Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti DS-24

Old 11-01-2019, 08:41 AM
  #1401  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Few Pictures of Jeti Central Box 210 and 220, you can check the pdf. for details.
Main difference is CB210 no poly-fuses, CB220 11 Standard + 4 HD servo protection.
Prices very similar, CB220 should be only $20.00 more expensive than CB210

Zb/Jeti USA




Last edited by ZB; 11-01-2019 at 08:45 AM.
ZB is offline  
Old 11-01-2019, 09:00 AM
  #1402  
roydefiant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN,
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks like input voltage and output voltage are the same in CB220. No voltage regulator like CB400
roydefiant is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 11:05 AM
  #1403  
AngusMc
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fernie, BC CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cb200

Is the CB 200 going to be discontinued? Any issues with the 200,? Iím reading bits of information about the fuses?

thanks

Am

Last edited by AngusMc; 11-02-2019 at 11:10 AM.
AngusMc is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 11:25 AM
  #1404  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AngusMc View Post
Is the CB 200 going to be discontinued? Any issues with the 200,? Iím reading bits of information about the fuses?

thanks

Am
What I read before the answer is no, just the lower model plastic case versus those fancy aluminum one....I have several in my jets...they work great.
Dansy is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 09:17 PM
  #1405  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The CB200 is a good product, I have several of them in service.

The only thing to consider is the fact that the CB200 uses polyfuses on the servo power outputs. These are similar to physical fuses in that they open when too much current is passed through them, but unlike physical fuses, they close again when they recover. They are tripped by heating, and once open, the source of heating stops and they re-close. If you are curious, see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resettable_fuse

The idea is that a shorted servo does not take down the power supply to the entire aircraft, a laudable goal. The issue is that with very large jets or large 3D aerobatic airplanes, the approx 4A trip points of the polyfuses could be hit in extreme flight operations (e.g. flaps full on large jet at too high a speed, huge aileron or elevator deflections in 3D birds).

I've made measurements on the CB200's polyfuses and find that they take a current a little beyond 4A applied for 10s of seconds before they open. You can get close to this on the flaps for example on an Ultra Bandit with full flaps put down at a little too high a speed .. I've got the measurements for this (!) .. and they polyfuses did not pop. But if they had it is likely on flap would "pop" before the other which could be a problem...

So I think it's safe to say that for most of us, this is not likely a concern .. just something to be aware of. I first noticed this when Jeti published update notes on the CB 200 that suggested it would be appropriate to parallel the power and ground (NOT the signal!) wires from two outputs of the CB200 for possible high-draw situations.

I really appreciate Jeti making us aware of this in the release notes and applaud them for giving us a choice in the new central box.

For my larger planes, I use a CB400 but don't use its servo power outputs (red and black wires to servos) for possible high-draw surfaces directly .. I supply power from another source (e.g. the BEC on the CB400) to avoid this risk.

As you have seen, Jeti will have an option for polyfuses or not on the new CB which is really great .. then we can make a choice based on the requirements of a particular install.

Dave
ww2birds is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 12:27 AM
  #1406  
AngusMc
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fernie, BC CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ww2birds View Post
The CB200 is a good product, I have several of them in service.

The only thing to consider is the fact that the CB200 uses polyfuses on the servo power outputs. These are similar to physical fuses in that they open when too much current is passed through them, but unlike physical fuses, they close again when they recover. They are tripped by heating, and once open, the source of heating stops and they re-close. If you are curious, see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resettable_fuse

The idea is that a shorted servo does not take down the power supply to the entire aircraft, a laudable goal. The issue is that with very large jets or large 3D aerobatic airplanes, the approx 4A trip points of the polyfuses could be hit in extreme flight operations (e.g. flaps full on large jet at too high a speed, huge aileron or elevator deflections in 3D birds).

