RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Reply
Old 05-15-2017, 08:41 AM
  #2101
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Im putting my xclaibur together, and I have a slight problem with the landing gear not holding air. I had some equipment lying around, so when a second hand xcalibur landing gear was up for sale, I grabbed it (can I still write grabbed it? ).

Further Im using a xicoy V2S for the gear, it was left over from an other plane I acquired second hand, bur converted to electric retracts, so the valve is previously used. From the same plane I have two air tanks and a pressure gauge. New V1S for the brakes, new robart fill valve, new air lines.

When the gear is pumped up to around 90 psi, and left powered on, it looses around 10 psi over 30 minutes. It looses less when power off, but still some. It even looses some air when only tanks, pressure gauge and fill valve are attached.

To me it seems like all of the different parts are leaking a slight bit. I will fly it as is, but a long term solution would be to make it stop leaking as much as practical possible.

Apologies for the long post, but how would you solve this? Or would you just leave it, and make sure you filled air just prior to starting up for take off?
authomassen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 09:04 AM
  #2102
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would go through the system and find out. Pump to a known pressure and then part by part clamp using hemostat pliers.
Clamp either side of each cylinder, each valve.
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 09:06 AM
  #2103
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
I would go through the system and find out. Pump to a known pressure and then part by part clamp using hemostat pliers.
Clamp either side of each cylinder, each valve.
Wilco. Thanks!
authomassen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 01:50 PM
  #2104
horsefeetky
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

my bet is that it is in the v2 or v1 solenoids i have had one leak off before and it was in the programming and end points i had to set for the channel to get things to seal off right. cant put my mind on exactly what the fix was but it was in those units that the problem was for me. listen close to them after they cycle and you should be able to hear the bleed off of air if that is the case.
horsefeetky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 08:56 AM
  #2105
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by horsefeetky View Post
my bet is that it is in the v2 or v1 solenoids i have had one leak off before and it was in the programming and end points i had to set for the channel to get things to seal off right. cant put my mind on exactly what the fix was but it was in those units that the problem was for me. listen close to them after they cycle and you should be able to hear the bleed off of air if that is the case.
Youre absolutely right, the V2S is leaking air. Ill play around a bit with the end point adjustment to see if I can get it to work as it should. In addition, one 4-way connector in front of the valves is leaking air. The two components leaking made it a bit difficult to find the leaks, but Daves method worked out great. Thanks again

Ill connect the retracts directly to the air tanks and pressure gauge to check that nothing is leaking past the valve.
authomassen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 08:09 PM
  #2106
damagedgoodes
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alice Springs, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It took a while but the Xcalibur finally took to the skies after her make over. After about 60 flights the covering was starting to peel off and couldn't be saved so off it went. It was the white/blue scheme originally but got treated to a layer of 25gsm glass cloth and repaint in automotive paint and 2K clear. Inspiration was from the CARF Extra 330sc cloud dancer scheme and thanks to my mate Ray Younger who designed the 3 view artwork. All hand masked and sprayed in the garage she's turned out ok I think. K100 was swapped out for my Jet Central Rabbit 90N and the performance feels the same. Gone are the original air retracts and a set of Trim Aircraft electrics and struts in place. Good to have her back in the air.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0003.JPG
Views:	145
Size:	2.94 MB
ID:	2218684   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0008.JPG
Views:	124
Size:	2.72 MB
ID:	2218685   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0009.JPG
Views:	121
Size:	2.67 MB
ID:	2218686   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0014.JPG
Views:	129
Size:	2.82 MB
ID:	2218687   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0015.JPG
Views:	124
Size:	3.00 MB
ID:	2218688  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0092.JPG
Views:	118
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	2218689   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0202.JPG
Views:	100
Size:	2.10 MB
ID:	2218690   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0270.JPG
Views:	101
Size:	2.04 MB
ID:	2218691   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0287.JPG
Views:	102
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2218692   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0304.JPG
Views:	128
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	2218693  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.JPG
Views:	135
Size:	880.9 KB
ID:	2218694   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.JPG
Views:	144
Size:	846.1 KB
ID:	2218695   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	778.0 KB
ID:	2218696  
damagedgoodes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 10:34 PM
  #2107
JP-1
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Newark-On-Trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks good, nice to see a change of scheme.
JP-1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 03:24 AM
  #2108
avionics
 
avionics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice Job !!
avionics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 11:44 PM
  #2109
LL999
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Could anyone who has mounted a Kingtech K-100 please tell me what the thickness of your mounting blocks are.

Thanks
LL999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:59 AM
  #2110
Jan Scholten
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default P100

22 mm
just center the motor on the fuselage.
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:59 AM
  #2111
Jan Scholten
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default P100

22 mm
just center the motor on the fuselage.
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 05:42 AM
  #2112
MikePS
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LL999 View Post
Could anyone who has mounted a Kingtech K-100 please tell me what the thickness of your mounting blocks are.

Thanks
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
MikePS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:59 AM
  #2113
LL999
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikePS View Post
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
I plan on using 2 x 6.6v 2500mah batteries for power (5.8oz/167g each) and a 9.9v 3000mah for the ECU (9.9oz/281g). I'm not sure yet where they will be placed or what will be needed to balance. I'm just starting the build and hope to take a good bite out of it later today.
LL999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 04:53 AM
  #2114
Dansy
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikePS View Post
Will be using a K-100 in mine too, Curious about what batteries you're using, specifically about the weight required to balance.
Thanks
I used 2x Pulse 2250 2s for the RX and a KingTech 2100 for the turbine....mounted in the nose, also had to put 77 grams of weight at the very front of the nose to balance at 170mm but in mine I had a light MP91T servo for the elevator....

I mounted the turbine as far forward as possible by changing the shape of the FOD screen.
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 06:38 AM
  #2115
MikePS
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
I used 2x Pulse 2250 2s for the RX and a KingTech 2100 for the turbine....mounted in the nose, also had to put 77 grams of weight at the very front of the nose to balance at 170mm but in mine I had a light MP91T servo for the elevator....

I mounted the turbine as far forward as possible by changing the shape of the FOD screen.
Thanks Daniel. As I recall, the recommend CG was 160mm. I've read through this entire thread a couple times, but don't recall seeing a lot of folks using that rearward a CG. I'm guessing you're good with it though. Would be interested in hearing what other folks wound up with for a CG

Update: A quick search showed me 170mm is the number most (including Dave Wilshere) are using....170mm it'll be for me as well.

Last edited by MikePS; 06-16-2017 at 07:14 AM.
MikePS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:24 PM
  #2116
Dansy
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

At 170mm going inverted required still a little push which is just right for me, I never even tried 160mm
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:38 PM
  #2117
Jan Scholten
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: netherlands
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

at 165 mm going inverted required a lot of push, i changed the incidence by lifting the front of the elevator 2,1 mm. now it flies super neutral whit CG at 175 mm.
Inverted and normal flight the same amount (up/down) of input needed.
setup is jetcat P100 and electron gear.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9948.JPG
Views:	47
Size:	1.49 MB
ID:	2220417  

Last edited by Jan Scholten; 06-16-2017 at 12:56 PM. Reason: added picture
Jan Scholten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 01:03 PM
  #2118
Dansy
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Like I said very little push at 170mm no mods what so ever.....K100
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 02:00 PM
  #2119
Turbiner
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exeter, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

For anyone who's had a little accident ( I have had one or two!) I found that the colors for the RAF display model are Monokote TOPQ0221 Royal Blue and TOPQ0227 True Red, these are a very good match almost perfect.
Turbiner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:09 AM.