RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New Kingtech ECU Soon to be released!!!

Reply
Old 05-10-2016, 12:58 PM
  #1
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Cool New Kingtech ECU Soon to be released!!!

As some of you have herd from Facebook a new Kingtech ECU is soon to be released. We are very excited about this one because of all the advanced features it has.

Some of the new features are
>Auto restart encase of air bubble.
>Glider mode so you can shut off the engine and restart the engine in flight. (with Xicoy this was not possible without a power cycle)
>A pump prime mode during start to ensure positive fuel flow for ignition.
>ECU learns as you fly so if for instance you have a temperature probe fail in flight the engine will not shut down but will continue to run up to 80% power so you can make it back and land safely with out a dead stick landing. This will also continue to work if you have a failed RPM sensor and will get you home. After landing and shutting engine off it will let you know of the error.
>One of the BIG things is new wire harness. The new harness is much easier to install and fool proof so no more trouble shooting a plug installed the wrong way.
>Should be backwards compatible with existing Kingtech engines. Stay tuned for more info on this.
>working on telemetry and spektrum should be ready before release.
>Barry himself has a very hand in the development of the ECU so its got allot of design from a real world pilot not some engineer who does not fly. Since Barry deals with most of the service calls he knows what works and does not work. So one of his goals on this new ECU was to eliminate all the common set up errors we got with the old ECU.
>Records all flight data and its very easy to access errors after your flight if there are any for further trouble shooting.

Keep in mind this is still in development so some things may change. We hope to be able to demo this unit at Kentucky jets if possible not sure if it will be done in time. Production soon after. No clue on cost yet.

With this new ECU it opens up allot of new possibilities. Some of the stuff being worked on is a hub that will make it bluetooth compatible so you can make adjustments and send data files to kingtech in case of trouble shooting problems. Also Kingtech will be able to set up engines based on the GPS data location where in certain regions like in the mountains or extremely humid or cold areas they can custom set up the engine parameters. Again this part is looking into the future but all great possibilities.

I am sure Barry will chime in. He knows this unit inside and out.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 01:00 PM
  #2
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

here is a video of the new ECU in action. First video is the new auto start feature. As you can see its very fast. When you hear the engine spool down that is the fuel supply getting shut off simulating a large air bubble.


Last edited by gunradd; 05-10-2016 at 01:06 PM.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 01:01 PM
  #3
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This video shows the engine running with a temp probe error and also an RPM error. Notice the engine does not shut off. Just runs up to 80% power.

gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 01:04 PM
  #4
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will do my best to answers any questions but Barry is the one that has all the details. He has put allot of work into this new ECU and we will all benefit from his hard work.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 01:21 PM
  #5
ravill
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 4,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bad Friggin Arse. Holy moly that has huge potential!! Great job gentlemen!
ravill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 01:44 PM
  #6
jsnipes
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: McBee, SC
Posts: 716
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice!! JS
jsnipes is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 03:01 PM
  #7
stevekott
 
stevekott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: yorba linda, CA
Posts: 589
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think I'm in love
stevekott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 03:03 PM
  #8
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's hoping for backward compatibility.....
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 03:06 PM
  #9
skymaster68
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 185
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wow !!!
skymaster68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:01 PM
  #10
Hinckley Bill
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Illinos
Posts: 665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Any idea if the new ECU will be backward compatible, as it really looks like yet another great item from Kingtech?
Hinckley Bill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:09 PM
  #11
JoeJr1485
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Will this work with current owners of Kingtech turbines? I really want to get one. I need it for my next toy. I wonder if I can still you can still use the Xicoy telemetry on this for Jeti users?

Last edited by JoeJr1485; 05-10-2016 at 04:15 PM.
JoeJr1485 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:18 PM
  #12
myersflyers
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

>One of the BIG things is new wire harness. The new harness is much easier to install and fool proof so no more trouble shooting a plug installed the wrong way.
>Should be backwards compatible with existing Kingtech engines. Stay tuned for more info on this.
>working on telemetry and spektrum should be ready before release.


This is gonna be sweet...setting a new standard!

Last edited by myersflyers; 05-10-2016 at 04:23 PM.
myersflyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:24 PM
  #13
Viper1GJ
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 595
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sounds great. It will save lots of dead sticks and jets. Hope it is backwards compatible.