I've made measurements on the CB200's polyfuses and find that they take a current a little beyond 4A applied for 10s of seconds before they open. You can get close to this on the flaps for example on an Ultra Bandit with full flaps put down at a little too high a speed .. I've got the measurements for this (!) .. and they polyfuses did not pop. But if they had it is likely on flap would "pop" before the other which could be a problem...

So I think it's safe to say that for most of us, this is not likely a concern .. just something to be aware of. I first noticed this when Jeti published update notes on the CB 200 that suggested it would be appropriate to parallel the power and ground (NOT the signal!) wires from two outputs of the CB200 for possible high-draw situations.

I really appreciate Jeti making us aware of this in the release notes and applaud them for giving us a choice in the new central box.

For my larger planes, I use a CB400 but don't use its servo power outputs (red and black wires to servos) for possible high-draw surfaces directly .. I supply power from another source (e.g. the BEC on the CB400) to avoid this risk.

As you have seen, Jeti will have an option for polyfuses or not on the new CB which is really great .. then we can make a choice based on the requirements of a particular install.

Dave
Thanks Dave, exactly the information I was looking for, building a Havoc SS and had a concern with the flaps, might wait for the new central box just to be safe.

thanks

Angus
AngusMc is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 02:31 AM
  #1407  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ww2birds View Post
The CB200 is a good product, I have several of them in service.

The only thing to consider is the fact that the CB200 uses polyfuses on the servo power outputs. These are similar to physical fuses in that they open when too much current is passed through them, but unlike physical fuses, they close again when they recover. They are tripped by heating, and once open, the source of heating stops and they re-close. If you are curious, see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resettable_fuse

The idea is that a shorted servo does not take down the power supply to the entire aircraft, a laudable goal. The issue is that with very large jets or large 3D aerobatic airplanes, the approx 4A trip points of the polyfuses could be hit in extreme flight operations (e.g. flaps full on large jet at too high a speed, huge aileron or elevator deflections in 3D birds).

I've made measurements on the CB200's polyfuses and find that they take a current a little beyond 4A applied for 10s of seconds before they open. You can get close to this on the flaps for example on an Ultra Bandit with full flaps put down at a little too high a speed .. I've got the measurements for this (!) .. and they polyfuses did not pop. But if they had it is likely on flap would "pop" before the other which could be a problem...

So I think it's safe to say that for most of us, this is not likely a concern .. just something to be aware of. I first noticed this when Jeti published update notes on the CB 200 that suggested it would be appropriate to parallel the power and ground (NOT the signal!) wires from two outputs of the CB200 for possible high-draw situations.

I really appreciate Jeti making us aware of this in the release notes and applaud them for giving us a choice in the new central box.

For my larger planes, I use a CB400 but don't use its servo power outputs (red and black wires to servos) for possible high-draw surfaces directly .. I supply power from another source (e.g. the BEC on the CB400) to avoid this risk.

As you have seen, Jeti will have an option for polyfuses or not on the new CB which is really great .. then we can make a choice based on the requirements of a particular install.

Dave
Hi,
Thank you Dave for your interesting contribution.
So, I guess that the new CB210 has no polyfuses, so it has no overload protection in case of stuck servo or elec short ?
Arnaud
Looping31 is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 03:24 AM
  #1408  
bem
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I can see on Hacker Motor GmbH Facebook that it is a new Jeti DC-16 (color display, backup 900 MHz etc) coming (in January 2020), that is shown this weekend (Nov 1-3) at Faszination Modellbau in Friedrichshafen, Germany. If and when it will be in US I'm sure Zb/Jeti USA can tell.
Some info already at "jetiforum", some person that visited
Faszination Modellbau and have seen the "new" radio posted here:
https://jetiforum.de/index.php/4-jet...042-neue-dc-16
(change language with the flags in upper right corner)

/Bo

Last edited by bem; 11-03-2019 at 03:55 AM.
bem is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 11:02 AM
  #1409  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AngusMc View Post


