RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Futaba SBUS2 telemetry, JetCat ECU, IAS and AoA indicator/warning, autothrottle and datalogger

Reply
Old 09-11-2013, 11:09 AM
  #51
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,929
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok, the VX ecu information out is via a servo type plug. (but then you probably already knew that)...............lol.

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 11:18 AM
  #52
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Mick,
no I did not know that, it all depends on the type of communication port on the ECU (serial, I2C etc). I will dig into this a little further down the road!
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 11:22 AM
  #53
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,929
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Great!
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 05:20 AM
  #54
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

While waiting for the final prototype of the ASSI device, I got prototype for the graphic LCD display for cockpit mounting running, right now only with simulated data, real life data will be right around the corner
(the same display can also be used without the ASSI device, it connects directly to JetCat ECU's, and will show engine data/statistics (like the original "JetCat Info Display", now in color graphics, I did a couple of years ago: Digitech Jetcat Information Screen Project!)

PS: the colors are WAY off on the video, text and colors are crisp and very clear !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LDgGxKd7bY

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 09-27-2013 at 05:47 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 05:58 AM
  #55
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Impressive!
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:59 PM
  #56
PaulD
 
PaulD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 1,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice!

.....but now I have a sore neck from looking sideways.

PaulD
PaulD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:09 PM
  #57
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Poul,
and I'm sooooo sorry for your neck
I did the video and upload from my mobile, and did not find any way for rotating it inside youtube.
I'm in the process of making a test-stand with 2 x P100RX on it, dual ASSI devices, GPS and a 7008 receiver, and two of the display units. I will shoot some pictures of it when finished, and also try to do a video of the operation (and this time I will promise to use a better camera, and rotate it properly )

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 09-30-2013 at 01:20 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 05:41 PM
  #58
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carsten Groen View Post
I did the video and upload from my mobile, and did not found any way for rotating it inside youtube.
Go into the edit mode of your video and find the Enhancements bit at top, then inside that view you can rotate it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-2.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	83.6 KB
ID:	1925993  
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:08 AM
  #59
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Sverrir, I had not noticed the small arrow!
(Paul, you can now safely watch the video again )

In the meantime I did another video. I connected a P100RX to the ASSI device and a small 1 ml syringe to the airspeed port (a 1 ml syringe through a piece of 1 meter 6mm Festo tube works well)
The ASSI device is then connected to the LCD display. Again, the colors and sharpness of the display if WAY better than the stupid camera can show (the display is perfectly readable even in direct sunshine!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qoYhWuS3kHg

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 09-30-2013 at 01:20 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:25 AM
  #60
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another (blurry) video, this is of a dual engine setup using two P100RX. Engine #1 is connected to a master ASSI device, engine #2 connected to a slave ASSI device.
Two LCD displays are also on the CAN bus, LCD device #1 shows data from ASSI (engine) #1 and LCD device #2 shows data from ASSI and engine #2.
Note that the slave ASSI device is "dumb", it only gets the current throttle setting from the CAN bus, and returns engine data from the ECU it is connected to (and logs engine data for it's own engine on it's SD card).
The master ASSI device logs all data, IAS, G force, AoA, engine #1 data, all servo positions, all SBUS2 sensor data etc etc.
The log from the master ASSI device can be imported into Google Earth as shown above in this thread.

http://youtu.be/Z3MHPmhMACs
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:47 AM
  #61
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

BTW, the prototypes of the ASSI device had a limitation regarding the airspeed, it could only measure up to 295 km/h (around 180 mph), the production types can now measure up to 460 km/h (around 285 mph)
(a few local friends were ranting about this limitation, now they can also measure WOT performance of their planes )

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 10-03-2013 at 05:16 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:49 AM
  #62
Carbon-Customs
 
Carbon-Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

AT LAST Carsten it wont be long before we complain about the 460kph either....
Carbon-Customs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 07:55 AM
  #63
PaulD
 
PaulD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 1,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok stop tempting us..... when can we get our hands on these things?

PaulD
PaulD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 08:16 AM
  #64
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulD View Post
Ok stop tempting us..... when can we get our hands on these things?

