RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Xicoy Electronic C.G. Balancer

Reply
Old 04-05-2015, 03:33 AM
  #51
Justin_vb
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SydneyNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Silly question, the instructions says to measure the distances from the sensors. Is this still correct for offset struts like below and Damo's F-18 as shown above?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	2086461  
Justin_vb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 03:39 AM
  #52
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

See FB message
philjac94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 03:40 AM
  #53
Mark Vandervelden
 
Mark Vandervelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bournmouth UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Justin
It dose not matter how the struts are configured the relevant measurements are from were the load is supported buy the three sensors in relation to the expected CG.
Mark Vandervelden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 03:41 AM
  #54
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Vandervelden View Post
Hi Justin
It dose not matter how the struts are configured the relevant measurements are from were the load is supported buy the three sensors in relation to the expected CG.
+1
philjac94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 09:10 AM
  #55
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think this a great item for jets, since cg always seems to be a guessing game. Is it possible or will they be any defaults for people that can be selected in the unit? For example on something like the ARF kits all SM 1/6 f16 will have the same measurements and all the SM Bae hawks will have the same measurements. So just make a data base with these and make it were you just select the model and the scale and bam your done! Then over time as new models come out or different scales of a model you just release a new software update or even make it were u can manually enter and store it!
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 01:49 PM
  #56
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 3,791
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
I think this a great item for jets, since cg always seems to be a guessing game. Is it possible or will they be any defaults for people that can be selected in the unit? For example on something like the ARF kits all SM 1/6 f16 will have the same measurements and all the SM Bae hawks will have the same measurements. So just make a data base with these and make it were you just select the model and the scale and bam your done! Then over time as new models come out or different scales of a model you just release a new software update or even make it were u can manually enter and store it!
No, because some models have trailing link struts.
In that case the position of the wheel projected on the fuselage longitudinal axis will change with the weight of the aircraft.
One could say that 1 mm does not really matter, but this is not true in that case since the CG position is given to the mm...
olnico is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 01:49 PM
  #57
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 3,791
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Vandervelden View Post
Hi Justin
It dose not matter how the struts are configured the relevant measurements are from were the load is supported buy the three sensors in relation to the expected CG.
Yes. Positions must be projected on the fuselage longitudinal axis.
olnico is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 02:11 PM
  #58
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olnico View Post
No, because some models have trailing link struts.
In that case the position of the wheel projected on the fuselage longitudinal axis will change with the weight of the aircraft.
One could say that 1 mm does not really matter, but this is not true in that case since the CG position is given to the mm...
So your saying that all SM f-16 models of the same scale would be different? I would think peoples measurements and eyeing up the ruler would have more error?
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 02:29 PM
  #59
Damo260
 
Damo260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CaloundraQueensland , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You really can't stuff it up using a tape measure and plumb bom to get the cg accurately

Damo
Damo260 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 07:50 AM
  #60
Gaspar
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 384
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We have just begun to ship the pending orders, older first.

Just a small comment for the customers that have this device on order, there is a new option for this device. It consist in 3 pc of electronic angle sensors (resolution 0,1) to replace the weight sensors. The use of these angle sensors is to accurately measure and setup the throws of control surfaces. Manual can be downloaded here: http://www.xicoy.com/CGMeter1_00.pdf

For those costumers that have ordered the CGMeter and would like to include these sensors, please contact us to or your dealer to modify your order before shipment.

Gaspar
Gaspar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:42 AM
  #61
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 3,791
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.ultimate-jets.net/product...-angle-sensors
olnico is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 09:53 AM
  #62
r 3
 
r 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ABZ, Scotland
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Hi Gaspar
Will you be coming to Jet Power in Germany in September and will you have these units with you for purchase.