Thanks Dave, exactly the information I was looking for, building a Havoc SS and had a concern with the flaps, might wait for the new central box just to be safe.

thanks

Angus
Will be building an SS as well soon....and I will be using a CB200, they never let me down and I have never trip any poly fuse....only a bad setup could do that....using the MKS380 on the flaps and Rudder....MKS599 for ailerons and elevator with a MKS 550 on steering...if out I might do a 220...just because itís pretty.....but the 200 will work just fine as itís working in all my jets
Dansy is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 03:36 PM
  #1410  
AngusMc
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fernie, BC CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
Will be building an SS as well soon....and I will be using a CB200, they never let me down and I have never trip any poly fuse....only a bad setup could do that....using the MKS380 on the flaps and Rudder....MKS599 for ailerons and elevator with a MKS 550 on steering...if out I might do a 220...just because itís pretty.....but the 200 will work just fine as itís working in all my jets
Picking up the Havoc ss in a few days itís at the post office, plan was ( have everything) CB 200, cortex pro, MKS9930 all around. Still debating on engine. Might just go with what I have,

am
AngusMc is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 05:05 PM
  #1411  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AngusMc View Post


Picking up the Havoc ss in a few days itís at the post office, plan was ( have everything) CB 200, cortex pro, MKS9930 all around. Still debating on engine. Might just go with what I have,

am
Cortex Pro as well....and K210 G2
Dansy is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 05:39 PM
  #1412  
jsnipes
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: McBee, SC
Posts: 873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Excellent choice all the way around! I have 9930ís in my large Havoc and really like them. All control surfaces except flaps, where I have HBL599ís. Noticeably smoother than 777A+ís that Iíve used in the past before learning about the 9930ís. CB200 and Cortex Pro. Great setup!

Be sure to use high quality wire such as PowerBox Maxi Wire.

JS

Originally Posted by AngusMc View Post


Picking up the Havoc ss in a few days itís at the post office, plan was ( have everything) CB 200, cortex pro, MKS9930 all around. Still debating on engine. Might just go with what I have,

am
jsnipes is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 06:12 PM
  #1413  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've used the CB200 on an ultra bandit with a merlin 200XBL, and a large (not the new giant one..) skymaster Viperjet with the same 200 merlin .. no probs on either. over many many flights I think the Havoc SS would be just fine with the CB200. The big havoc I'd give some more thought.

Yes a bad setup (poor mech advantage) could create a problem .. but hey .. we have telemetry on the Jetis .. just look at the total current draw in some of your flights and decide for yourself .. even if not monitoring individual servos, you can see the current draw from flaps going down. I have a verbal warning when either battery current from the CBs goes over 4A total .. and I get it now and then .. but this is over all surfaces ... not that any one of them is over 4A.

And I really like the fact that Jeti is giving us a choice .. to have polyfuses or not .. the new one with polyfuses says it has some outputs for high current and some for normal. Kudos to Jeti ... we can pick what we need for a given install.

Dave
ww2birds is offline  
Old 11-04-2019, 06:17 AM
  #1414  
jsnipes
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: McBee, SC
Posts: 873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Iíve had no issues at all on a T-3 and my current large Havoc. Flaps are setup so that servo arm is pointed straight at flap when at full flaps. You can put pressure on the flaps with your hand to simulate wind and there are no servo amps drawn ... mechanically locked. Itís also important to ensure you are not pulling amps when flaps are up.

I keep a close eye on my amp usage and itís all good. Love the data logging capability of Jeti!

I would not want to have a setup where youíre relying on the servo power to hold full flaps.

JS

Originally Posted by ww2birds View Post
I've used the CB200 on an ultra bandit with a merlin 200XBL, and a large (not the new giant one..) skymaster Viperjet with the same 200 merlin .. no probs on either. over many many flights I think the Havoc SS would be just fine with the CB200. The big havoc I'd give some more thought.

