RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Linear servo

Reply

Old 06-27-2017, 01:27 PM
  #1  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Linear servo

To preface, I am working on a 1/9 scale AD Rafale.
What options are there for a linear servo to be used on ailerons?
I think the Figerilli have a 2 second transit, so would be a little slow, and not sure they would act proportionately. EMS- Jomar has a conversion for adapting a standard Futaba servo. I ordered a set 5 weeks ago and can get no response from the company, so I am now looking for alternatives. As a last resort I can use a thin wing servo, but I didn't want to cut the wing up further. The servo mounts in a fairly thin ( skinny) fairing and does not have room for much of a servo arm, hence the search for a linear solution.
I have spent a deal of time searching, and have only found these two options.
Does any one have any suggestions, aside from 'torching' the project?

John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 01:48 PM
  #2  
Kevin_W
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mount a appropriately powerful servo in the wing root, then use a torque tube down the length of the wing, mount an arm on the end of the torque tube, then a pushrod from that to the aileron.
Take a look a Servo City for ideas
https://www.servocity.com/servos/ser...ments/couplers
https://www.servocity.com/servos/ser...chments/shafts
Kevin_W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 01:49 PM
  #3  
bluelevel
My Feedback: (37)
 
bluelevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would NEVER EVER trust an actuator to be used on ailerons and the manufacturer has not designed the plane around that. Actuators are way too slow! Go with a "thin wing" servo instead, even if you have to enlarge the opening slightly. There are plenty of servos out there that are small but have sufficient torque, but these are not cheap. Check out the MKS DS6125 Mini or the MKS HBL6625mini for example.

Thomas
bluelevel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 01:54 PM
  #4  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you Kevin, however the wing is already built and primed, so torque tubes are not an option at this point. RDS will not work for the same reason ( I have used this system in other aircraft, but not in a finished wing ). I don't want to cut the wing up further.
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service