Bill
r 3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 03:58 AM
  #63
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryC View Post
The simplest way is add up weight of all 3 wheels. Divide weight on nosewheel by total of all 3 wheels. That fraction is the fraction forward from main wheels of the distance mains to nose. For example, weight on nosewheel is 1kg, total weight on all 3 wheels is 10kg, distance main to nosewheel is 1metre, then balance point is 1/10 of distance i.e. 10cm forward from main wheels. Couldn't be simpler.
So what would the formula / process be if you don't assume that both main wheels are the same distance from the nose?
I guess I could derive it from the forces equilibrium, but if there is a shortcut even better.
Thanks
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:39 AM
  #64
osvaldopv
 
osvaldopv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dorado, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 134
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can someone explain how do I get the distance between the mains and the CG, this is the step (2) from the instructions. I have an Avanti S and the recomended CG is 250mm. From were to were do I have to take the measure to put in the CG meter?

Thanks
Osvaldo
osvaldopv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 08:33 AM
  #65
spike5150
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osvaldopv View Post
Can someone explain how do I get the distance between the mains and the CG, this is the step (2) from the instructions. I have an Avanti S and the recomended CG is 250mm. From were to were do I have to take the measure to put in the CG meter?

Thanks
Osvaldo
CG is usually referenced from leading edge wing root or some other reference point (not sure about your specific plane). So mark CG from that spot, then measure the distance from the mains to that CG mark and input that to CG meter. And if its not obvious, you need to measure distance from a spot that is perpendicular to an imaginary line between the two mains to the CG location (and the nose wheel, for that matter).
spike5150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:08 PM
  #66
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Easiest way is to use a plumb-bob or weighted pointer on a string and mark leading edge location on the floor and measure from there.
philjac94 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 04:37 PM
  #67
vquick
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 555
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I build this yesterday i will be using a plumb to align the plane cg to the wood and have the measure on the side to the center of the sensor I have a mark in the wood for my 0 point cg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150425_213056.jpg
Views:	246
Size:	1.70 MB
ID:	2092385   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150425_213115.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	1.80 MB
ID:	2092386  

Last edited by vquick; 04-26-2015 at 04:41 PM.
vquick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:27 PM
  #68
spike5150
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice vquick. I like it.
spike5150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:43 AM
  #69
EDFJim
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tp777fo View Post
Got mine. Going to take it to the jet events and have a sign. Will balance for beer.
OK for a beer is a great price to play with this 😀
EDFJim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:46 AM
  #70
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDFJim View Post
OK for a beer is a great price to play with this 
I will have mine at KY jets and if anyone would like to give it a whirl fill free to hit me up, no fee required but like I will never turn down a good old blue moon or shock top!

Got this thing for my F-14 and future builds, the F-14 is hard to do as are any of these larger jets.

Last edited by FenderBean; 04-27-2015 at 11:49 AM.
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 04:44 AM
  #71
drifter
 
drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinfool1 View Post
...

Is there an upgrade coming that will also check for lateral balance?
Wouldn't the difference in weight on the main wheels indicate if there were a lateral balance problem?

Last edited by drifter; 04-29-2015 at 04:48 AM.
drifter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:37 AM
  #72
spike5150
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Such a nice unit I thought it needed its own special case. Pelican model 1170.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150429_013057149_iOS.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	1.80 MB
ID:	2092984  
spike5150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 12:22 PM
  #73
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike5150 View Post
Such a nice unit I thought it needed its own special case. Pelican model 1170.
That's just the ticket for the balancer stuff. Thanks for the pic and including the case model number as there are not any Pelican dealers around here who seemed to have it, a few pistol cases but they were a lot more money than the 1170 I ordered online....
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:15 PM
  #74
mort78
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 165
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike5150 View Post
Such a nice unit I thought it needed its own special case. Pelican model 1170.

Yeah, thanks Spike. That's such an awesome case for it..... I had to order one for myself
mort78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 03:29 PM
  #75
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I was super surprised to get my unit today, when I ordered it three days ago it was listed as back ordered!!!! Can't wait to use it on my f-14!
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:40 AM.