RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Reply

Old 05-15-2017, 08:41 AM
  #2101  
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Im putting my xclaibur together, and I have a slight problem with the landing gear not holding air. I had some equipment lying around, so when a second hand xcalibur landing gear was up for sale, I grabbed it (can I still write grabbed it? ).

Further Im using a xicoy V2S for the gear, it was left over from an other plane I acquired second hand, bur converted to electric retracts, so the valve is previously used. From the same plane I have two air tanks and a pressure gauge. New V1S for the brakes, new robart fill valve, new air lines.

When the gear is pumped up to around 90 psi, and left powered on, it looses around 10 psi over 30 minutes. It looses less when power off, but still some. It even looses some air when only tanks, pressure gauge and fill valve are attached.

To me it seems like all of the different parts are leaking a slight bit. I will fly it as is, but a long term solution would be to make it stop leaking as much as practical possible.

Apologies for the long post, but how would you solve this? Or would you just leave it, and make sure you filled air just prior to starting up for take off?
authomassen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 09:04 AM
  #2102  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would go through the system and find out. Pump to a known pressure and then part by part clamp using hemostat pliers.
Clamp either side of each cylinder, each valve.
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 09:06 AM
  #2103  
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
I would go through the system and find out. Pump to a known pressure and then part by part clamp using hemostat pliers.
Clamp either side of each cylinder, each valve.
Wilco. Thanks!
authomassen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 01:50 PM
  #2104  
horsefeetky
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

my bet is that it is in the v2 or v1 solenoids i have had one leak off before and it was in the programming and end points i had to set for the channel to get things to seal off right. cant put my mind on exactly what the fix was but it was in those units that the problem was for me. listen close to them after they cycle and you should be able to hear the bleed off of air if that is the case.
horsefeetky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 08:56 AM
  #2105  
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by horsefeetky View Post
my bet is that it is in the v2 or v1 solenoids i have had one leak off before and it was in the programming and end points i had to set for the channel to get things to seal off right. cant put my mind on exactly what the fix was but it was in those units that the problem was for me. listen close to them after they cycle and you should be able to hear the bleed off of air if that is the case.
Youre absolutely right, the V2S is leaking air. Ill play around a bit with the end point adjustment to see if I can get it to work as it should. In addition, one 4-way connector in front of the valves is leaking air. The two components leaking made it a bit difficult to find the leaks, but Daves method worked out great. Thanks again

Ill connect the retracts directly to the air tanks and pressure gauge to check that nothing is leaking past the valve.
authomassen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 08:09 PM
  #2106  
damagedgoodes
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alice Springs, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It took a while but the Xcalibur finally took to the skies after her make over. After about 60 flights the covering was starting to peel off and couldn't be saved so off it went. It was the white/blue scheme originally but got treated to a layer of 25gsm glass cloth and repaint in automotive paint and 2K clear. Inspiration was from the CARF Extra 330sc cloud dancer scheme and thanks to my mate Ray Younger who designed the 3 view artwork. All hand masked and sprayed in the garage she's turned out ok I think. K100 was swapped out for my Jet Central Rabbit 90N and the performance feels the same. Gone are the original air retracts and a set of Trim Aircraft electrics and struts in place. Good to have her back in the air.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0003.JPG
Views:	331
Size:	2.94 MB
ID:	2218684   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0008.JPG
Views:	271
Size:	2.72 MB
ID:	2218685   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0009.JPG
Views:	259
Size:	2.67 MB
ID:	2218686   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0014.JPG
Views:	271
Size:	2.82 MB
ID:	2218687   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0015.JPG
Views:	261
Size:	3.00 MB
ID:	2218688   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0092.JPG
Views:	244
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	2218689   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0202.JPG
Views:	218
Size:	2.10 MB
ID:	2218690   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0270.JPG
Views:	213
Size:	2.04 MB
ID:	2218691  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0287.JPG
Views:	219
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2218692   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0304.JPG
Views:	297
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	2218693   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.JPG
Views:	328
Size:	880.9 KB
ID:	2218694   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.JPG
Views:	343
Size:	846.1 KB
ID:	2218695   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.JPG
Views:	361
Size:	778.0 KB
ID:	2218696  
damagedgoodes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 10:34 PM
  #2107  
JP-1
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Newark-On-Trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks good, nice to see a change of scheme.
JP-1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 03:24 AM
  #2108  
avionics
My Feedback: (3)
 
avionics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice Job !!
avionics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 11:44 PM
  #2109  
LL999
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Could anyone who has mounted a Kingtech K-100 please tell me what the thickness of your mounting blocks are.

Thanks
LL999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:59 AM
  #2110  
Jan Scholten
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default P100

22 mm
just center the motor on the fuselage.
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:59 AM
  #2111  
Jan Scholten
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default P100

22 mm
just center the motor on the fuselage.
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 05:42 AM
  #2112  
MikePS
 
MikePS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by LL999 View Post
Could anyone who has mounted a Kingtech K-100 please tell me what the thickness of your mounting blocks are.

Thanks
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
MikePS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:59 AM
  #2113  
LL999
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by MikePS View Post
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
I plan on using 2 x 6.6v 2500mah batteries for power (5.8oz/167g each) and a 9.9v 3000mah for the ECU (9.9oz/281g). I'm not sure yet where they will be placed or what will be needed to balance. I'm just starting the build and hope to take a good bite out of it later today.
LL999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 04:53 AM
  #2114  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by MikePS View Post
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
I used 2x Pulse 2250 2s for the RX and a KingTech 2100 for the turbine....mounted in the nose, also had to put 77 grams of weight at the very front of the nose to balance at 170mm but in mine I had a light MP91T servo for the elevator....

