RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

My SM F-14 Tomcat

Reply
Old 08-05-2014, 11:15 AM
  #101
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have severals of them in use as well, they're good, but they do have some slop in them... not an issue on most planes though...

W.
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 11:26 AM
  #102
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

some more progress today... continued replacing the airlines, on the front doors this time. also replaced the lines on the canopy ram and locks, and made up a servo platform for the valve. with a slowed servo, this system works perfectly, no need for a sequencer...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0108 (Medium).JPG
Views:	187
Size:	134.0 KB
ID:	2020354   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0109 (Medium).JPG
Views:	160
Size:	165.0 KB
ID:	2020355   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0110 (Medium).JPG
Views:	212
Size:	133.0 KB
ID:	2020356   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0111 (Medium).JPG
Views:	182
Size:	114.9 KB
ID:	2020357   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0113 (Medium).JPG
Views:	192
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	2020358  

WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:08 AM
  #103
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

here's a video on the operation of the canopy. the servo is slowed to 1 sec for opening, and 3 sec for closing. this allows the canopy to close before the locks close. no sequencer needed here....

http://youtu.be/fJe3rp5d75A http://youtu.be/7iVK5NbYxV0 W.

Last edited by WimB; 08-06-2014 at 12:22 AM.
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:59 AM
  #104
muzzgail
 
muzzgail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Canopy is looking good. Nice mounting job on the valve. The airlines are run the same as I intend. Using Dreamworks airline and festo T's
muzzgail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 05:35 AM
  #105
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use the Original Festo lines, suppose the Dreamworks lines are just as good!

W.
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:06 AM
  #106
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wim, I have just installed my elevon servos and after the experience of the first model here's what I did. The wood is too soft to accept self tappers so I fitted 3mm bolts and used the right angle servo brackets as captive nuts. I'm in the process of converting my landing gear to hydraulic, I can post some pics if you don't mind me hijacking your thread lol.

m

ps you know the canopy is quick release with two hatch latches? See you at Jetpower?
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 01:08 AM
  #107
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mick,

did you trace the problem to the elevon servo's? curious on the hydraulic conversion, please do give us pics about that!!

yes, I knew about the canopy, makes it easy to remove...

Don't know about Jetpower yet...

Wim
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 01:43 AM
  #108
Alex48
 
Alex48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Using Futaba servos I had to pack the mounts considerably allowing me to use good quality ply for the self tappers.

Thanks for for the video Wim, mine didn't work very well when I tried to sequence the canopy that way. I can see it works well on yours so I'll try again

Thanks for the probe kit order
Alex48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 07:41 AM
  #109
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Picture 1 shows the accumulator in it's position to operate the pump control micro switch.
2 is the top side, pump five way distribution valve and tank.

The cylinders have been modified to take 4mm Festos.

m
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RIMG0049.JPG
Views:	158
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	2020881   Click image for larger version

Name:	RIMG0050.JPG
Views:	141
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	2020882   Click image for larger version

Name:	RIMG0051.JPG
Views:	186
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	2020883   Click image for larger version

Name:	RIMG0052.JPG
Views:	138
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	2020884  
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:09 AM
  #110
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Clarksville , TN
Posts: 5,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

mick15 the top stuff makes sense but what is the accumulator for?
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:48 AM
  #111
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

. Double post
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:49 AM
  #112
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

All self respecting hydraulic systems have an accumulator to maintain a residual pressure, having said that, the accumulator rod switches the pump circuit off when a predetermined pressure is achieved. Therefore adjusting the value of the spring fitted to the air side of the piston determines the switch off pressure of the entire system. Example, my A10 has no mechanical locks the model "sits" on oil pressure when at rest and requires no up lock when flying.

I can see the F14 gear functioning in this manor.

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:58 AM
  #113
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Clarksville , TN
Posts: 5,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Okay so your using the accumulator to hold pressure on the system once the gear is down. I was wondering about this the other day, gives me something to ponder, still not understanding your setup but its just me not understanding it
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 11:05 AM
  #114
gunradd
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mick nice hyd system Cant wait to see a video with it in action.

Fender all the full scale planes I have worked on all had accumulators. It will smooth out everything when you say put the gear up or down. Accumulators store energy and also smooth out the system so the pump is not cycling on and off constantly.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 11:29 AM
  #115
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Clarksville , TN
Posts: 5,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Gotcha, so if your valve was 3 position could u no go to the mid position that cuts off the lines to prevent pressure dropping
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 12:19 PM
  #116
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No the pressure is held by a non return valve on the exhaust side of the pump. The grey item in pic 3.

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 12:49 PM
  #117
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Clarksville , TN
Posts: 5,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

ahhh okay so a one-way valve, now that I think about it I remember seeing the one-way in a video using this system. Sorry accumulator is simple there to take the brunt of holding the locks? learning a new system is always fun, thanks for the info.
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 12:17 AM
  #118
Colin Allen
 
Colin Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: RobinaQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Following this with interest. Ordered my F-14 a couple of weeks ago... the long wait begins!
Colin Allen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:08 PM
  #119
invertmast
 
invertmast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 7,645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Interestingly enough, the full scale F14 had no hydraulic accumulators to save weight, along with replacing all hard lines with titanium. This also proved to be the reason the #1 prototype crashed bc of the pressure pulses of the hydraulic pumps work hardening and eventually causing a hard line to fail. The fix was to add more adel clamps to hold the hydraulic lines to the airframe.
invertmast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 07:20 AM
  #120
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mick,

in your opinion, is it neccesary to go hydraulic on this plane? on the mains, do you go hyd on both the main piston and the locks? or are the locks still pneumatic?



Wim



Quote:
Originally Posted by mick15 View Post
Picture 1 shows the accumulator in it's position to operate the pump control micro switch.
2 is the top side, pump five way distribution valve and tank.

The cylinders have been modified to take 4mm Festos.

m
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 10:18 PM
  #121
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don't think necessary is the right word but from my point of view it's desirable because over time I've had more success with oil than with air. The locks work in conjunction with the main cylinders so will be oil. The doors will still be pneumatic.
Plus, if you get a leak you can easily find it (seldom happens) plus you get at lease 30 cycles from one battery charge, you don't see many models doing "gear passes" folks are generally relieved if the gear works once lol.

m

Last edited by mick15; 08-11-2014 at 10:21 PM.
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 06:23 AM
  #122
DrScoles
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Got an email from John this morning, my F-14 is getting ready to ship… :-)
DrScoles is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 08:53 AM
  #123
muzzgail
 
muzzgail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good stuff. Hope you get it soon. They are huge!
muzzgail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 03:40 AM
  #124
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

little vid of my installation of the tailhook.........I'll post pics on how I've done it, and more importantly on how the unit is attached to the fuse later...needs a little fine-tuning to go up a little higher.....

Wim

Last edited by WimB; 08-27-2014 at 03:44 AM.
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 03:44 AM
  #125
WimB
Thread Starter
 
WimB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichelen , BELGIUM
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aio3yHQd3yY
WimB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:33 PM.