RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jetcat service?

Reply

Old 05-14-2018, 07:17 AM
  #1  
AndyAndrews
Thread Starter
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,051
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Jetcat service?

Guys,

Were is the best place to get Jetcat service these days?

Thanks,
Andy
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 07:32 AM
  #2  
Dieselman1220
My Feedback: (25)
 
Dieselman1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

George at Dreamworks
Dieselman1220 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 07:35 AM
  #3  
Vincent
My Feedback: (61)
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona / Colorado
Posts: 4,806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselman1220 View Post
George at Dreamworks
+1
Vincent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 07:39 AM
  #4  
chrisansilver
My Feedback: (17)
 
chrisansilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: bay city, TX
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

+2
chrisansilver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 08:30 AM
  #5  
RSO
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA, MO
Posts: 389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselman1220 View Post
George at Dreamworks
+3

Jerry
RSO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 09:33 AM
  #6  
patf
My Feedback: (4)
 
patf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

+4 turned around my ecu's in a week door to door.
patf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 10:27 AM
  #7  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,901
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

George doesn't seem to be having issues like the rest of DreamWorks.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 11:45 AM
  #8  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 4,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I recently posted my Jetcat repair experience with the dreamworks team
before Todd passed away. It was PHENOMENAL.

I would hope it has not changed.
ravill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 02:28 PM
  #9  
AndyAndrews
Thread Starter
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,051
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks guys. Good references. I've casually known George from KY Jets. He seems like a good guy to work with. I didn't know he did service on turbines other than the ones he sells.

Andy
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 07:15 PM
  #10  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

George is awesome. I have had 3 services with him and they all have been perfect. He has also been very helpful when I just had questions. So don't hesitate.

Behzad
DUCMOZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 01:51 AM
  #11  
Doug Cronkhite
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have an older propane start P200.. Has anyone had it converted to Kero start, and what was the cost? It has a v6 ECU.. wondering if updating to the V10 ECU would be worth it?
Doug Cronkhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 06:24 AM
  #12  
Vincent
My Feedback: (61)
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona / Colorado
Posts: 4,806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Doug Cronkhite View Post
I have an older propane start P200.. Has anyone had it converted to Kero start, and what was the cost? It has a v6 ECU.. wondering if updating to the V10 ECU would be worth it?
V10 is not necessary and won’t work with your 200 anyway. all you need to do is buy an external kero plug and change the V6 program from propane to kero start. Also plug the 3mm propane inlet. Simple as that

Last edited by Vincent; 05-15-2018 at 06:27 AM.
Vincent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 06:46 AM
  #13  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I like to ask him if he can service my TJT 3000 when the time comes for bearing change, how do I get a hold of him?

Thanks.
CARS II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:15 AM
  #14  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,610
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
I like to ask him if he can service my TJT 3000 when the time comes for bearing change, how do I get a hold of him?

Thanks.
He should answer the Jetcat Americas phone 386.944.9122 - but maybe not immediately during the day...

Bob
rhklenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:44 PM
  #15  
Doug Cronkhite
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Vincent View Post


V10 is not necessary and wont work with your 200 anyway. all you need to do is buy an external kero plug and change the V6 program from propane to kero start. Also plug the 3mm propane inlet. Simple as that
Thanks Vincent.. Do you have any links to those? I searched google for converting the P200 to kero, but didn't find any info. Curious what people use to plug the propane inlet, and what glowplugs to use?
Doug Cronkhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:24 AM
  #16  
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,672
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You can plug the propane with anything that is the right size. I use the blanking plugs from Festo but you could just use a crimped tube or a tube with a screw/dot in it.

The kero conversion is simply a heating element that is screwed into the glow plug hole. It replaces the glow plug.

The ECU has to be past a certain software revision version to be able to swap it for kero start but Im guessing that ones supplied with a P200 will all be able to do this.

siclick33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 02:18 AM
  #17  
George
My Feedback: (57)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 2,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Doug Cronkhite View Post
Thanks Vincent.. Do you have any links to those? I searched google for converting the P200 to kero, but didn't find any info. Curious what people use to plug the propane inlet, and what glowplugs to use?
Vin is correct.

Here is the plug.

https://www.dreamworksrc.com/jetcat-...pgrade-v3.html
George is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:55 PM
  #18  
AndyAndrews
Thread Starter
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,051
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I sent the turbine via Fed Ex today. I will report on this forum how long it takes to complete.

Thanks,
Andy
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:01 PM
  #19  
Vincent
My Feedback: (61)
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona / Colorado
Posts: 4,806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you have a 3mm plastic festo plug then use it to plug the old propane inlet. If not take a short piece of 3mm tubing and push it into the festo. An old piece of smooth 4/40 pushrod will fit snug in the 3mm tubing, just trim the excess with side cutters.
Vincent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:23 PM
  #20  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Andy
Did you check with George before you ship it? From what i remember, i had to get a repair sheet and complete it and include with the turbine.
Behzad
DUCMOZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:48 PM
  #21  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I sent an email to George last night and I got a reply to my question this morning, then I sent him another email and I got a reply within minutes.

He answered my questions right away and provided me with the info I needed to make my move to Diesel.

Thank you George for taking the time to answer my questions, very much appreciated.

Last edited by CARS II; 05-16-2018 at 01:54 PM.
CARS II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 07:10 PM
  #22  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 4,608
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dreamworks Jet Cat Service Awesome

Here is the link to my service experience. A+.

My only caveat is that it was before Todd passed away when I sent in my P200.

Last edited by ravill; 05-16-2018 at 07:15 PM.
ravill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:27 AM
  #23  
George
My Feedback: (57)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 2,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AndyAndrews View Post
I sent the turbine via Fed Ex today. I will report on this forum how long it takes to complete.

Thanks,
Andy
Thanks for the update Andy; but as I mentioned to you Tues., I am not sure I can get it to you before KY, but I will do my best. As far as "reporting" here, that will not change.
George is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service