I mounted the turbine as far forward as possible by changing the shape of the FOD screen.
Dansy is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 06:38 AM
  #2115  
MikePS
 
MikePS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
I used 2x Pulse 2250 2s for the RX and a KingTech 2100 for the turbine....mounted in the nose, also had to put 77 grams of weight at the very front of the nose to balance at 170mm but in mine I had a light MP91T servo for the elevator....

I mounted the turbine as far forward as possible by changing the shape of the FOD screen.
Thanks Daniel. As I recall, the recommend CG was 160mm. I've read through this entire thread a couple times, but don't recall seeing a lot of folks using that rearward a CG. I'm guessing you're good with it though. Would be interested in hearing what other folks wound up with for a CG

Update: A quick search showed me 170mm is the number most (including Dave Wilshere) are using....170mm it'll be for me as well.

Last edited by MikePS; 06-16-2017 at 07:14 AM.
MikePS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:24 PM
  #2116  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

At 170mm going inverted required still a little push which is just right for me, I never even tried 160mm
Dansy is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:38 PM
  #2117  
Jan Scholten
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

at 165 mm going inverted required a lot of push, i changed the incidence by lifting the front of the elevator 2,1 mm. now it flies super neutral whit CG at 175 mm.
Inverted and normal flight the same amount (up/down) of input needed.
setup is jetcat P100 and electron gear.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9948.JPG
Views:	276
Size:	1.49 MB
ID:	2220417  

Last edited by Jan Scholten; 06-16-2017 at 12:56 PM. Reason: added picture
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 01:03 PM
  #2118  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Like I said very little push at 170mm no mods what so ever.....K100
Dansy is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 02:00 PM
  #2119  
Turbiner
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exeter, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

For anyone who's had a little accident ( I have had one or two!) I found that the colors for the RAF display model are Monokote TOPQ0221 Royal Blue and TOPQ0227 True Red, these are a very good match almost perfect.
Turbiner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 05:57 AM
  #2120  
MikePS
 
MikePS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Maiden report: First flight on Saturday 7/21. Using the K100-G2, 2 Spektrum 2100 2S LiFe's and 1 Speckrum 3000 3S LiFe in the nose, balanced without any additional weight right at 170. AUW with UAT full but main tank empty was 19.75 lbs. Plane took off easily after approx 275 ft roll out. Needed one click of left aileron trim. Definitely needed down elevator mix with full flaps. Slows down very nicely, easy landing. All in all, very pleased with it, looking forward to many more flights. Big thanks to all who contributed to this thread, it was a great reference source during the build.

Mike
MikePS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 11:30 AM
  #2121  
buddy1065
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yesterday's flight I videotaped.
buddy1065 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 11:22 AM
  #2122  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Broken Boom due to fatigue

FWIW
After roughly 30 flights with a BF100. I realized there was something wrong with the covering on the RH boom. Removing the film showed that the top balsa was cracked all the way through, sharp cuts in both side ply layers. This just after the aft mounting bolt ply box. Another flight had ended in a disaster. Removal of the aft part of the ply-sides, showed that the three ply boxes inside the boom totally lacked or had very poor connection with the balsa top and bottom. They were basically only glued to the 1.8mm ply sides.

All film will be removed and a proper re-inforcement of the stressed area where the boom "leaves" the fuse will be done. I'll also add glass weave, this will of course be equally done on both booms.

Thomas
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3334.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	2227376   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3339.JPG
Views:	150
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	2227377  

Last edited by A343; 08-09-2017 at 04:30 AM.
A343 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 03:49 AM
  #2123  
BikerDon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Question DX9 Programming question

Bit late to the party I know but I am struggling to set up flap AND spoilerons on my Xcalibur.
Apologies if the solution is in the thread already but it is a long thread to wade through, I'll keep searching meanwhile.

1. I can get ailerons and the central flap programmed with Aircraft Type > Wing set to 2 Ail 1 Flap (my current setup)
2. I can get ailerons and spoilerons working with Aircraft Type > Wing set to Flaperons
I cannot work out how to have both

The first was my standard setup for all flights so far but the other members in my club that have Xcaliburs highly recommend adding Spoilerons for landings.
Unfortunately none of them have Spektrum radios.

Any ideas on how to set up spoilerons AND the single flap on my DX9 please?
BikerDon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 09:39 AM
  #2124  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Had all three Xcalibur's out last weekend, great weekends flying.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0740.JPG
Views:	97
Size:	532.3 KB
ID:	2229179   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0743.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	515.4 KB
ID:	2229180  
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 08:31 PM
  #2125  
nigefay
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Had my first Xcalibur for a while last year and loved it. Stupidly sold it to a friend when I had the chance to buy a BVM Kingcat, big mistake! Now my friend lost the original Xcalibur when he had a flame out and stalled it in, so he bought another one, flew it once and then put it up for sale to fund a turbine for his T1. Long story short (ish) I am now the proud owner of a Thunderbirds scheme Xcalibur with my original P120 in it. Just cleaning it up and fitting smoke and lights, be ready to fly in a couple of weeks. Can't wait!
nigefay is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy