Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Drogue chute help

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Drogue chute help

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2013, 02:44 AM
Alex48

Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Drogue chute help

Hi Guys

I have no experience in using these chutes. Is there a particular method for folding them so they deploy nicely?

Thanks

Alex
Old 11-19-2013, 04:19 AM
Falcon 64

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Since it`s a calot, almost any method works. But if you fold it like making it half the size every time, and then wrap the lines around it, you should be fine.
I just hold the center with one hand a run the other hand down to make a sausage, then z-fold it, you will also be fine but this method makes it bigger.
Store the chute unfolded, hanging free.
Old 11-19-2013, 04:38 AM
DelGatoGrande
My Feedback: (23)

Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts

here are the most experts when it comes to chute folding http://www.estesrockets.com/media/in...6_FREEFALL.pdf

…my main concern was always in case they deploy during flight so i always use a release system : http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-j...-jets-how.html
So one servo to control a valve or electronic valve and another servo to release.
PowerBox allows me to use only one channel and a triple switch for all factions ….by using the muching exits and playing with the endpoints and centers.
O=stand by
1=shute out
2=shute complete release

my 2c
Old 11-19-2013, 05:13 AM
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)

Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts

I tried several ways on my F-100 until I found what worked. Dan Gill at details4scale referred me to a page on his site about how to fold it but I can’t find that page for you now.