RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Demon Cortex Gyro question

Reply

Old 08-07-2017, 01:26 PM
  #526  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Ken LaPointe View Post
Does the Cortex care where in the plane its located? Is closer to the CG better than stuck out in the nose?

I would think closer to the axis of rotation would provide the best performance but there doesn't appear to be any guidance that you need to place it near the CG.

Is there a best place for the Cortex ?

thanks in advance,e

Ken
Since the entire airplane yaws pitches and rolls at exactly the same rate there is absolutely no performance improvement by being close to the CG. That of course assumes the fuselage, wing, etc are reasonably ridged and not flexing significantly with control inputs.. That's unlikely but if it were the case there is still no guarantee that being near the CG would be the best location and in fact nearer to the source of the flex would probably be the best..The most important thing is that it be mounted square to each axis and that the orientation is set correctly so it knows which axis is yaw, which is pitch, which is roll and which way is forward so it knows how to apply corrections..Most use the default orientation but it can be changed in the software to match the installation if you need to install it sideways or inverted for example..

Last edited by wfield0455; 08-07-2017 at 01:32 PM.
wfield0455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 05:13 PM
  #527  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You'd think but no it doesn't care, place it wherever the wiring is convenient and in the area of least vibration
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 02:42 PM
  #528  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nope. Do mount it however where the inrushing airflow won't be vibrating it.
gooseF22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 05:22 AM
  #529  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey guys,
I have a Cortex that I am getting ready to install in my Avenger. My question is can I use servo extensions between the gyro and receiver or do I need to move the receiver closer to the gyro?

Thanks in advance

Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 07:17 AM
  #530  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by lkahn4 View Post
Hey guys,
I have a Cortex that I am getting ready to install in my Avenger. My question is can I use servo extensions between the gyro and receiver or do I need to move the receiver closer to the gyro?

Thanks in advance

Larry
I have used extensions without any problems. Mine were fairly short (6") but I think longer would also be ok.

Craig
CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 07:36 AM
  #531  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Craig,
Thanks for the quick response and info

Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 08:22 AM
  #532  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by lkahn4 View Post
Craig,
Thanks for the quick response and info

Larry
www.DemonAero.com has longer wiring harnesses available.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 11:07 AM
  #533  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bob,
Thanks, just went to the website and it says page not found for the longer harnesses

Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 11:24 AM
  #534  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's the 250mm
3X cable loom L250 (250mm) (about 10 inches)
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 04:49 AM
  #535  
dccatl
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Getting ready to convert another one of my jets from Futaba to Jeti. Will the original Cortex accept EX Bus input or maybe UDI or is PPM the only serial option for Jeti?
dccatl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 05:14 AM
  #536  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No EX Bus, SBus or PPM
there is SBus firmware but i have never used it

Last edited by Bob_B; 03-11-2018 at 05:18 AM.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 01:33 PM
  #537  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cortex

On a dx18 I have the cortex of a three-way switch, center is off, away is low and towards me is high. Is there a way to also put the gain adjustments on the knob so I can fine-tune it separately for both switch positions?
Thank you!
flyrcjets is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 03:17 PM
  #538  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Okay guys,
First let me say Danny at Aeropanda was great helping me get the setup done so the gyro took the inputs but I must be missing something or I'm getting really OLD!!!!!
I am STUMPED, using a Futaba 14SG, channel 4 rudder, 8 for tail wheel linked. I get the gyro set and it will only drive the tail wheel servo, I have also tried using a "Y" connector and it's the same thing.
It does move the ailerons and elevators, more on the elevators than the ailerons but the aileron throw is only 1"
Really getting frustrated, was thinking it may be a bad battery but not sure
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance
Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 03:32 PM
  #539  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Larry,

Call me. Again
407-687-3126
F1 Rocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 05:35 PM
  #540  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

F1
Thanks, I will call you tomorrow as I am now in Arizona and it's 9:30 there your time

Thanks again
Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 05:37 PM
  #541  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Larry, instead of linking them, you might have to use a Mix. not sure.. but you will get it..keep tinkering.. cant hurt it.
gooseF22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 11:29 AM
  #542  
lkahn4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have to give MANY thanks to Danny at Aeropanda for helping me get the Cortex working, no way I could have done this without him

Larry
lkahn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 12:01 PM
  #543  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yea, they have great support and Danny is very knowledgeable about setups and issues.

I had a problem with the original Demon and he drove 2 1/2 hours to come fly with us for a day to work on my setup and brought a spare Cortex so we had a spare sensor, wiring harness and all in the unlikely event I had a bad one.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 07:01 PM
  #544  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We call him the Jeti Master. The Jeti/Cortex force is strong with this one.
gooseF22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 03:57 PM
  #545  
roydefiant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN,
Posts: 782
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

2 questions;
1. I am mounting a demon cortex (not pro) in 1/5 scale gas prop plane. I understand having the gyro facing forward but the gyro will be mounted upside down in the fuse. Must I reprogram the mounting position or does face up or face down not make a difference and this is recognized in setup ?

2. If I understand the setup instructions correctly I can do the setup for the gyro but leave the gyro turned off for the first trim flight. Once I get the trim flight and control throws done, for the 2nd flight (after checking for correct directional gyro control) I could turn the gyro on in flight and the gyro will recognize the new correctly set trims and throws from the startup initialization prior to second flight?

Thanks
Roy
roydefiant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 07:26 PM
  #546  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You will need to change the orientation using the pc program.

You are correct regarding question 2
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service