Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

What Gyros are you using for your jets.

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

What Gyros are you using for your jets.

Old 07-03-2014, 03:25 AM
Yann

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Guys,
No doubt on my mind that all these great gyros work just well, but one question strikes me.
Don't we need to adjust gain gyro on each axis?
That would need three separate channels to control them and it doesn't seem to be the case...
These three separate channels would also allow to turn on and off each axis/gyro independantly.
I only use gyros on ailerons on some of my jets, so I have no experience on multiple axis gyros.
Could you explain me why you guys don't need all the above.
Thanks for enlightning me.
Old 07-03-2014, 04:20 AM
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)

Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts

On the gyro system I use I adjust each individual axis manually on the unit itself. I then use the master gain adjustment on my flap channel. So anytime my flaps are down the gain gets turned up.
Old 07-03-2014, 04:39 AM
gooseF22

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The cortex has a preset set of individual gains and Stick priorities that has been determined to work for a large cross section of aircraft.. So all we vary is the master Gain, out of the box..

If an axis needs adjustment, we go into the software and tweak it via the web interface.. which is easy to do at the field with a laptop..

In most of the installations, no tweaking has been required.. The master gain, when sent the middle position removes the gain..

The cortex lets you select 2 presets just by varying the gain, bank 1 and 2. They can be any numbers/modes, but by default its attitude for 1 and HH for 2.