RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz

Reply
Old 09-05-2017, 05:21 PM
  #3326
JSF-TC
 
JSF-TC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 644
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Scott,

What ignition kill switch is it?

The Jeti Magnetic switch works by shorting out a signal line to ground to shut down the device - open line means the device is in the 'on' state. Very little current flows through the mag switch.

Unless it is designed to work with a Jeti magnetic switch I have my doubts that it would work.

Paul
JSF-TC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 06:03 PM
  #3327
csandt051196
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 394
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Paul

its the magnetic switch used to turn a receiver on and off. I am feeling it will not work either. There is no singnal wire in play. Only positive and negative in what I thought would be a cool solution.

Thanks

scott.
csandt051196 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 08:50 PM
  #3328
HarryC
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Scott, the real switch has to be an electronic switch inside the device you are trying to control, the Jeti magnetic switch is really a signaller to that device. The Jeti magnetic switch cannot be used as a primary switch. As Paul said, when you switch on a Jeti mag switch you are actually switching it off, the electronic switch in the device you are controlling senses the off state and switches on! That's how the device switch failsafes to the on state if anything happens to the magnetic switch. So the magnetic switch actually switches to the opposite state that you think, and it's not designed for serious currents. What you can do is fit a proper switch controlled by a magnetic switch such as http://www.jetimodel.com/en/katalog/Accessories/BEC-Regulators-Switches/@produkt/SPS-20/
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:31 AM
  #3329
rbgetz
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Somethingt.

Last edited by rbgetz; 09-06-2017 at 08:35 AM.
rbgetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:35 AM
  #3330
rbgetz
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm trying to transition a few more models over and have a setup question. I like to have the nose wheel steering turn off when the gear comes up. I've tried a few things but not working. Can someone give me a hint as to how I can turn that servo off when gear is in the up position. Is that a mix? sequence? Rob
rbgetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:38 AM
  #3331
AEROSHELDON
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I just do dual rates and have the gear switch change the rate to "0" when the gear is up.....
AEROSHELDON is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:47 AM
  #3332
Ceeray
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kuopio Finland , EU
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I make two rudder to steering mixes, one high rate and one low. Then I use logical switch that it works only in conjunction with gear switch. So gear up, no mixing. Easy.

HI-rate for taxing and low for Landing/takeoff.
Ceeray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 09:53 AM
  #3333
rbgetz
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ahhh. Good Ideas using the dual rates.. I'll give that a try tonight when I get back home. I also like the higher rate on the nose wheel for taxing and low rate for takeoff and landing. I appreciate both your help on this!
rbgetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 11:50 AM
  #3334
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,626
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I suggest a rudder to nosewheel steering mix that is active with the gear down and turns off with the gear up, in the mix window at the bottom you will see an option to have the dual rate active. Then simply go into your dual rate an expo function select the nosewheel steering I assign it to the spring-loaded switch SH. When I pull the switch it it gives me a higher rate for turning around on the runway. When you release the switch you set it to your low take off rate that way you can never forget to be in low Nose wheel steering rate for take off

Last edited by Bob_B; 09-06-2017 at 12:43 PM.
Bob_B is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 12:24 PM
  #3335
Ceeray
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kuopio Finland , EU
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine is on that 3 way switch which has spring load up, standard middle-low. Low hi rates , mid lo rates and up resets timer. When on starting position for takeoff I reset timer and leave at middle=low rates. Another spring loaded 3 way is for wheelbrakes and airbrake. Works for me.
Ceeray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 12:36 PM
  #3336
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csandt051196 View Post
I am trying to use a jeti magnetic switch between a battery and ignition kill switch. I want to be able to disconnect the battery from the kill switch without having to always unplug the wires. I have a switch laying around so I am trying this idea.

Is is this possible? If, how?

Thanks

Scott

Very simple, use Jeti OPTO 06 electronic switch connected to any channel.

