:48 AM
  #33
Carbon-Customs
 
Carbon-Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

i think you will get some news after jetpower...
Carbon-Customs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:47 PM
  #34
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by punxo View Post
hello i have a 180 RX when the telemetry will be availabe for buy? yves
Hi Yves,
I will have some more news about production/delivery within the next 3 to 4 weeks, I'm sorry that it's not sooner, but I'm doing this in my spare time (which is also divided between family and the local model airfield )

In the meantime, I have (sort of) finalized the dataview in Google Earth (the shown track is just a reduced piece of a flight with some simulated data to aid in debugging)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Google-1.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	175.2 KB
ID:	1914676   Click image for larger version

Name:	Google-2.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	177.4 KB
ID:	1914677  
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 01:10 AM
  #35
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Superb bit of kit/design mate. Looking forward to mine.
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:18 AM
  #36
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Been busy doing the documentation for the device, 40 pages so far
When doing the documentation, a few "aha" and "ahh, that would be nice" has come up, so a few extra goodies have been implemented. The manual now also explains in full how to install multiple units in a multi-engine plane (up to 4 engines).
Did some further stuff in the KML generating tool, all positions where the signal strenght/link quality from the receiver is below maximum will be marked with a yellow "paddle" symbol. That way you will immediatly see if there are certain distances/orientations where the signal strengh is lower. We did some testing in a F16 that flew 600 to 700 meters away, and very seldom we got to see "2" in signal strenght/quality (with a 7008 receiver)

All in all it looks to be finished soon, waiting for a small run of the final PCB, and if everything turns out positive, it should be good to go.
(next job will be to find a suitable Pitot tube, several manufactures sells some at around $10, so this might be the easiest and cheapest solution)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Google.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	229.3 KB
ID:	1915778  

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 09-02-2013 at 01:20 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:58 AM
  #37
PaulD
 
PaulD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 1,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice Carsten. We have a fairly good sized embedded software development team at work but I rarely see this kind of innovation from the team. (Too stuck in process/paperwork I think).

What a sucker I am! I opened the picture file and was looking at the text box in the picture. When I was done I clicked on the little X in the top corner. Well... that didn't work!

PaulD
PaulD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:20 AM
  #38
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the nice words Poul
I have been doing embedded software for the last 32 years, so I know all about how paperwork can put a lid on innovation (luckily I have a good grip on the development process now, so that is no issue in my current company )

Sorry for the problem clicking on the jpg file
I have attached a small flight path (some of the values are simulated), unpack the zip file, and double click on the KML file and Google Earth should open (if you have it installed that is)
Attached Files
File Type: zip
test.zip (3.9 KB, 47 views)
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:17 PM
  #39
ww2birds
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Carsten, Really enjoying this thread about your work. Would love to get one when they are ready. Regarding pitot tubes .. some of the nicer ones I've ever used came from a company called RCATS out in Calif who make a very nice stand-alone telemetry system. In their tube, there is a small laser-drilled hole in the side of the probe tube to pick up the static pressure right on the probe body. This always seemed like the best way to go, though it creates an "other end" with two tube hookup points, which is slightly more trouble to mount than a simple tube, though with the simple tube you have to get the static pressure reference from somewhere, and there is always an issue with airflow in the fuse causing bad readings. PM me if you'd like to see a picture of this unit.

Dave McQueeney
ww2birds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:31 PM
  #40
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dave,
PM sent

You are absolutely right about the static port.
We did some testing of my device, a couple of planes we just did a simple mockup of the "Pitot", two pieces of 3mm Festo tube, the static port was just put inside the nose of the plane, and the pressure port was just brought outside in the front. It seemed that it worked pretty good, one plane was a F16 with a P300 and the other a Eurosport with a P160. It didnt seem that there was any vaccum on the ground with running engines, of course the gear doors are open etc, so there is probably sufficient airflow. I did some comparasion of GPS speed and airspeed (in calm wind) and they were VERY close (within 1 or 2 km/h).
But it all depends on if you are lucky with the static port inside the fuse or not! It is much more safe to use a combined static/total pressure Pitot!
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 11:29 AM
  #41
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Finally managed to get the "users guide" done for the device! It was a huge task, fortunately a couple of guys were VERY helpful in helping me find the millions of spelling and syntax errors in the document
The guide is not completely finished yet, still some work to do. Especially a "quick guide" is needed, and a chapter about all the combination of flash patterns for the LEDs etc. Also need to finalize what types of pitot tube(s) it can be delivered with, housing (if any) of the device etc.
But the guide should give an impression on what the device can do. I still have a couple of details to work out regarding the "engine fail warning" in multi engine systems, need to think a little more about that.
If any is interested in discussing the device, I will be attending JetPower the coming weekend

I'm planning a couple of youtube videos showing the basic setup and usage.

You can download the ASSI.PDF document from here (43 pages, 6 MByte):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/93706850/ASSI.pdf

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 09-10-2013 at 11:32 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 11:53 AM
  #42
Carbon-Customs
 
Carbon-Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

i know it was hard work
Carbon-Customs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 12:18 PM
  #43
Alex48
 
Alex48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Carsten

This looks great. Could you PM me the approximate cost please as I know my F104 customer will want this included on his build

Cheers, Alex
Alex48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 12:25 PM
  #44
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice going mate, the more I read the document the cooler it sounded.

Now watch people point out all the errors I added LOL
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 12:55 PM
  #45
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schroedm View Post
Nice going mate, the more I read the document the cooler it sounded.

Now watch people point out all the errors I added LOL
Thanks for the help Mark with my bad spelling and typos !!!
The guide was written essentially over a couple of days, during the writing I did a few changes to the way the device works (something gets more clear when you try to describe how it works on paper )
I had a couple of local guys read the manual (Thomas (A343), Ole (olkajet) and Lars Robert (laroni)) they gave me valuable input how to desribe things. Mark did a LOT of work correcting all my mistakes !
(I promised him that if he ever needs a user guide done in Danish I can help him )


Alex, I'll send you a PM
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:37 PM
  #46
Alex48
 
Alex48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks
Alex48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 02:23 AM
  #47
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Carsten, me too, I will need at least two when they become available.

m


ps. will this device work with an EvoJet ECU?

Last edited by mick15; 09-11-2013 at 03:42 AM.
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:48 AM
  #48
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mick,
I'm sorry, but currently it only supports JetCat ECU's. I will not rule out that more turbine brands can/will be included, but for now only JetCat.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:15 AM
  #49
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

where does it get it's information from within the ecu?
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:34 AM
  #50
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mick,
the communication is via the same connections as the PC interface from JetCat (same connector as the GSU uses)
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:32 AM.