Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New Sport Jet: T-One Models Mini Fortune / Mini T1

RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New Sport Jet: T-One Models Mini Fortune / Mini T1

Reply

Old 04-18-2019, 02:20 PM
  #1001  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

T-One installed the gear and brake controllers under the main deck. This is cool and they are out of site, but it seems like if I ever need to get to them, I'll be pulling the main-fully-populated-deck out.

Do you see a problem with the config like this? They did a great job mounting them.


dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 02:42 PM
  #1002  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I had done the same with the gear/brake controller......but in your case you got the updated separates controller for the brake/doors and gear and the brake could need adjustments....
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 02:42 PM
  #1003  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I considered mounting them there but did not for the exact reason you mentioned. Didnít want to have to pull the whole main deck to get to them. You can see where I located them in my pic, you can just see the edge of the brake controller at the bottom of the pic mounted in the front above the nose gear.
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 05:17 PM
  #1004  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Someone asked me why I bought a "mini" instead of a full sized T1. Here's the proof of concept regarding that question... and yes, it does fit in a Subaru Outback

dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 05:45 PM
  #1005  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Also fits in an Expedition lol...
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 05:54 PM
  #1006  
Digital Pilot
 
Digital Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Rocket City, AL
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dribar View Post
T-One installed the gear and brake controllers under the main deck. This is cool and they are out of site, but it seems like if I ever need to get to them, I'll be pulling the main-fully-populated-deck out.

Do you see a problem with the config like this? They did a great job mounting them.


Hey there.. The Mini looks great! Once you get your gear and door setup done you really wont need to mess with it any longer. For the brakes you might need to adjust the power. Once done you should not need to mess with it ether. They install them there to keep them out of the way. again these are not something you will need to access all the time. Good luck and congrats....
Digital Pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:08 PM
  #1007  
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default T1

Originally Posted by dribar View Post
Someone asked me why I bought a "mini" instead of a full sized T1. Here's the proof of concept regarding that question... and yes, it does fit in a Subaru Outback

Come on Dan you could have gotten a full size T1 in that car. Also I mounted my controller underneath the main deck in my T1 and have not had any issues with it. I did mount a separate switch to turn the gear controller on and off between flights so I am not sitting there sucking down battery. I know at idle they don't take much, but I like to be safe.

Patrick
sirrom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 07:48 PM
  #1008  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Here is my setup with CB200/cortex pro. This gives a CG about 195. I have another mini with Powerbox Mercury SRS and similar battery placement, which flies nicely for me. I understand many prefer the CG farther aft. If you are new to jets I urge you to start farther towards the front end of the recommended range and slowly work your way back.
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 09:37 PM
  #1009  
Ducted Fan Dan
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ducted Fan Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 491
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


I mounted all of my gear on the wooden deck so I would be able to get to it if need be.
Ducted Fan Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 01:53 AM
  #1010  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks gents!

Can you identify this part for me? Came in my parts package and I'm not too sure what it is and what it's for....

dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 04:00 AM
  #1011  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dribar View Post
Thanks gents!

Can you identify this part for me? Came in my parts package and I'm not too sure what it is and what it's for....

Spare pin for the nose gear oleo....
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 04:04 AM
  #1012  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
Spare pin for the nose gear oleo....
I just can't stop learning. Thank you!
dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 04:24 AM
  #1013  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dribar View Post
I just can't stop learning. Thank you!
We all do....daily...
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:00 AM
  #1014  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Do the brakes always go on a on/off switch or can you use a slider to adjust the brake pressure?
dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:18 AM
  #1015  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dribar View Post
Do the brakes always go on a on/off switch or can you use a slider to adjust the brake pressure?
OK -- I kind'of answered my own question, but will post it in case there is a problem with my logic.

I originally put the brakes on a 2-position switch. I found that I could adjust the brake pressure by adjusting the "travel" of the servo. Hmmmmm. So I moved the brakes to a slider and now I have full control over the pressure of the brakes. I'm surprised that this works but it's pretty cool that I can apply anything from light to heavy pressure on the brakes.
dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 06:07 AM
  #1016  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The brakes will work much more consistently with a slider if you remove the magnets in the wheel hub. -Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 02:59 PM
  #1017  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Any problems with this general layout?

I did a test balance with all 3 batteries up front, and a small bottle of UAT-size liquid, and hit 190 perfectly with it sitting as shown. Still need the wiring harness, but will start to nail these pieces down in the next few days.

Thanks!
dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 05:07 PM
  #1018  
T3chDad
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It looks good. Personally, I think 190 is too far forward. I started at 190, and within about 10 flights I started moving stuff back...and then adding weight in the tail. Mine's now been at 210 for a while, and I'm still feeling like I need to move it back a bit more. Granted, you're not going to go wrong with 190, but just be prepared to be rearranging stuff down the line.
T3chDad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 05:45 PM
  #1019  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by T3chDad View Post
It looks good. Personally, I think 190 is too far forward. I started at 190, and within about 10 flights I started moving stuff back...and then adding weight in the tail. Mine's now been at 210 for a while, and I'm still feeling like I need to move it back a bit more. Granted, you're not going to go wrong with 190, but just be prepared to be rearranging stuff down the line.
The 190 has the three batteries in a block as far forward as possible, so adjustments via battery movement should be pretty easy to pull it backward as time goes on. Thanks for the input. Much appreciated.
dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 05:14 AM
  #1020  
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dan,
The person who created this thread Lior Zahavi (i3dm) has his settings posted on facebook, and I would start with those and fine tune from there. I started with a more forward CG on my T1 and regretted it...was very hard for me to get a good flare on landing and ended up bouncing a couple. Moved it back to the 260mm that he (and many others) suggested and it is a pure joy to land now.

Patrick
sirrom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 05:18 AM
  #1021  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by sirrom View Post
Dan,
The person who created this thread Lior Zahavi (i3dm) has his settings posted on facebook, and I would start with those and fine tune from there. I started with a more forward CG on my T1 and regretted it...was very hard for me to get a good flare on landing and ended up bouncing a couple. Moved it back to the 260mm that he (and many others) suggested and it is a pure joy to land now.

Patrick
thanks for the refferal.
260mm is for the T1, NOT the mini !
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 05:55 AM
  #1022  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I agree with a really forward CG itís going to make it difficult to flare for landing... I would start around 200 if you are worried about it, like I mentioned Iím at 206 with no issues.
camss69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 07:49 PM
  #1023  
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mini t1

Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
thanks for the refferal.
260mm is for the T1, NOT the mini !
Understand that the 260 was for T1..was using that as a demonstration that a more forward CG will make it hard for landing....but I can see how it can be confused.

Patrick
sirrom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 01:33 AM
  #1024  
dribar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Messy, but getting closer.... Going to balance again tonight and then lock things down.

Q: Is it ok to put the fuel filter in the second bay, closer to the turbine?

dribar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 03:48 AM
  #1025  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Fuel Filter anywhere after the pump is fine
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service