RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti DS-24

Reply

Old 12-05-2018, 08:06 AM
  #1126  
Edgar Perez
My Feedback: (13)
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
What is that you don't trust about the CBM200 with its current firmware? Is there any estimate on when this new firmware will be available? Is anyone flying a CBM200 with 2 x R3 + 900 MHz, if so is there anything I need to watch for?

Thanks -Tom
actually trust may not be the right word.
The are earlier posts on this thread about the way CB200 will still use Rx #1 even when there is significant interference and Rx #2 signal is good.
In my opinion this significantly reduce the value of using the CB200 versus other options.
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 08:08 AM
  #1127  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Edgar Perez View Post

actually trust may not be the right word.
The are earlier posts on this thread about the way CB200 will still use Rx #1 even when there is significant interference and Rx #2 signal is good.
In my opinion this significantly reduce the value of using the CB200 versus other options.
Well its your opinion.....mine is the CB200 is perfectly fine....never had problems since 2013......flowns in 3D and jets....
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 12:03 PM
  #1128  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I read those posts about the receiver priority and the CB200, I think it was around post #395. After considering all of the information I'm thinking the best option for "triple" redundancy using a CB200 would be to use a REX receiver for one input into the CB200 (Rx1), then plug an R3 into the REX receiver for redundant 2.4, then plug a 900mhz receiver into the Rx2 port of the CB200. Someone else on this thread has mentioned this option as well. The idea here is that the 2 x 2.4 receivers presumably switch back and forth better depending on which has the better signal(?), while the 900 MHz receiver will only take over if both 2.4 receivers fail. What I don't know with this setup is what happens to telemetry? Can I still get telemetry on all three receivers? Also, if I want to include a Cortex Pro in the mix what does that involve? Thanks for the help. - Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 12:37 PM
  #1129  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
I read those posts about the receiver priority and the CB200, I think it was around post #395. After considering all of the information I'm thinking the best option for "triple" redundancy using a CB200 would be to use a REX receiver for one input into the CB200 (Rx1), then plug an R3 into the REX receiver for redundant 2.4, then plug a 900mhz receiver into the Rx2 port of the CB200. Someone else on this thread has mentioned this option as well. The idea here is that the 2 x 2.4 receivers presumably switch back and forth better depending on which has the better signal(?), while the 900 MHz receiver will only take over if both 2.4 receivers fail. What I don't know with this setup is what happens to telemetry? Can I still get telemetry on all three receivers? Also, if I want to include a Cortex Pro in the mix what does that involve? Thanks for the help. - Tom
At the time it seemed as if the regular receivers made better use of the secondary receiver but after some testing by a regular poster over on RCG it turns out the regular receivers behave in a very similar fashion to the cb200 in this regard. I've heard that a new firmware for the cb200 is expected that will improve this situation but I'm not sure when or if that will actually happen. Even as it is, while not ideal, it's not the end of the world either.
wfield0455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 01:49 PM
  #1130  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
I read those posts about the receiver priority and the CB200, I think it was around post #395. After considering all of the information I'm thinking the best option for "triple" redundancy using a CB200 would be to use a REX receiver for one input into the CB200 (Rx1), then plug an R3 into the REX receiver for redundant 2.4, then plug a 900mhz receiver into the Rx2 port of the CB200. Someone else on this thread has mentioned this option as well. The idea here is that the 2 x 2.4 receivers presumably switch back and forth better depending on which has the better signal(?), while the 900 MHz receiver will only take over if both 2.4 receivers fail. What I don't know with this setup is what happens to telemetry? Can I still get telemetry on all three receivers? Also, if I want to include a Cortex Pro in the mix what does that involve? Thanks for the help. - Tom
I used the Cortex pro before and will again next season.....work fine.

