Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Gear up on trottle

Old 07-27-2015, 08:58 AM
  #1  
rcpete347
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (251)
 
rcpete347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bolton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gear up on trottle

HI all, have you accidently hit the gear switch in the pits and dropped your jet, I guess everyone has done it at one time, so with my DX-18, I need info to set up the gear with throttle over 70 percent, in other words, I will use 2 switches to raise the gear only, gear switch and throttle .
Any info would help.
Rcpete
rcpete347 is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 10:33 AM
  #2  
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,620
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Try looking under switch assignment in the manual. In my airtronics radio they call it Boolean condition; or/and. Using Boolean Conditions OR/ANDSwitches can be made to operate interdependently using the Boolean conditions OR/AND. You can assign a function to two different switches and make them dependent on one another. For example, the SnapRoll function can be assigned to switch position 21 AND to switch position 24 (Gear). Doing this will allow the Snap Rollfunction to work ONLY when the landing gear is retracted. This makes the operation of the Snap Roll function dependent onthe landing gear being retracted. This would prevent a crash if you accidently hit the Snap Roll switch instead of the landinggear switch after takeoff.
raptureboy is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:07 AM
  #3  
megafly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sao PauloSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've done this this weekend now I have to change the hinges on the front gear door...
Can I do this in the JR 12x?
megafly is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:28 AM
  #4  
Couch Potato
Senior Member
 
Couch Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've put a 2-3 second delay on gear up.
Gives you a chance to put the switch back if you bump it by accident, and your jet won't belly flop.

Last edited by Couch Potato; 07-27-2015 at 11:45 AM.
Couch Potato is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:52 AM
  #5  
megafly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sao PauloSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Couch Potato View Post
I've put a 2-3 second delay on gear up.
Gives you a chance to put the switch back if you bump it by accident, and your jet won't belly flop.
Nice one! I will do that, thanks .
megafly is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 11:58 AM
  #6  
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,966
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

With other brand of Tx it's possible to use a speed sensor to trigger stuff. Ie, no speed gear out. Also a physical switch can be used just as the real jets have, so that the gear must be flexed out to retract.Don't know if Spektrum does that.
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 12:44 PM
  #7  
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have made that mistake a few times too often.
Now I have started to use the Mode switch on my DX18 to set 3 modes.

mode 1 is Ground, and the gear will not retract
Mode 2 is TOGAL (take off, go-around, land) and everything works
Mode 3 is cruise, and the flap will not come down.

I start up and taxi out in Mode 1, stop before entering runway, perform pre-takoff check (including gear selected down)
switch to Mode 2, enter runway and takeoff
after climb and cleanup I switch to Mode 3 for fast passes and aerobatics.
When it is time to land, back to mode 2
after clearing runway, back to mode 1

the throttle interlock could be a good idea too. I have not thought it all the way through yet.
alasdair is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 03:01 PM
  #8  
raron455
My Feedback: (38)
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 1,072
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have the 18 as well, the throttle toggle switch is quite long, i bumped mine putting the transmitter down in a chair in the pitts, my gear came up on my old elan, pissed me off, i immediately grabbed my dikes, and cut 1/2 the swich lever off,, probably one of the best mods ever for a radio. I have beeen flying with it like that for a while, no issue activating my gear, and no more bumping that long sumbtch just my 2 cents.

Last edited by raron455; 07-27-2015 at 03:05 PM.
raron455 is offline  
Old 07-27-2015, 04:13 PM
  #9  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 686
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Lmao!


I did did it on take off roll out...went to lower flaps one more notch and boom!!!! Had to replace hinges on flaps!!!!!!!


I heard pilot has a new electronic gear actuator and it alarms for 4 second before gear move.....hmmmmmmmm
Dblex is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 03:59 AM
  #10  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by raptureboy View Post
In my airtronics radio they call it Boolean condition; or/and. Using Boolean Conditions OR/ANDSwitches can be made to operate interdependently using the Boolean conditions OR/AND..
Or using a cheap arduino mini to recognize full throttle to arming the gear switch using (boolean in a loop) then sell the unit lol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehQ5g52-g_c

Last edited by basimpsn; 07-28-2015 at 04:08 AM.
basimpsn is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 06:01 AM
  #11  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,186
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OOPS Amazing he did not bend the props.