Yes a bad setup (poor mech advantage) could create a problem .. but hey .. we have telemetry on the Jetis .. just look at the total current draw in some of your flights and decide for yourself .. even if not monitoring individual servos, you can see the current draw from flaps going down. I have a verbal warning when either battery current from the CBs goes over 4A total .. and I get it now and then .. but this is over all surfaces ... not that any one of them is over 4A.

And I really like the fact that Jeti is giving us a choice .. to have polyfuses or not .. the new one with polyfuses says it has some outputs for high current and some for normal. Kudos to Jeti ... we can pick what we need for a given install.

Dave
jsnipes is offline  
Old 11-04-2019, 01:28 PM
  #1415  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quite right .. good practice to use mechanics to your advantage on flaps. But even if they are "locked" at full, they spend some time at partial, and some time moving toward full...

Glad to hear it's good on the big Havoc with a proper setup.
ww2birds is offline  
Old 11-05-2019, 10:07 AM
  #1416  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 793
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Has anyone seen this error? I've tried re-seating the cable that connects the switches/levers on the back panel but I keep getting this error pretty frequently. If I click on OK my switches SA and SB don't work, which control my Retracts and Flaps. This issue has been on-going since I got my DS-24 about a year ago, but it has recently started happening much more frequently and it's also becoming more and more difficult to resolve. E.g. this past Sunday at the field it took me 15 minutes of turning it on and off to get it recognize the switches and operate correctly, needless to say after all that I decided it was not safe to fly until I got this sorted out. I'm really interested in pre-ordering a DS-12 for my Helicopters but this issue is making me think I might be better off just keeping my DX-18. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks. - Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Old 11-05-2019, 10:15 AM
  #1417  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Give James call, this might be something defective on the t-board. 1 321 729 4287

Zb/Jeti USA
ZB is offline  
Old 11-05-2019, 11:20 AM
  #1418  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 793
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ZB View Post
Give James call, this might be something defective on the t-board. 1 321 729 4287

Zb/Jeti USA
Thanks, I'll give him a call. -Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 05:46 PM
  #1419  
ravill
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

And please let us know the resolution
ravill is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 06:33 AM
  #1420  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 793
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Talked with James on the phone, after describing the issue he suggested I send it to him, so I mailed it out yesterday. He did say that he has never seen this type of error but feels like it might be a bad switch on the back panel. Fingers crossed itís something simple.
Tip22v is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 08:08 AM
  #1421  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

As some of you might know there will be Gen 2 of Jeti DC-16 Radio System coming up early next year, and we know that market for tray style radios in North/South Americas is very small. Would be even anybody interested in this kind of product?

Zb/Jeti USA




Click image for larger version

Name:	DC-16-Gen2-2.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	302.8 KB
ID:	2265688
Click image for larger version

Name:	DC-16-G2-3-2.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	2265689
Click image for larger version

Name:	DC-16-G2-4-2.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	201.4 KB
ID:	2265690
Click image for larger version

Name:	NEWS-DC-16-II_Page_2-Copy-861x1024.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	193.9 KB
ID:	2265691
ZB is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 08:35 AM
  #1422  
RickP
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 1,956
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[QUOTE=ZB;12562036]As some of you might know there will be Gen 2 of Jeti DC-16 Radio System coming up early next year, and we know that market for tray style radios in North/South Americas is very small. Would be even anybody interested in this kind of product?

Zb/Jeti USA

I already have a DC-24. I won't be buying another one any time soon. I'm the only one around here flying with a tray....
RP
RickP is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 12:20 PM
  #1423  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don’t see myself downgrading to another DC16...while I have my DC-24...
Dansy is offline  
Old 11-08-2019, 03:39 AM
  #1424  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

DS16 G2 would be of interest to me.
Bob_B is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:49 PM
  #1425  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I know it will never happen but a DS16 to DS16G2 upgrade service would interest me.
camss69 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.