RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bvm p.n.p. cougar

Reply

Old 01-02-2018, 05:47 PM
  #1  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Bvm p.n.p. cougar

Hi guys, i just ordered a cougar last week and expect it soon.
I intend to put a k-100 in it and spectrum reciever /DX18
with a cortex gyro.
I have been out of the hobby for the past 10 years and I would appreciate some tips and hints with this model.
looking forward to some great advice from other cougar owners.
thanks
Gerry Kerr
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 01:31 AM
  #2  
Mark Vandervelden
 
Mark Vandervelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bournmouth UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Gkjr
I started a thread on the Jetlegend Cougar a while back. The JL Cougar is, in fact, the same Cougar that is manufactured by JL but solely distributed by BVM in the USA.
Its a fantastic flying machine well made and developed exclusively by JL and has sold well here in Europ quite some time befor it was introduced to the US.
Out of the box, the PNP version its a fine but a few mods make it even better.

Jetlegend PNP Cougar
Mark Vandervelden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 05:24 AM
  #3  
patrnflyr
My Feedback: (7)
 
patrnflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I’d recommend this thread: New BVM Cougar?

also, would recommend going with the KT 120 for this plane in the Cougar. Had a 100 in mine and it just needed a little more reserve when it was dirty. Gears flaps and air brakes required about 60% power to keep it flying well. 120 is ideal and weighs the same
patrnflyr is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 01:40 PM
  #4  
quist
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We have a K120 in ours as well. It is not overpowered. It is a fantastic flying jet.
quist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 02:35 AM
  #5  
Mark Vandervelden
 
Mark Vandervelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bournmouth UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 483
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine had a Jets Munt 100 to begin with and it flew just fine but it was felt a little more power, say on a windy day wouldn't hurt.
To that end a Jets Munt 140 is now fitted (only other turbine I had spare) It is a small light turbine at only 102mm dia and 1400g.
I now use the same if not less fuel and have plenty of reserve power and it cruises around at about half throttle.
A small can 120n turbine would be ideal if you have
one if I were to buy a turbine specifically for the JL (BVM) Cougar that would be my choice.
Mark Vandervelden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 09:40 AM
  #6  
Robzylla
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a K120 in mine and it flys GREAT!
Robzylla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 05:43 PM
  #7  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

well guys, I received my cougar today and I have one thing to say .....
FANTASTIC !!!!!
the quality of fit and finish is great.
the value for the dollar is unbelievable.
I'm one happy camper !
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 06:28 PM
  #8  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Which paint scheme did you get? I got the Red & white Navy/Marine scheme last fall.
It will fly with a JetsMunt 140.
A7Bldr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 07:01 PM
  #9  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

the grey and white, I like it because it's not widely modelled
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 08:09 PM
  #10  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default pic

[img]f9f8 gkjr[/img]
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 06:10 AM
  #11  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

anyone using the smoke tanks as fuel tanks??? Or is the standard tank plenty? I removed the smoke system too but the tanks are tucked in their nice and neat, not sure if removing them is gonna make a difference
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 01:40 PM
  #12  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default fuel

with kingtech 100, 8 minutes is no problem with main tank.
flying it as a scale plane.
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 05:39 PM
  #13  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well, I finally got time to work on mine this past weekend. I thought I would share a few things I came across. First thing I did was pull the main fuel tank and update my fuel lines. There weren't any wire ties or clamps on the internal lines or clunk. (just my preference to wire tie them secure). I only changed them out because the fuel tubing in their seemed really limp. May have been in there a while. Not sure. Then I moved on to my turbine install. I loved how the rails are removable with a 2mm screws. This made for a really clean install. UAT/pump/receiver tray was next. My Cougar tray had the UAT mounts facing forward. I think this was a first generation design as the new instructions show the UAT facing the rear. I simply cut the glue joints and swapped them around. Then it was on to the battery tray nose section. Installed ecu battery and rx batteries in the recommended sections. Everything fits so nice and there is plenty of room to put everything you will need. So far I am impressed with the PNP Cougar. Testing the landing gear I did find that the nose gear was struggling to lock in the down position. Had to pull the UAT tray to investigate. Well worth the process as I found a air line T was pinching the nose gear hose. I simply re-positioned the T and let the air lines relax in a normal position. Air restriction fixed! Gear working solid! Really impressed with this sequencer and setup. This system seems to function well when the air pressure drops below failsafe. impressed so far! Now I can move on to the rudder and elevator install. This part was challenging for me since I found came across something that was the inspiration for this post. This is simply a knowledge share and not a kit bashing. I truly am impressed with this PNP.

Recently I have read a few post, heard a few rumors and get different variations on feedback when it comes to these PNP packages(servos, fitments, quality ect). With that said, I believe a lot of the responsibility of going through these planes does fall on anyone who buys them (the best we can) prior to test flight.