Any more news about a K-300?

Gary
Viper1GJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:36 PM
  #14
David Jackson
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,632
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What about telemetry to display turboprop rpm?
David Jackson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:51 PM
  #15
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

David that's a good question. I will ask Barry.

Gary the K250 and K300 are both n testing but don't think anything is going on with it until after the release of the new ECU.

From what I know it will be backwards compatible but not sure what would need to be done to switch. Might be a simple wire harness change and new ECU or might need to send engine in for upgrade. I just don't know yet and will update when I do.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 04:55 PM
  #16
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So this is a ecu with display so you don't have to plug in your hand held?
FenderBean is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 05:13 PM
  #17
more
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chiangmai, THAILAND
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have kingtech developed "Bus" system for the new ECU? The single wire installation will help to make clean installation.
more is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 07:30 PM
  #18
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Great news Barry.... I like it ... will the current Xicoy telemetry work on the new ECU or you will have new telemetry sensor....

David..
LA jetguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 07:40 PM
  #19
5skyhawk172
 
5skyhawk172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 165
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good news I have 2 K100s that have never been run. Price?
5skyhawk172 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 01:24 AM
  #20
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

On the "re-start" how does it gauge whether there has been a fuel leak that stopped the turbine, before it restarts the fuel pump and sprays fuel over a potentially hot engine with no way of monitoring it (with eyes on the ground) I know this has been shown on a couple of engines, I personally think its one of those crazy potentially dangerous 'beer - bottle of wine' thought ideas. I guess I'd need to know more info.
There are so many reasons why a turbine might stop and people flying around with a mind-set that the turbine will restart and save the day, just sounds like a guaranteed crash because it doesn't!
Without knowing the software I guess its safely linked to rpm (so if the turbine seizes, it won't try to restart)??

Way too many 'what ifs' for me!
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 02:59 AM
  #21
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
On the "re-start" how does it gauge whether there has been a fuel leak that stopped the turbine, before it restarts the fuel pump and sprays fuel over a potentially hot engine with no way of monitoring it (with eyes on the ground) I know this has been shown on a couple of engines, I personally think its one of those crazy potentially dangerous 'beer - bottle of wine' thought ideas. I guess I'd need to know more info.
There are so many reasons why a turbine might stop and people flying around with a mind-set that the turbine will restart and save the day, just sounds like a guaranteed crash because it doesn't!
Without knowing the software I guess its safely linked to rpm (so if the turbine seizes, it won't try to restart)??

Way too many 'what ifs' for me!
I agree and I left that feedback on Facebook too. As it sounds now, if the engine seizes you will still be able to control the flame thrower. They would need a way to figure out a sensor failure from a real mechanical failure.

I do welcome new technology though.
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:10 AM
  #22
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Will it have cool down with the receiver off?
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:38 AM
  #23
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick15 View Post
Will it have cool down with the receiver off?
If you shut it off it will restart again automatically
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:42 AM
  #24
SECRET AGENT
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,034
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If ifs were fifths we'd all be drunk.
SECRET AGENT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:49 AM
  #25
gunradd
Thread Starter
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
On the "re-start" how does it gauge whether there has been a fuel leak that stopped the turbine, before it restarts the fuel pump and sprays fuel over a potentially hot engine with no way of monitoring it (with eyes on the ground) I know this has been shown on a couple of engines, I personally think its one of those crazy potentially dangerous 'beer - bottle of wine' thought ideas. I guess I'd need to know more info.
There are so many reasons why a turbine might stop and people flying around with a mind-set that the turbine will restart and save the day, just sounds like a guaranteed crash because it doesn't!
Without knowing the software I guess its safely linked to rpm (so if the turbine seizes, it won't try to restart)??

Way too many 'what ifs' for me!
Dave this was also a concern of mine. The ECU does have safety features built into it like it looks for a correct temp and makes sure it has RPM before putting fuel back in for the start. If the engine is seized it will not attempt a start. I dont think this feature will be for everyone. I could see it being useful for people with twins or sport jets that can stay in the air long enough for a restart.

I am still waiting on more details on how exactly this works because people that are doing a dead stick really need to be aware and trim it low so it does not try and restart while its on the ground in grass or crashed. Like I said waiting on more details on this function.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:42 PM.