Zb/Jeti USA

Jeti Electronic Ignition Kill Switch 15V/6A SP 06 Opto

Click image for larger version

Name:	jeti-sp06-opton.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	2230879
ZB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 09:48 AM
  #3337
Ray Millington
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi all,
I am trying to set up 3 Flight Modes on my DS16,on an F3B Glider (a Wizard)
1 is Speed, 2 is Normal ( meaning no aileron camber or flap setting) 3 is Thermal
I have set up the 3 modes in the Flight Modes Menu ,and assigned a 3 position switch (switch Se) all ok so far,
When i go to Flight Mode Trim,I can see at the top of the screen next to the TX strength logo the 3 modes i.e. when i operate switch Se i see Speed,Normal,and Thermal indicated in turn,
Below the Function line are the settings for the controls e.g. Ailerons ,Elevator,Flaps e.c.t,
When i set for example a value for Ailerons with the switch set for Speed i get the Ailerons both moving up say 20%,ok so far,
The problem i have is that the Ailerons do not re-set to neutral when i move the switch to the normal position,the Ailerons stay at 20% up?
Clearly i am missing something,any help would be appreciated thanks Guys,
Ray.
Ray Millington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 12:57 PM
  #3338
HarryC
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ray, have you changed the trim from G to S ?
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 02:15 PM
  #3339
wfield0455
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,004
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Millington View Post
Hi all,
I am trying to set up 3 Flight Modes on my DS16,on an F3B Glider (a Wizard)
1 is Speed, 2 is Normal ( meaning no aileron camber or flap setting) 3 is Thermal
I have set up the 3 modes in the Flight Modes Menu ,and assigned a 3 position switch (switch Se) all ok so far,
When i go to Flight Mode Trim,I can see at the top of the screen next to the TX strength logo the 3 modes i.e. when i operate switch Se i see Speed,Normal,and Thermal indicated in turn,
Below the Function line are the settings for the controls e.g. Ailerons ,Elevator,Flaps e.c.t,
When i set for example a value for Ailerons with the switch set for Speed i get the Ailerons both moving up say 20%,ok so far,
The problem i have is that the Ailerons do not re-set to neutral when i move the switch to the normal position,the Ailerons stay at 20% up?
Clearly i am missing something,any help would be appreciated thanks Guys,
Ray.
As Harry said you need to change the trims from G (global) to S (separate) if you want independent settings for each flight mode. Also, since this is a glider and you sound like you are adjusting camber, you may want to look at the Butterfly menu. If you do use the butterfly menu ,set the switch field to LOG_MAX (select the logical switch s and scroll all the way to the bottom). Setting the switch to LOG MAX will cause it to evaluate to 100% all the time, which since the switch value also scales the butterfly settings, that's what you want. This will also need to be set to S so your settings are flight mode dependent.
Hope this helps

Wayne
wfield0455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 02:09 AM
  #3340
Ray Millington
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Harry and Wayne,
Thanks for the reply regarding the Mode activation ,i was almost there and had set the first Mode to Separate but not the other Modes,anyway all is now working perfectly,

Wayne i saw in a previous post that you have the DS 24 , Am i correct in thinking that it has control button switches on the back of the transmitter?
Do you remember i posted that i was trying to do the same on my DS16 last year (Not my idea Graupner did it years ago) i was wondering do you find them useful and easy to use when flying?
​​​​​​​Ray
Ray Millington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 03:48 AM
  #3341
wfield0455
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,004
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Millington View Post
Hi Harry and Wayne,
Thanks for the reply regarding the Mode activation ,i was almost there and had set the first Mode to Separate but not the other Modes,anyway all is now working perfectly,

Wayne i saw in a previous post that you have the DS 24 , Am i correct in thinking that it has control button switches on the back of the transmitter?
Do you remember i posted that i was trying to do the same on my DS16 last year (Not my idea Graupner did it years ago) i was wondering do you find them useful and easy to use when flying?
​​​​​​​Ray
Ray,