OK, back to the findings. Mechanical set up from the factory is pretty close. I only had to make a few adjustments to the linkage to get the setup the way I like it on the elevators and rudder. The biggest observation I made was the issue I had when setting up my control throws on the elevator. It was baffling me that I could not get the recommended throws in the manual. I remembered when I bench tested the elevator servo for torque I got a full throw in both directions (no elevator linkages connected) and everything seemed fine. Put the linkages back on and again, limited throw. Confused!!! So I decided to pull the elevator off again and take a look. When I put my hand on the servo cover of the elevator servo it seemed a bit warm. More than normal you could say. I checked the rudder servo and it was cool, checked the nose gear servo, it was nice and cool and yet the elevator servo was really really warm. Something wasn't right and binding for sure. Then it hit me! The trailing edge of the elevator was such a good fit on the hinge line that it was limiting my throws in the up and down positions. I ended up having to trim about 3/16 on the top and bottom to get the recommended throws. I used tape to protect the elevator and a thin metal ruler to put between the curved hinge line and trailing edge so that I would not cut into the actual hinges or nick the elevator surface. I used tape to mark my line and made all the necessary cuts with my dremel and small cutters wheel. Worked perfect! Really makes me wonder if the rumors/failures that have happened were issues due to improper mechanical setups?? hmmmmm? Anyhow...I will be back home on Friday and will move to installing the wings and setting up throws. So far I am in love with this plane! Sorry I dont have pics to share. Hotel Room Chronicles night!

Last edited by Dblex; 09-05-2018 at 07:10 PM.
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:08 PM
  #14  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for documenting these things to watch for. Looking forward to your flight reports! Are you installing a gyro?
Jim
A7Bldr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:42 PM
  #15  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No Gyro yet. Dieselman1220 keeps trying to convince me, Honestly I just dont know much about them to be comfortable. I know change is good....just not on this project! LOL

Your welcome for the feedback. Allot of folks helped me, so I am just paying i forward. My Skymaster F-18 had the same issue with the wings and I had to do allot of cut to fit on the ailerons and flaps to make it work. I was frustrated / regretful about my purchase. Come to find out all the Skymaster F-18 guys were running into similar issues. So it made me feel normal. LOL. At the end of it all I was very happy with it. Just had to be patient.

Not to mention, threads for this Cougar are limited. Allot of the feedback and information I got was by chasing down owners and talking via phone. If you need anything, PM me and give me a call. I can share the stuff I have heard so far. 90% Good! so dont worry! 10% of the negatives are VERY questionable.
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 09:24 AM
  #16  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Cortex gyros are easy to install and setup.
They reduce pilot load in windy/xwindy conditions allowing you to focus on flying the model.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 04:05 PM
  #17  
Gkjr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default gyro p.np. cougar

a well set up cortex pro gyro completely changes the flying characteristics of this plane for the better.
time and money well spent !
Gkjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:31 PM
  #18  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default brake question for the black box generation PnP cougars!




I have the newer sequencer in my cougar but I noticed tonight the brakes are on/off only. No pulsation? It says later models with the black box use pulsation in the manual???? But mine are definitely on/off only....

how are you guys using the on/off only brake function?
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 03:33 AM
  #19  
patrnflyr
My Feedback: (7)
 
patrnflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Not sure on the brakes but someone will come along in a little bit...

I just sold my white/red Reserve one to a friend. I turned around and bought another. Itíll be December before it comes in though. I was stationed at Kingsville in the early 90ís and wanted the VT-23 color scheme. Looking forward to getting another one. Probably the first plane Iíve ever bought back to back. Tells you how good it is.
patrnflyr is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 04:48 AM
  #20  
JoelP
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Marion, TX
Posts: 335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

In regards to the on/off brakes, I just added a proportional brake valve and separate air tank on my pnp F-16.
JoelP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 05:08 AM
  #21  
Dieselman1220
My Feedback: (25)
 
Dieselman1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 794
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dblex View Post



I have the newer sequencer in my cougar but I noticed tonight the brakes are on/off only. No pulsation? It says later models with the black box use pulsation in the manual???? But mine are definitely on/off only....

how are you guys using the on/off only brake function?
put your brakes on the trainer switch so you can quickly bump them on and off. Then set the trim for the brakes on a slider so you can have a parking brake.
Dont forgot to lube them.
Dieselman1220 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 05:32 AM
  #22  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey! Arenít you guys suppose to be flying in Waco this morning!!??? My daughters game got delayed til midnight and we didnít get home until 3:30am. Too tired to make the drive up!!!

thanks Diesel.. thatís what channel she is on for now... that will get me by for now. I was hoping I wasnít missing anything with this controller!
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 08:28 PM
  #23  
Dblex
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wing socket head screws?


Manual says 3mm but I am getting 9/64!! I donít have a 3.5mm ball driver to test that size.....

can anyone chime in and your size with the new PNP Cougars?
Dblex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 09:27 AM
  #24  
Flyin-in-Bama
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I didn’t read all the thread yet, but I thought I would answer this one.
i have a K140 G2 in mine.
i converted my smoke tanks to fuel, with each tank taking up one of the vents already installed.
i get way more flight time than needed. Lol.

super jet.

love it
Flyin-in-Bama is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 09:35 AM
  #25  
Flyin-in-Bama
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I didn’t have throw issues with mine, but What concerned me was only a single servo on the elevator with two linkage rods, this is a split elevator already, so I did a mod and made mine into separate Servos, one for each side, separate channel on receiver for fine tuning geometry. Installed inside stab, works perfect, now I have some insurance.
Flyin-in-Bama is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service