RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

CARF Joker build thread

Reply

Old 10-15-2017, 12:49 AM
  #51  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

David

Looks like you have the later unit, so yes you can Y off the radio packs.
I understand there is not space for the carbon clamp. The hatch with wood spacer is what is really holding it down, the silicon is a secondary fix/isolator.

You don't have to remove the former, just have the pipe as high as possible in the fuselage at the rear.
Hopefully our first one will be finished soon and I will post pictures.

Dave
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 01:15 AM
  #52  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Dave
There is enough room for the carbon clamp. It is okay to use the carbon clamp to hold the servo instead of spacer and silicon right?
David Quy
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 01:17 AM
  #53  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dave
Can you post the pictures of what you guys have done so far?
David Quy
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 01:23 AM
  #54  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If there is space then its good to use it.

I don't have the model, its being finished by an expert builder remotely as the customer did not have time or expertise and i'm tied up with other projects.
I do wish I had just got on and finished it, it should be less than a week even with a painted internal finish.

Dave
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 01:39 AM
  #55  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Dave
David Quy
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 07:53 AM
  #56  
authomassen
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sandnes, NORWAY
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've been looking for videos of the joker flying, but no joy. Anoyone have a video or link to a flying video?
authomassen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:10 AM
  #57  
dccatl
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Best I could find was this on facebook from CARF-Model's page (it's not very good), titled "CARF-MODELS @ JetPower DAY 2":

Joker Video

https://www.facebook.com/carfmodels/videos/10155150853553983/
Joker taxis out at about 7:30

Last edited by dccatl; 10-17-2017 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Hyperlink
dccatl is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:26 AM
  #58  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We will do one in the next couple of weeks.
Someone must have done a video of Frank's flights at JP 2017

Dave
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:20 PM
  #59  
acrored
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi all, i want to share some pictures of turbine and pipe installation for this joker that i am building for a customer, hope they help, take care.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5299.JPG
Views:	663
Size:	453.6 KB
ID:	2241608   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5300.JPG
Views:	637
Size:	423.5 KB
ID:	2241609   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5301.JPG
Views:	638
Size:	537.9 KB
ID:	2241610   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5298.JPG
Views:	496
Size:	375.7 KB
ID:	2241611   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5303.JPG
Views:	566
Size:	532.7 KB
ID:	2241612   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5304.JPG
Views:	524
Size:	434.5 KB
ID:	2241613  
acrored is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 10:07 PM
  #60  
DepecheMode101
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by acrored View Post
Hi all, i want to share some pictures of turbine and pipe installation for this joker that i am building for a customer, hope they help, take care.
did you use CA to glue in the plywood around the pipe?
DepecheMode101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 04:24 AM
  #61  
dccatl
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by acrored View Post
Hi all, i want to share some pictures of turbine and pipe installation for this joker that i am building for a customer, hope they help, take care.
Very helpful, but I do have a coupe of questions if you don't mind. I notice you mounted the turbine offset vertically (slightly lower) in the fuselage than the factory mounting rails using the plywood shims. Since the thrust tube is contacting the top of the fuselage I'm assuming this offset is necessary to align the center of the turbine exhaust with the center of the thrust tube, correct? I also notice three machine screws inside the pipe, what to they attach to? Finally, what turbine is that, a K85? Any other pics you can provide of any noteworthy steps during the build would be appreciated, and hopefully a flight video if your customer is so inclined.

Thanks again,
David

Last edited by dccatl; 10-19-2017 at 05:41 AM. Reason: Added question
dccatl is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:03 AM
  #62  
acrored
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by DepecheMode101 View Post
did you use CA to glue in the plywood around the pipe?
Yes, but reinforced with a layer of fiberglass on both sides of the plywoods.
acrored is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:20 AM
  #63  
acrored
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dccatl View Post
Very helpful, but I do have a coupe of questions if you don't mind. I notice you mounted the turbine offset vertically (slightly lower) in the fuselage than the factory mounting rails using the plywood shims. Since the thrust tube is contacting the top of the fuselage I'm assuming this offset is necessary to align the center of the turbine exhaust with the center of the thrust tube, correct? I also notice three machine screws inside the pipe, what to they attach to? Finally, what turbine is that, a K85? Any other pics you can provide of any noteworthy steps during the build would be appreciated, and hopefully a flight video if your customer is so inclined.

Thanks again,
David
You have a sharp eye amigo, the turbine was offset like 6 mm(1/4 of an inch) so i have to make those plywoods spacers, about the three machine screws, they are there to hold the aluminium outside wall of the thrust tube, factory built by Carf i asume and Yes, it is a KT-85 but i had to mounted that way because of the two wires coming out of the turbine, i will post more pictures later, if you have another cuestion just do it, take care.