PaulD
Sorry Paul
Right now I'm testing the final prototypes of the ASSI device, looks to be ok. In the next couple of weeks I will do some more testing, and then hopefully production can start!
My best guess (and it's only a guess) is that there will be products in a month or so. It all depends on the testing and final tweaks of the software.
The LCD díspay will be a couple of weeks more, need to do a final set of prototypes, and then production

But you will for sure be able to mount the devices during winter so they are ready for spring
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:17 PM
  #65
Olkajet
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hvidovre, DENMARK
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carsten Groen View Post
Sorry Paul
Right now I'm testing the final prototypes of the ASSI device, looks to be ok. In the next couple of weeks I will do some more testing, and then hopefully production can start!
My best guess (and it's only a guess) is that there will be products in a month or so. It all depends on the testing and final tweaks of the software.
The LCD díspay will be a couple of weeks more, need to do a final set of prototypes, and then production

But you will for sure be able to mount the devices during winter so they are ready for spring
Waiting...

Waiting...

Waiting...

Waiting...
:-)
Olkajet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 12:21 AM
  #66
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Installed the ASSI device in Ole Kastrups ("olkajet") CARF Eurosport (P160SX) and in Kasper Holgers ("CarbonCustoms") FeiBao Mirage (P180RX) last weekend. Both did a number of flights and I examined the data from a couple of flights. The Mirage was maidened this weekend, and on that there are some interesting things to note!
The signal quality/strength is right on the edge in this installation, when the Mirage is coming towards the pilot from approx 200 meters distance, the signal quality drops from 3 (max) to 2 and sometimes down to 1 (0 is NOT good ). The yellow "paddles" shows when the signal quality is below maximum.
However there is not failsafe frames from the flight so it was not so that the control was lost. Below is a couple of pictures and screendumps from both Google Earth and a few from Excel (the raw logfiles was just opened in Excel)
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 12:29 AM
  #67
Carsten Groen
Thread Starter
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good news
I'm talking with a (very well known) company that is looking into producing the ASSI device! They have done some calculations on the price for the ASSI device and it seems it will be in the neighbourhood of Euro 180,- including VAT (around USD$ 210) for the end-user. They need however to "probe" the interest for this before hitting the "start" button.

For them to get a better feeling for this, it would be nice if you could write how many devices you would be interested in (preorder)

Please note, this is for the ASSI deviceonly (the LCD device is NOT included in this)

Last edited by Carsten Groen; 10-25-2013 at 01:02 AM.
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:12 AM
  #68
GrahamN
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Count me in for two please
GrahamN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:16 AM
  #69
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,090
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would buy three (3) of them.
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:20 AM
  #70
gotspg
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richmond, TX
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Count me in for two to start, but i can see me purchasing at least six.
gotspg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:30 AM
  #71
Olkajet
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hvidovre, DENMARK
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

VERY great news.. Count me in for 3.. Then all my jets have one installed
This is very cheap when you think of the extra security you add to your plane.. It is great for range check, in-flight check of signal strength, minimum fuel warning, speed measurement /warnings /or limitation,Cruise control and warnings of minimum speed in landings.. Logging of all the data, and a lot of other features in the log..
Olkajet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 05:37 AM
  #72
PaulD
 
PaulD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 1,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Count me in. Only reservation is I have all Projet ECu's - BF and IQ hammer turbines so would love to see the update when it comes out.

PaulD
PaulD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 05:53 AM
  #73
Plane Insane
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Count me in for two right away. If / when they are compatible with JetCentral I'll buy a two more..
Great work! Glad to see it come to this!
Thanks,
David

Last edited by Plane Insane; 10-25-2013 at 06:26 AM.
Plane Insane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 06:04 AM
  #74
Helijet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kamloops, BC, CANADA
Posts: 985
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will take 2

Cheers
Dean W.
Canada
Helijet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:11 AM
  #75
VF84sluggo
 
VF84sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,367
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very Impressive indeed!

+1 on the Xicoy/Kingtech compatibility
VF84sluggo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:24 AM.