RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Best turbine for JMP Firebird??

Reply

Old 10-17-2014, 06:31 PM
  #1  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Best turbine for JMP Firebird??

I am having to think really hard about what turbine to put in my JMP Firebird...It seems as though everyone is running a turbine that puts out around 50lbs of thrust and above! The thing is I want it to be fast but not 300mph fast. I have an AMT 280, but it seems that is a low thrust turbine for this plane. I would like it to fly well, but not be a rock on landing..So if anyone is flying with a 180 or below, please give some input on how it flies,lands and how long you fly for. Flight time is also important as I would like to be able to fly for about 10 mins. With that said, the K-210G looks like a good turbine for this bird with a fuel consumption of only 2oz more than the 180G. If anyone has any ideas or thoughts, please chime in. thanks
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 07:22 PM
  #2  
Randy M.
My Feedback: (38)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, TN,
Posts: 1,450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would think the 280 would fly it ok. But not fast. The k180 would be plenty fast. The 210 would be stupid fast.
Randy M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 07:42 PM
  #3  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,094
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Didn't shui fly one with an Olympus HP

Beyond warp SPEED
yeahbaby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 07:44 PM
  #4  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

lol..not looking to go warp speed!
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 08:53 PM
  #5  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

the flights that I have had with a 210 the fuel burn has been less then a 180. I would drop a 210 inside it.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:52 PM
  #6  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Try the new Jets-Munt M200XBL.... Weight to power ratio is awesome... You can always use dual rates for throttle and run on lower rpm (60% rate) and with a flip of switch get max rpm (100% rate) and power.... I call it afterburner switch....

Enjoy
LA jetguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 11:27 PM
  #7  
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 477
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a Behotec 220 in my AD Diamond. Small casing with lots of power.
Would be very nice in a Firebird.

Christian
Bob Toilet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:21 AM
  #8  
sc0tt
My Feedback: (61)
 
sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think the sleek design of the Firebird makes it very fast regardless of the turbine size. Back in the old days of Metropolis, IL Superman rallies I remember Firebirds with JetCat P120's - once up & on step they were still fast. Today I would say put a K210G in to keep the weight down vs. a heavy P200 or Olympus HP, etc. You can always turn the 210 down if you want, or leave it at full thrust and use throttle management. More power is always nice for take off & emergency go arounds.

Last edited by sc0tt; 10-18-2014 at 07:27 AM.
sc0tt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:28 AM
  #9  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Keep in mind when that jet was designed the Olympus was a 45lb thrust engine. It also talks about the amt pegasus (280) in the manual. When I built mine I spent a lot of time talking with Tom about engines. In the end I put an AMT NL Olympus HP in mine but Tom said the pegasus will fly it "nice". Nice will still do 200mph easy in that jet. Victor montelbano in Texas flew a beautiful firebird with an AMT280 in it and it performed well. The reason I think people put the big motor in the firebird is typically you are not buying a firebird to have a "nice" jet but rather you want to scare your balls into your throat, set the world on fire and bring down moon with your sonic boom lol. If you have a 280 I would try it. See what you think. In a firebird reliability is the biggest thing. They don't glide well and IMO there is still no better engine out there than the AMTs.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:37 AM
  #10  
scoeroo
My Feedback: (9)
 
scoeroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Home PA
Posts: 558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Merlin 200
Lightest and most powerful in the 200 class - can be wound up further if needed
scoeroo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:01 AM
  #11  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok so if I answer the question correctly here as well, the question was what is the best turbine for a firebird. The true answer is the Olympus. The airplane, bypass and pipe were designed with that motor in mind. The bypass and pipe are optimized for that engine. Others will work but if you are looking at 45+ lb thrust engines I would use what was intended for that jet. Otherwise, as I said before if you already have an AMT280, for the flying it sounds like you want to do, I would just try that engine first.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:45 AM
  #12  
Erik R
My Feedback: (32)
 
Erik R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fogelsville, PA
Posts: 1,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi,

I had a mammoth in mine, and it was the fastest rc airplane I have ever seen, in person. Flying it aggressively, I had to set up to land after 4 minutes. I put another fuel tank in to extend flight times. Based on the criteria you gave, anything 160 and up will work for you. I think the 280 is too small, and will result in a very long takeoff roll, and lethargic response in situations where you want power now.

