Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New to RC turbine jets

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New to RC turbine jets

Old 01-12-2016, 04:56 PM
JSchram

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC turbine jets

I've been flying EDF foamies for a couple years now and am very comfortable doing it. I'm in aw of the turbine engines and would like to get my feet wet. What would you suggest as a starting point for this? Anyone know of anyone in Illinois to teach or mentor?

Thanks!
Old 01-12-2016, 05:53 PM
Desertlakesflying
My Feedback: (28)

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts

Hold on tight for the flaming that is coming. I would suggest finding a turbine trainer model and some people with experience until you get the hang of the processes it takes to work with a turbine. I'm sure there will be many who don't want to give that friendly of advice.
Old 01-12-2016, 07:08 PM
dionysusbacchus
My Feedback: (25)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You need to be more specific about your location, if you are a secret agent under cover you could use the AMA turbine waiver list to see if anyone is close to your area. My advice is to do your homework and look around at the different turbine manufacturers, for a beginner I recommend you stay away from used stuff. It is a big blow to a new person to have to buy something twice when you are just starting out. Get a new turbine in a size that fits the air frame sizes you are interested in and that fits your budget, if you have one. I recommend you start with some kind of turbine trainer, I know some started with a twin A-10 but I still say get a trainer until you become familiar with the operation of turbines and you are comfortable. Good luck!

Luke
Old 01-12-2016, 08:00 PM
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Luke...

I am your Father.....