Actually I have a DS16 and a DC24 but not a DS24. From what I have seen the DS24 does have switches and I think sliders on the back and I do recall you asking about this in the past..I think there are probably photos on the Esprit website that show their placement which may help you decide if they would be useful to you. I suspect whether people like them or not will be highly subjective depending on the size of people hands, how they grip the transmitter, etc...The thing I don't know is exactly how they behave as they appear to be similar to the trim buttons and I'm not sure what functions they would be useful for,,,, While it seems to me that they could be quite useful, I'm not sure which functions I would use them for and I have a hard time keeping track of the switches that I already have so tend to keep my setups as simple as possible....
wfield0455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 02:49 PM
  #3342
Ray Millington
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wayne i found the switch buttons on the rear of my old Graupner tx very handy as they fell perfectly under my finger tips i used them to give me precise aileron movement and could perform the most satisfying consistent slow rolls ,
Obviously inputting the Rudder and Elevator manually,
On my DS 16 i would use them (if fitted) for example for Autotrim as the button would be directly under my finger tip,
​​​​​​​Ray
Ray Millington is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 07:30 AM
  #3343
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
I suggest a rudder to nosewheel steering mix that is active with the gear down and turns off with the gear up, in the mix window at the bottom you will see an option to have the dual rate active. Then simply go into your dual rate an expo function select the nosewheel steering I assign it to the spring-loaded switch SH. When I pull the switch it it gives me a higher rate for turning around on the runway. When you release the switch you set it to your low take off rate that way you can never forget to be in low Nose wheel steering rate for take off
+1
gooseF22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 08:24 AM
  #3344
rbgetz
 
rbgetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yep, as usual, I'm amazed with this radio!! I tried the nose wheel shutoff many ways, as suggested, to test it out. I now have high rate on the spring-switch. really like it... Thanks for all the help. I think now i need to get a standard set up for switches and types of switches on my models for consistency. especially since i fly different types from jets to giant scale warbirds. really liking the Jeti platform. Just an FYI - I was at an event this weekend and had at least 6 people come up and wanting to just hold the DS16 and looking to convert.
rbgetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 05:43 AM
  #3345
kirkj
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: spring, TX
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZB View Post
Letting you know that we passed all FCC tests for Jeti REX 3 and REX 3 900MHz receivers.

Zb/Jeti USA

Jeti Duplex EX R3 REX 2.4GHz Receiver w/Telemetry
Jeti Duplex EX R3 REX 900MHz Receiver w/Telemetry

Attachment 2221815Attachment 2221816
Hi,
This was posted back in June, but still not available.
Can we get an update please?
kirkj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 06:34 AM
  #3346
ltc
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 830
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkj View Post
Hi,
This was posted back in June, but still not available.
Can we get an update please?
Over on the RCG Jeti thread, I think it was mentioned that the REX3 is switching to the A20 antenna configuration and is awaiting FCC approval.
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 02:23 AM
  #3347
number27
 
number27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 393
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am not the best (simple) at programming my DS16. To stop my wheels from gyroscopic forces (CARF J10) upon takeoff. Would like some suggestions on a mix of upon Gear UP (SH) just to tap the Brakes (LS) for say 2 seconds to stop the wheels from spinning and then Brakes OFF this is to assist with retraction of the mains. I have tried a couple of thoughts but now seeking assistance.
number27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 04:12 AM
  #3348
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Logic switch and Curve. Pretty easy even for your simple programming skill level
philjac94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 04:12 AM
  #3349
Dansy
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You could do a simple sequencer when you switch the gear up the brake go on 20% or so 2 seconds then the gear goes up.

Last edited by Dansy; 10-21-2017 at 06:47 AM.
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 06:34 AM
  #3350
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have a look here we have Sequencer Video
Zb/Jeti USA

Jeti Video
ZB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:41 AM.