RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New Kingtech ECU Soon to be released!!!

Reply
Old 05-11-2016, 03:51 AM
  #26
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by more View Post
Have kingtech developed "Bus" system for the new ECU? The single wire installation will help to make clean installation.
I have not seen the wire harness yet but since its backwards compatible I would doubt its a single wire harness. It does have fool proof connections now.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:46 AM
  #27
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
Here's hoping for backward compatibility.....
Yes it is Zeeb, but a new set of cable is required, since the receptacles on the ECU are keyed, goof-proof.

Regards,
Barry
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:51 AM
  #28
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
So this is a ecu with display so you don't have to plug in your hand held?
The touch screen is the GSU. The ECU is a separate unit.

Barry
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:57 AM
  #29
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LA jetguy View Post
Great news Barry.... I like it ... will the current Xicoy telemetry work on the new ECU or you will have new telemetry sensor....

David..
Yes, our system will require a new sensor for telemetry.
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:14 AM
  #30
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
On the "re-start" how does it gauge whether there has been a fuel leak that stopped the turbine, before it restarts the fuel pump and sprays fuel over a potentially hot engine with no way of monitoring it (with eyes on the ground) I know this has been shown on a couple of engines, I personally think its one of those crazy potentially dangerous 'beer - bottle of wine' thought ideas. I guess I'd need to know more info.
There are so many reasons why a turbine might stop and people flying around with a mind-set that the turbine will restart and save the day, just sounds like a guaranteed crash because it doesn't!
Without knowing the software I guess its safely linked to rpm (so if the turbine seizes, it won't try to restart)??

Way too many 'what ifs' for me!
The restart will only progress given appropriate data, ie. delta in EGT and RPM. It will also time itself off within seconds depends on the model of engine.

I think this trendy restart feature will only be effective in saving a very few flame outs, such as good plumbing, with a bubble lodged and then released, typically happens in a new jet, or a remaiden. The restart is obviously not a substitute of sorting out fuel delivery problem.

Barry
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:16 AM
  #31
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henke Torphammar View Post
I agree and I left that feedback on Facebook too. As it sounds now, if the engine seizes you will still be able to control the flame thrower. They would need a way to figure out a sensor failure from a real mechanical failure.

I do welcome new technology though.
Engine seize - no RPM, no restart, no flame throwing!
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:19 AM
  #32
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick15 View Post
Will it have cool down with the receiver off?
Sorry, this won't happen with our v.1

Last edited by marquisvns; 05-11-2016 at 10:24 PM. Reason: correction
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:25 AM
  #33
marquisvns
 
marquisvns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,711
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you all very much for looking into our new development as well as your comments and suggestions. More of that are greatly appreciated and encouraged, as we may still be able to implement into our new system.

Meanwhile, we like to thank Gaspar for his support and supply of Xicoy system which had been most reliable and effective for the past seven years of our productions. I believe we will still be using Xicoy for a certain models of our engines.

Regards,
Barry
marquisvns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:48 AM
  #34
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marquisvns View Post
Yes it is Zeeb, but a new set of cable is required, since the receptacles on the ECU are keyed, goof-proof.

Regards,
Barry

Excellent! Thanks for the update/questions answered.
Zeeb is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 06:57 AM
  #35
kevinthoele
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How about use in the twin configuration?
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 07:21 AM
  #36
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The restart will only progress given appropriate data, ie. delta in EGT and RPM. It will also time itself off within seconds depends on the model of engine.

I think this trendy restart feature will only be effective in saving a very few flame outs, such as good plumbing, with a bubble lodged and then released, typically happens in a new jet, or a remaiden. The restart is obviously not a substitute of sorting out fuel delivery problem.

Barry

Thanks for the answer

Dave
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 12:24 PM
  #37
luge_racer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 169
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

One of the reasons why I got the FC1 for the Xicoy ECUs on my engines was that it came with an integrated airspeed indicator (less pitot tube). Will the new Kingtech ECU/telemetry have the same function?
luge_racer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:00 PM
  #38
ravill
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 4,246
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

When (God, allah, buddha, Tom Cruise, etc.. NOT willing) your jet goes down, it has to be procedure to turn your engine off.

As a matter of fact, once your jet is deemed non-recoverable, the engine should be shut down so as to minimize fire danger anyways.

Barry, this sounds really exciting!
ravill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:21 PM
  #39
leelee
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Great news. Never had a flame out with my 180 but I think it would be well worth the upgrade. Awesome job KingTech.
leelee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 04:54 AM
  #40
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marquisvns View Post
Engine seize - no RPM, no restart, no flame throwing!
Not a restart but it would try to keep the engine going? I'ts important to catch all these things without being irritated at us pointing at them.

I welcome technology, but some of the new tech needs tweaking and input.
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 04:57 AM
  #41
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marquisvns View Post
Thank you all very much for looking into our new development as well as your comments and suggestions. More of that are greatly appreciated and encouraged, as we may still be able to implement into our new system.

Regards,
Barry
Ah here it is, what I was talking about above
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 12:55 PM
  #42
Westwindpilot86
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Barry, when will these ECU`s be going into the engine boxes? Obviously there are engines still at kingtech that are new but have the older ecu`s, when will the new ecu`s be put into the boxes for shipping?

Steven
Westwindpilot86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 01:05 PM
  #43
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westwindpilot86 View Post
Barry, when will these ECU`s be going into the engine boxes? Obviously there are engines still at kingtech that are new but have the older ecu`s, when will the new ecu`s be put into the boxes for shipping?

Steven
Don't know the exact date but its for sure after Kentucky jets. We are hoping to have a demo unit to display at Kentucky.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 05:28 PM
  #44
more
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chiangmai, THAILAND
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I prefer Bus-system than backwards compatible.The new ECU is just like a minor change in old technology while others jet manufacturers have changed to Bus-system and brushless motor.
more is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 07:14 PM
  #45
Desertlakesflying
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well I have been trying to decide between the Jetcat and Kingtech and this will make up my mind. I was looking to get my brand new (now) K-140 in the next couple weeks, but I can hold off for this.
Desertlakesflying is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 08:45 PM
  #46
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 476
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Will the restart system work on all turbinesizes, or only on the small high rpm turbines?
Bob Toilet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 01:38 AM
  #47
mauryr
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's a video of a test flight by a friend of mine in Taiwan

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/vid...xt=0&width=560
mauryr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 02:12 AM
  #48
EDFJim
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very cool !
EDFJim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 04:01 AM
  #49
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,688
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice!
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 03:53 AM
  #50
RAPPTOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 1,474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave wilshere View Post
on the "re-start" how does it gauge whether there has been a fuel leak that stopped the turbine, before it restarts the fuel pump and sprays fuel over a potentially hot engine with no way of monitoring it (with eyes on the ground) i know this has been shown on a couple of engines, i personally think its one of those crazy potentially dangerous 'beer - bottle of wine' thought ideas. I guess i'd need to know more info.
There are so many reasons why a turbine might stop and people flying around with a mind-set that the turbine will restart and save the day, just sounds like a guaranteed crash because it doesn't!
Without knowing the software i guess its safely linked to rpm (so if the turbine seizes, it won't try to restart)??

Way too many 'what ifs' for me!
safer than-- the "c/g machine ""
RAPPTOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:04 PM.