Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Unblocking injectors?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Unblocking injectors?

Old 09-19-2014, 02:06 PM
DominicM

Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Unblocking injectors?

Have got a GBooster 160 that has had its injectors block up only 5 starts after it came back from a service at EvoJet. Definitely blocked as the initial flame is poor and compressed air does not flow though the fuel port. Wanted to know if there is anything I could flush through the port into the injectors to clear what I am told is probably carbon build up? Any help appreciated. I'm loathed to send it to IQHammer unless I need really need to. EvoJet won't return my emails. Got me labelled as a difficult customer I guess. Go figure.
Old 09-19-2014, 02:34 PM
Vettster

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Well im no expert.. but i did do the same thing on a RAM 750 a couple of years ago. I submerged the ring in Acetone for an hour and then swished it around. Then blew it out with low air pressure. I then hooked up a propane bottle to it and with very low!! pressure lit all the wicks to check for consistency. They all burned perfectly even so I re installed it.

Cheers
Old 09-19-2014, 04:47 PM
rcpete347
My Feedback: (251)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

HI, their is useually a restrictior near the discharge end, about 7thou dia.. You must dissassemble the turbine to get at the end of the sticks and gently free the sticks from carbon with a 5thou wire.I think at time you have nothing to loose anyway.
Rcpete
Old 09-19-2014, 11:22 PM
DominicM

Thanks both. I was apprehensive of doing anything but I'll have a go. Cheers.
Old 09-19-2014, 11:28 PM
bluescoobydoo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

if you know anyone who works in a lab see if the have access to a ultrasonic cleaning bath a few hours in it with a cleaning solution should clear it
Old 09-20-2014, 01:07 AM
DominicM