Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Igyro 3e Question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Igyro 3e Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2016, 08:35 AM
txshan130
My Feedback: (114)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Igyro 3e Question

To all the gyro experts out there, how do you guys set up your gyros? I'm new to gyros and so far not a fan, but maybe I'm doing something wrong. I generally fly all my jets with 20-30% expo on all surfaces. I hooked up the Igyro 3e according to the manual, but when I turn it on in flight(even on lower gain settings), it feels as if I have even more expo and really dulls out the surfaces. A few people told me I need to take out all my expo, but I wanted to get some opinions on a greater scale. Thx in advance for any help
Old 10-19-2016, 08:45 AM
gregg f
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I use about half of the expo with the 3E that I used before I installed it.
Old 10-19-2016, 08:47 AM
Si_B

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I dropped my expo down to about 10% and slightly increased my throws on the ailerons. A mate showed me how to set up three different rate and expo settings which I could select when flying. Allowed me to try out the feel of the model once I'd turn the gyro on. Nice thing was I could easily switch everything back off to a sage setting if I didn't like it.

Simon
Old 10-19-2016, 10:31 AM
Dave Wilshere

Received 735 Likes on 531 Posts

What aeroplane?
First thing I do is fly, trim and balance ( match) the control feel. This gives you a clue on gyro set up. I'm very new to aeroplane gyros to, but it was obvious to me that you would not get the best out of a gyro like the 3e without setting the gains to suit the control power. On an Xcalibur the elevator is much more powerful than the ailerons, so reducing the gain 20% in the gyro settings will allow a high overal gain setting.