The Firebird has a high wingloading, and needs to stay on the step. It is the ultimate adrenaline rush though. Good luck!

Erik
Erik R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 01:10 PM
  #13  
jason
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,336
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It would have to be the Merlin 200.
jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 09:05 PM
  #14  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Merlin M200XBL... With HV servos and a cortex gyro is the best way to equip the firebird these days... The lighter the jet the better it flies and lands...

David
LA jetguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:02 AM
  #15  
Mark Basel
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 595
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Put a Pegasus HP in it, you will not be disappointed

Last edited by Mark Basel; 10-20-2014 at 06:18 AM.
Mark Basel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 09:41 PM
  #16  
Neil Collins
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kempton park, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will be putting a Kingtech 210 in mine, I want to build it as light as possible.
Neil Collins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 04:50 AM
  #17  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, I am definitely leaning towards the 210. Seems to be pretty fuel efficient and is about 2lbs less than the amt280
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 05:20 AM
  #18  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


You need one of these

Specifications: M200XBL

Nominal thrust: 200N (45lb) at 115.000 RPM
Idle thrust: 7N
Idle RPM: 30,000
Diameter: 110mm (4.3)
Lenght: 266mm (10,47")
Engine weight: 1.550g (3.3lb)
Installed weight: 1,680g (3,65lb)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	900.9 KB
ID:	2042048  
LA jetguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:57 AM
  #19  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Resurrecting this thread! Ended up going with the KT210 by the way and it does a great job while keeping the weight down...wondering what everyone is doing about the stabilizer servo since ours has the original multiplex giant scale servo installed still. Seems to be working fine, but it has to be at 15 years old, so I'm thinking about replacing it.

Also - anyone know offhand what the capacity is of the center tank? Couldn't find it in the manual and too lazy to go fill and measure :-)

Thx!
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:31 AM
  #20  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey Brian, or Scott, not sure who actually posts on RCU haha.

The Stab servo was the Multiplex Rhino as you know. Multiplex was bought by Hitec and while I can't remember the number, there is a hitec servo that is a replacement, it's still a multiplex servo, just in a hitec case. You are somewhat required to use this servo as the stab servo arm was designed for it. I know others have used the JR8911's or similar but it requires a different servo arm and clevis on the pushrod. Will update with the servo number once I know.

I just asked Tom and he says the center tank is 32oz, each wing tank is 66oz for a total of 164oz.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:41 AM
  #21  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is the servo I have in my firebird I believe, looks to be discontinued now as well There must be a replacement for it though.

https://hitecrcd.com/products/servos...-servo/product

Looks like this one is the same case size but lower torque at the same voltage, same torque if you run 7.4V.

https://hitecrcd.com/products/servos...-servo/product
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:22 PM
  #22  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Jeremy - It's Brian...

Thx for the reply...Turns out ours has a Multiplex Jumbo Digi installed instead of the Rhino. The Jumbo is half the speed and has 100 oz less torque than the Rhino. I looked at the HS-5765MH and it apparently has a 10mm output shaft. Guess I will keep looking. Also, we are using 6.6V RX batteries - I'm not so sure about using the HV capable servos with the lower voltages. Seems like maybe an accident waiting to happen being on the lower end of the acceptable voltage.
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:10 PM
  #23  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Rhino was the Digi 4. Tom figures these might be the replacements but a call to hitec would confirm 5765 or 5805
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:24 PM
  #24  
txshan130
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (113)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ahh...think the 5805 is the one. Will make a call tomorrow! Thx.
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:19 AM
  #25  
PaulD
My Feedback: (39)
 
PaulD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Matching that shaft on the servo arm to something else will be a *****. There’s some really good servos out there in aluminum cases putting out tons of torque but they all have standard size splines. The thing that has always bugged me about that set up is the single point of failure on the single most important control surface.

PaulD
PaulD is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service