Last edited by acrored; 10-19-2017 at 06:23 AM.
acrored is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 07:14 AM
  #64  
skymaster68
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 264
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Talking

Originally Posted by acrored View Post
You have a sharp eye amigo, the turbine was offset like 6 mm(1/4 of an inch) so i have to make those plywoods spacers, about the three machine screws, they are there to hold the aluminium outside wall of the thrust tube, factory built by Carf i asume and Yes, it is a KT-85 but i had to mounted that way because of the two wires coming out of the turbine, i will post more pictures later, if you have another cuestion just do it, take care.
Looking great as you allways do Acrored !!!
Maiden tomorrow??? ;-)
skymaster68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 12:08 PM
  #65  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Retracts don't work

I can't get my retracts to work. It says break input is 7.4 volt to 8.4 volts, does the same apply to the retracts or just 6 volts for the retracts?
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 01:42 PM
  #66  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,787
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Retracts and brakes should operate on a 2S lipo.
do you have three retracts plugged in?
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 06:41 AM
  #67  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes everything plugged in. I think I may have a defective unit!
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 06:59 AM
  #68  
dccatl
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by DavidQ View Post
Yes everything plugged in. I think I may have a defective unit!
This is disconcerting, I found this video on you tube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YFT2H-M6qc&t=149s

The title translates to "dead switchboard" carf models joker, and while I don't speak Spanish, I gather from the video that the brakes work but not the retracts. I also had a friend burn up a set of JP retracts on a mini Avanti by plugging them into a 2S LiFe, the controller ended up being fine but the motors in the retracts themselves were bad. I'm curious to hear if anyone with this version of the controller has their retracts and brakes working, and if so, how exactly they're powered. I suspect that the brakes only are rated at 7.4-8.4v, while the gear itself is 6v max. I haven't received my Joker yet and since I'm planning to run HV servos and 2S LiPo's so I think I'll test the retracts first on a 4.8V NiMh pack and if they work I'll run the retracts at a 5.9v via a BEC or regulator.
dccatl is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 09:20 AM
  #69  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,787
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The retract set in my Mini Avanti is regulated to 5.9 volts using one of these: https://www.horizonhobby.com/vr5203-...ator-spmvr5203

The new set of JP Hobby retracts that I installed in an L39 is rated to 8.4 volts and is etched onto the case.
Hopefully the Joker gear is rated for a 2S Lipo
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 08:52 AM
  #70  
scaryxxl
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Barcelona, SPAIN
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by dccatl View Post
This is disconcerting, I found this video on you tube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YFT2H-M6qc&t=149s

The title translates to "dead switchboard" carf models joker, and while I don't speak Spanish, I gather from the video that the brakes work but not the retracts. I also had a friend burn up a set of JP retracts on a mini Avanti by plugging them into a 2S LiFe, the controller ended up being fine but the motors in the retracts themselves were bad. I'm curious to hear if anyone with this version of the controller has their retracts and brakes working, and if so, how exactly they're powered. I suspect that the brakes only are rated at 7.4-8.4v, while the gear itself is 6v max. I haven't received my Joker yet and since I'm planning to run HV servos and 2S LiPo's so I think I'll test the retracts first on a 4.8V NiMh pack and if they work I'll run the retracts at a 5.9v via a BEC or regulator.

Hi there
I am the owner of this video .
I explain what happened, the main control unit that comes with my joker kit was bad from factory, I went to jetsmunt factory to check why the control unit doesn't work and it seams the 2s lipo works fine for barkes but to power the retracts the + cable was comunicated with the + of the receiver so the unit was burned. so please check it carefully the + cable is not comunicated.
also I purchuase a Xicoy main retracts system until carf models send me a new one.
the video was done to show it to carf models.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20170925_015957 (Copiar).jpg
Views:	428
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	2243046   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170919-WA0025 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	406
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	2243047   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170923-WA0007 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	363
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	2243048   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170924-WA0003 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	327
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	2243049   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170924-WA0005 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	328
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	2243050   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170924-WA0053 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	403
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	2243051   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170926-WA0011 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	464
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	2243052   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20170928-WA0015 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	430
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	2243053  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20171022-WA0018 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	511
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	2243054   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20171022-WA0020 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	442
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	2243055   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20171022-WA0022 (Copiar).jpeg
Views:	443
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	2243056  
scaryxxl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 01:23 PM
  #71  
DavidQ
My Feedback: (12)
 
DavidQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I too went to Fan Jet USA and ordered the break control and retract box as well as a voltage regulator from Horizon Hobby, hope everything works this time. At least yours is half way working, none of my indicator lights came on with the power plugged in. Ray Labonte is contacting COMP ARF on the issue today. I hope my retracts units are okay though!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	JPH E-Brake Controller v2.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	2243072   Click image for larger version

Name:	JTM Retract Control Box.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	143.7 KB
ID:	2243073   Click image for larger version

Name:	voltage regulator.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	4.7 KB
ID:	2243074  
DavidQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 04:49 PM
  #72  
VK96
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Hooksett, NH
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can someone share their AUW(dry/ UAT full). Seems like a big plane for such a low advertised weight. Thx!
VK96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:02 AM
  #73  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 2,882
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My experience on the JP controller is it uses the receiver for power on the retracts and the power port is only for the brakes. I have found a 2 cell life works fine on the brakes. I am very against using lipos so this was a good thing.
gunradd is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:07 AM
  #74  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,787
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by DavidQ View Post
I too went to Fan Jet USA and ordered the break control and retract box as well as a voltage regulator from Horizon Hobby, hope everything works this time. At least yours is half way working, none of my indicator lights came on with the power plugged in. Ray Labonte is contacting COMP ARF on the issue today. I hope my retracts units are okay though!!!
David if you have a battery you can simply plug it into the retract to make it cycle, if it does not move reverse the connection. If it will not move with the battery connected either way i'd say the motor is shot, but these unit are really robust.
If you are concerned about overvoltage use a regulator or lower voltage source. All sensing is done in the control box so DON'T over drive the the retract.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 09:19 AM
  #75  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why did you mount your pump so close to the turbine? 1/Fuel metering is more critical and 2/ its a pump...does not like sucking fuel from the tank.

Retract power can be from the Rx output or Y off the Sensor switch output.
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service