Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Diesel vs jet-A

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Diesel vs jet-A

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2016, 05:54 PM
Kelly Rohrbach
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Diesel vs jet-A

So guys, thought I would ask which one guys are using, I would assume jet-A but now the turbine builders say either in some cases. What's the ups and downs, price obviously being one of them.
Old 08-04-2016, 06:06 PM
luge_racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm still fairly new to turbines, but I've only ever run diesel. The advantages I've read are, more power, better fuel economy, better availability and less expensive.
Old 08-05-2016, 03:00 AM
josecilurzo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Diesel have more power ( 8300 Kcal / Kg x 8466 Kcal / Kg ) , less sulfur , high flash point , after many questions to manufacturers , i started use on my engines, and, after around 120 hs in 5 engines, with 3 inspections and bearing changes after more 40 hs run time on 2 of my engines, i dont back to jeta1.
I change the oil too, today MOBIL DTE 32.
i'm happy with the results, and, is very easy to me buy JETA1, the airport gas station is very close to my office, but, today i cant see any reason to use it!!!

hope help

jose
Old 08-05-2016, 03:53 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 350 Likes on 280 Posts

There's several pages on this somewhere here but the consensus (if you can have that on RCU) is most of the guys are running diesel now.
Old 08-05-2016, 05:44 AM
Kelly Rohrbach

Thanks guys. So is this OK in all older units as well like jetcat p80 se
Old 08-05-2016, 05:52 AM
flyinfool1
My Feedback: (2)

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts