Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

T-3 Pics and Build

Old 03-04-2019, 09:12 AM
  #276  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Copy that, Just wondering what you went with.
Digital Pilot is online now  
Old 03-04-2019, 05:45 PM
  #277  
rcmigpilot
My Feedback: (26)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berwick, LA
Posts: 822
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Westwindpilot86 View Post
Jeff,

There a few different servos in the jet.
Flaps and ailerons have futaba 9157s.
Elevators are jr 8911s.
Rudder is a jr 8611a. And I believe that 8611 just has a bit to much slop. I am flying futaba.

But I will be moving my CG back to 350 for this weekend and put a different servo in the rudder.
I don't think slop is causing the jitters, I have the same issue with the 8711 on the rudder of my Sback. Some of the older, non programmable digital servos, like the 8611 and 8711 had very tight dead bands. Since there is no load on the rudder on the ground it messes with the servo (don't remember exactly what's going on). What I did, after reading a lot of posts on the issue, was glue the fuzzy side of a small strip of Velcro to the top of the fin. It just barely rubs on the bottom of the rudder counter balance, not enough to effect the rudder, but enough that the servo sees a tiny bit of load, twitching went away.
rcmigpilot is online now  
Old 04-20-2019, 05:58 AM
  #278  
rcflyguy_26
My Feedback: (8)
 
rcflyguy_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey guys,
Check your ball links... While going through my T3, I found the ball is loose inside the plastic on all the stock links. It's not alot, but I can spin the ball easily with some slop. I'm replacing all mine with the Dubro monster ball links and titanium rods.

Scott
rcflyguy_26 is offline  
Old 04-20-2019, 08:52 AM
  #279  
clavin
My Feedback: (5)
 
clavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 160
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Digital Pilot View Post
Dial in about 1/4-1/2 Crow and you will love it!

Good luck, Post photos..
Kris,
1/4 to 1/2 INCH crow?
clavin is online now  
Old 07-20-2019, 02:45 PM
  #280  
sc0tt
My Feedback: (61)
 
sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can someone please give the T-3 fuel tank dimensions? measurements don't have to be exact, but close. Also, is the main tank a true 7.5L (256oz) ? I'm looking at this tank for a different jet project. Thanks...

sc0tt is offline  
Old 10-01-2019, 11:22 AM
  #281  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

FYI All

Selling my T-3 Purple Monster BNF With a K260G2

You can find it in the Classified Section here on RCU!
Digital Pilot is online now  
Old 10-12-2019, 07:23 PM
  #282  
Srobinson352
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gear door

Originally Posted by jsnipes View Post
Work today focused on nose gear and door. Door will be servo actuated.
did you have issues setting the hinges for the nose gear door? Iím having an awful time setting the hinges.
Srobinson352 is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:25 AM
  #283  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Digital Pilot View Post
T-3 Manual is Complete..
Hi, guys, I received my T3 a couple of days ago and I intend to use MKS777+ servos on all surfaces. I have a question concerning the servo arms I can use. Although the manual states clearly that we have to use 1" arms, (except for steering), I have in my workshop 20-25 pieces aluminum arms (25T) 1.2" and 1,5" lengths available. What lengths did you use guys for your T3? Is there a problem to go with the sizes that I arleady own?

Thanks in advance,
Makis.
makis is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:52 AM
  #284  
Srobinson352
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Nose door

Originally Posted by Digital Pilot View Post



Thats a bummer... This is the main reason why i fully boxed in my nose door area... I boxed in around the steering servo and gear as well...
Did you end up putting the door back on? Iím having a tough time setting my hinges. Any tricks to it?
Srobinson352 is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:57 AM
  #285  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Srobinson352 View Post


Did you end up putting the door back on? Iím having a tough time setting my hinges. Any tricks to it?





Digital Pilot is online now  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:57 AM
  #286  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This worked incredibly well!
Digital Pilot is online now  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:26 AM
  #287  
Srobinson352
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gear door

Originally Posted by Digital Pilot View Post
This worked incredibly well!
I like it!! just a couple questions for details: 1) is the door strut actuated and if so what hinge did you use?
Srobinson352 is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:35 PM
  #288  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

One single heavy duty Dubro large flat pin hinge in the center. Made a wood block shaped to the strut, position and glue onto door. I tape it when transport. The air keeps it closed during flight.
Digital Pilot is online now  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:49 PM
  #289  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by makis View Post
Hi, guys, I received my T3 a couple of days ago and I intend to use MKS777+ servos on all surfaces. I have a question concerning the servo arms I can use. Although the manual states clearly that we have to use 1" arms, (except for steering), I have in my workshop 20-25 pieces aluminum arms (25T) 1.2" and 1,5" lengths available. What lengths did you use guys for your T3? Is there a problem to go with the sizes that I arleady own?

Thanks in advance,
Makis.
I don’t have a T-3 but from a conceptual standpoint, going with larger arms than necessary will give you more throw at the EXPENSE of resolution....

A fellow modeller from my area has found that 22mm arms give the correct geometry on the T-3, FWIW

Last edited by flyloose; 10-13-2019 at 05:18 PM.
flyloose is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 06:50 PM
  #290  
FlyJ
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by makis View Post
Hi, guys, I received my T3 a couple of days ago and I intend to use MKS777+ servos on all surfaces. I have a question concerning the servo arms I can use. Although the manual states clearly that we have to use 1" arms, (except for steering), I have in my workshop 20-25 pieces aluminum arms (25T) 1.2" and 1,5" lengths available. What lengths did you use guys for your T3? Is there a problem to go with the sizes that I arleady own?

Thanks in advance,
Makis.

You'll be ok everywhere except the flaps. The servos have little room between the servo door and the upper skin in the compartment.
FlyJ is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:06 PM
  #291  
Westwindpilot86
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

1 inch on flaps, ailerons, and elevators. 1.5 on rudder. Whatever you want on steering. All my throws are around 100 on all surfaces.
Westwindpilot86 is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 01:46 AM
  #292  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Smile

Thanks a lot for the info guys!! I'm sure I'll be back with more questions during the building process......
makis is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 11:25 AM
  #293  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Hi guys, I'm confused, please advice.... The little plys are options for aileron, elevator and rudder servos? Did you used them during building process? And the screws... I've got two sizes in the hardware pack, which size is the one to screw the servos?
Thanks in advance,
Makis.
makis is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 11:33 AM
  #294  
Westwindpilot86
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Longer screws are to hold servos in. Shorter ones I believe are for the servo covers. I did not use the plywood pieces.
Westwindpilot86 is offline  
Old 11-02-2019, 01:28 PM
  #295  
rcflyguy_26
My Feedback: (8)
 
rcflyguy_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I used the plywood pieces to shim the servos up toward the hatches so more arm stuck out.
rcflyguy_26 is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 12:14 AM
  #296  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the input guys, another question: Did you use some kind of wood glue on the screws before screwed them onto the wood? Just for safety?
makis is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 03:47 AM
  #297  
rcflyguy_26
My Feedback: (8)
 
rcflyguy_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just a small dab of thick CA
rcflyguy_26 is offline  
Old 11-05-2019, 12:53 PM
  #298  
Westwindpilot86
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


I used duco. Bought it off amazon. Itís just like ambroid. Holds the screw in but releases when trying to get a screw out. Great stuff.

Last edited by Westwindpilot86; 11-05-2019 at 12:56 PM. Reason: Added picture
Westwindpilot86 is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 04:16 PM
  #299  
Blinky
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If any bodies are in need of new never installed full set of retracts landing gear for T3 call me lines, tanks and gear. 773.507.8534
Blinky is offline  
Old 11-11-2019, 08:14 AM
  #300  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi guys, did you use the fuel stock fittings for this jet? I intend to put a JetsMunt 200XBL and the fuel holes seems to be very small for me, in my opinion....
Any related info will be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Makis.
makis is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.