telemetry will work the same with or without the Cortex....and 3 RXs you just got more that you can select like the 900 voltage, signal ect....
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:58 AM
  #1131  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by wfield0455 View Post
At the time it seemed as if the regular receivers made better use of the secondary receiver but after some testing by a regular poster over on RCG it turns out the regular receivers behave in a very similar fashion to the cb200 in this regard. I've heard that a new firmware for the cb200 is expected that will improve this situation but I'm not sure when or if that will actually happen. Even as it is, while not ideal, it's not the end of the world either.
Sounds like I just need to pick a configuration and go with it
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 09:55 AM
  #1132  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I put a CB200 setup in one of my planes early this year and have been flying it with no perceived issues either while flying or viewing the telemetry. The CB200 as well as the standard receivers have been this way the whole time with very few issues as I understand it. It demonstrates that the backup receivers may not be as necessary as we all think they are. Obviously they aren’t or planes would be falling out of the sky. My current build i had planned a REX12A with a R3 as a second RX. But now I’m wondering if I even bother with the R3. I already have another R3 acting as a remote switch for the DSM10. . Maybe I just go with the REX12A and the R3 as the switch and call it good.

Don’t get me wrong when the firmware update or the new CB2XX comes out I’ll be looking to to update... but really, at least in my flying environment/installations the second RX doesn’t appear necessary.

Last edited by camss69; 12-06-2018 at 09:58 AM.
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:50 AM
  #1133  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,528
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have done like this

rex3-20 clone mode into port a cortex
rex3-20 default mode into port b cortex (port b has telemetric)
cortex port 6 to rx1 on cb200
rex900 on rx2 on cb200

digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 10:43 AM
  #1134  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

New Jeti Ditex TD 0606M & TD 0806MD servos just showed up. This finally completes the whole line of Ditex servos.

Zb/Jeti USA
ZB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 01:18 PM
  #1135  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ZB View Post
New Jeti Ditex TD 0606M & TD 0806MD servos just showed up. This finally completes the whole line of Ditex servos.

Zb/Jeti USA
Any specs on these?
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 08:55 AM
  #1137  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Look what is coming as Xmas gift from Jeti, new Central Box 200 for 3x Receiver connection.

Zb/Jeti USA
ZB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:32 AM
  #1138  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ZB View Post
Look what is coming as Xmas gift from Jeti, new Central Box 200 for 3x Receiver connection.

Zb/Jeti USA
Is this a firmware update or new hardware? I hope it’s just firmware because I just bought 2 CB200 units in the past couple of weeks!

Last edited by Tip22v; 12-13-2018 at 10:43 AM.
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 11:34 AM
  #1139  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post

Is this a firmware update or new hardware? I hope its just firmware because I just bought 2 CB200 units in the past couple of weeks!
FW update for existing CB200s.

Danny
F1 Rocket is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 12:01 PM
  #1140  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is it already available on Jeti Studio?

Are there release notes someone can post?
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 01:44 PM
  #1141  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by F1 Rocket View Post


FW update for existing CB200s.

Danny
Thanks Danny! -Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 11:46 PM
  #1142  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,012
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by F1 Rocket View Post


FW update for existing CB200’s.

Danny
Will this change how a Cortex can be hooked up?
causeitflies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 04:04 PM
  #1143  
FlorianDo
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Question Snow for Christmas ?

Just saw this on my DS24 before switching on, didnt touch it for about 2 months.

Is this a christmas easteregg?

Edit: Seems that there are other things like these, depending on the date in the transmitter :-)


Last edited by FlorianDo; 12-15-2018 at 04:15 PM.
FlorianDo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 04:18 PM
  #1144  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I also have it on my DS-16
tp777fo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 04:58 PM
  #1145  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (19)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Lol, got it on my -24 also. I thought it was a touch of class!
Gary
Viper1GJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 05:54 PM
  #1146  
warbird_1
My Feedback: (61)
 
warbird_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perry,NY
Posts: 2,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don't see a need for these eye candy trinkets. I'd like to turn them off. What's next,rainbows on rainy days
warbird_1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 05:00 AM
  #1147  
ltc
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 979
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by warbird_1 View Post
I don't see a need for these eye candy trinkets. I'd like to turn them off. What's next,rainbows on rainy days
Dont forget about the unicorns ... spoiler alert
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 06:11 AM
  #1148  
Custmachr
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Randleman, NC
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The snowflakes have been there this time of year for at least two maybe three years now.
Custmachr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 06:15 AM
  #1149  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Been there since the very beginning for all of December......enjoy.

To turn it off, just turn the TX OFF........LOL
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 07:36 AM
  #1150  
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Its been there for a few years, but obviously it does not reflect an Australian Xmas Summer
philjac94 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service