That 4 second alarm sounds like the best idea. If I ever spent the kind of money you guys do on jets or even giant scale gas I would look into thos. Hope it's loud enough to hear in the air when the gear goes down.
rgburrill is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 08:32 AM
  #12  
Gordon W
 
Gordon W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 644
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pete

It sounds as if you want to use your throttle stick as an "Analog Switch" in "System Setup"

Go to this page and ask your question there. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...pp=100&page=22

I'd love to know how analog switch works too.

Gordon
Gordon W is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 08:43 AM
  #13  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"OOPS Amazing he did not bend the props"

He did have a prop strike lol
basimpsn is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 08:54 AM
  #14  
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Been thinking about the 4 second delay on gear selection.
Not keen, as I did once have a flameout on my CARF Lightning. The deadstick approach went well, I just made it to the strip, but somebody yelled "put the wheels down" at the last second. I flicked the switch and done they came just in time.
Just seems unnatural to have a delay just in case of an inadvertant selection.

On the throttle interlock, again I have misgivings. We select full throttle to commence the autostart. Not a good time for a gear up misadventure.
And when applying full power on takeoff is the worst time for a belly-flop.
alasdair is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 09:49 AM
  #15  
Couch Potato
Senior Member
 
Couch Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Delay on gear up, no delay on gear down.
Couch Potato is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 09:57 AM
  #16  
megafly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sao PauloSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Couch Potato View Post
Delay on gear up, no delay on gear down.
Fixed my front gear door yesterday and programmed a 5s delay on gear up, It workd very nice
megafly is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 01:33 PM
  #17  
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Couch Potato View Post
Delay on gear up, no delay on gear down.
of course! very sensible. I hadn't thought of that.

I am still not convinced though. In full size flying the gear is selected up as soon as a positive climb is established. To mirror that I hit the gear up switch immediately after the model leaves the ground.

As well as scale fidelity, that ensures that not too much airspeed is gained before gear retraction. I have seen many cases where the gear goes up late, by which time airspeed has risen to such an extent that the gear will not go up, or it fouls on a gear door which has been partially closed by the high speed airflow, often exacerbated by a bit of sideways yaw in a turn, or a bit of rudder waggling.
alasdair is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 02:26 PM
  #18  
Countryboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.electrodynam.com/rc/EDR-126/index.shtml.
Works great.
Countryboy is offline  
Old 07-28-2015, 03:11 PM
  #19  
Vincent
My Feedback: (61)
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona / Colorado
Posts: 4,842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Countryboy View Post
This unit is for turning on the tx with the retrac switch in the up position. What's happening here is simply just bumping into the retract switch during normal handling of the radio. I like the idea of a beeper going off when the switch is activated.
Vin...
Vincent is offline  
Old 07-30-2015, 05:46 PM
  #20  
Countryboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
This unit is for turning on the tx with the retrac switch in the up position. What's happening here is simply just bumping into the retract switch during normal handling of the radio. I like the idea of a beeper going off when the switch is activated.
Vin...
True Vincent. Seems the logical solution would be to have some kind of squat switch if the weight is enough to compress the gear.
Countryboy is offline  
Old 07-31-2015, 03:07 AM
  #21  
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The electronic box is a neat idea, but as Vincent says it offers protection on switch-on only, not subsequent accidental bumps.

The weight-on switch mimics full size protection somewhat, but on a bumpy grass runway the gear could retract after hitting a bump.

What about a climb sensor that inhibits gear up selection until a sensor observes a climb of 3 feet or 5 feet. Are they that sensitive and reliable? I really want the gear up that quickly after takeoff.
alasdair is offline  
Old 07-31-2015, 07:40 AM
  #22  
Turbotronic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by alasdair View Post
The electronic box is a neat idea, but as Vincent says it offers protection on switch-on only, not subsequent accidental bumps.

The weight-on switch mimics full size protection somewhat, but on a bumpy grass runway the gear could retract after hitting a bump.

What about a climb sensor that inhibits gear up selection until a sensor observes a climb of 3 feet or 5 feet. Are they that sensitive and reliable? I really want the gear up that quickly after takeoff.

An ultrasonic distance sensor could do the trick. Cheap and simple.
Turbotronic is offline  
Old 07-31-2015, 02:03 PM
  #23  
Boomerang1
 
Boomerang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

i immediately grabbed my dikes, and cut 1/2 the swich lever off,, probably one of the best mods ever for a radio
I have actually extended my flap & retract switches to make them easier to find without looking at the transmitter.

I don't fly a DX18 but is there another unused toggle switch you can program as an arming switch for the retracts which over rides
the main switch? - John.
Boomerang1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.