Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Airtech Tires

Old 05-14-2017, 11:23 PM
  #1  
siclick33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,735
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Airtech Tires

Unfortunately, yesterday I locked up my brakes and flat spotted the tire on my Tomahawk 2m Viperjet. This was only its first day on tarmac and it is bad enough to need to be replaced.

I contacted Erwin and he recommended the High Speed tire which is about 3x more expensive than the standard tire. Has anyone used these tires and are they worth the extra money? Will they be less likely to flat spot if the brakes lock?

Thanks
siclick33 is offline  
Old 05-14-2017, 11:43 PM
  #2  
number27
 
number27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a set of the high-speed tyres (RebeL PRO). They will flat spot. Bling items. If not required go with ordinary wheels/brakes.
number27 is offline  
Old 05-14-2017, 11:54 PM
  #3  
siclick33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,735
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Perfect, thanks.
siclick33 is offline  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:47 PM
  #4  
siclick33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,735
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is turning out more difficult than I had hoped.

Does anyone know where I can get replacement tires for the 2M Viperjet. The ones recommended by Erwin are 85mm but mine are 75mm and I want the same size. Despite several emails he hasn't (or won't) confirm that his 75mm tires fit the rims that I have (that were supplied by Tomahawk) which may or may not be Airtech.
siclick33 is offline  
Old 05-15-2017, 01:20 PM
  #5  
siclick33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,735
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK, I think I may have found the problem.

Despite looking extremely similar, I now believe that the gear I have is actually IQ-Hammer and not Airtech (which explains Erwin's reluctance to help).
siclick33 is offline  
Old 05-15-2017, 07:12 PM
  #6  
BoomerSooner
My Feedback: (80)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Give vogelsang aeroscale a call. Gotz can hook you up. Or Thomas at tomahawk can probably help too. I just ordered two sets today from vogelsang for my 2m futura. Uses the same gear as the viper jet. You are correct, the tires and wheels are both made by hammer and extremely soft. There are no harder replacements available.
BoomerSooner is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.