RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New Skymaster F4

Reply

Old 07-11-2018, 03:36 PM
  #1  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New Skymaster F4

Well my new ride is almost finished

They are changing the wingtips to Red and adding another color to elevators. Cant wait to get this one going. It has tanks and bombs galore coming as well
kevinthoele is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 05:46 PM
  #2  
rcjetsaok
My Feedback: (7)
 
rcjetsaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very cool !!!

Dan
rcjetsaok is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 02:50 AM
  #3  
Mikey5547
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by kevinthoele View Post
Well my new ride is almost finished

They are changing the wingtips to Red and adding another color to elevators. Cant wait to get this one going. It has tanks and bombs galore coming as well
looks great post some pics when you get it!
Mikey5547 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 03:37 AM
  #4  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice. Twin?
tp777fo is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 02:19 PM
  #5  
Kevin_W
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Kevin,
I just got mine a few weeks ago. It took forever to get it (ordered just after Thanksgiving), but I am very happy with it now. I'm working hard on it to try and have it flying before Greater Southwest.
The only issue I've encountered so far is that there was no wood inside either flap when I made the cutout for the control horns. There was a wood block installed, but it didn't extend far enough to where the horn needs to be, but it wasn't too difficult to grind the block out from the side and install a new one.

Maybe we can do some formation flying in the future!
If Buck ever finishes his maybe he can join us too. LOL
Kevin_W is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 03:47 PM
  #6  
smaze17
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 1,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice Kevin. Is this the big one or the really big one??
smaze17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 03:53 PM
  #7  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I guess its the middle size now. I wanted something I could take in expedition without trailer. The biggest one would have been a challenge. But my buddy ordered the biggest one in same paint so I guess I will get to test fly that one.

Sounds good Kevin W
kevinthoele is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 04:25 PM
  #8  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How long is the take off/landing distance on the mid size. Still havent test flown mine
tp777fo is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 04:46 PM
  #9  
smaze17
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 1,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by kevinthoele View Post
I guess its the middle size now. I wanted something I could take in expedition without trailer. The biggest one would have been a challenge. But my buddy ordered the biggest one in same paint so I guess I will get to test fly that one.

Sounds good Kevin W
Cool. Looking forward to seeing it come together.
smaze17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 05:22 PM
  #10  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Tom

It takes 400 feet with my 210 in current one I'm flying
kevinthoele is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 06:01 PM
  #11  
Craig B.
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Tom,

I fly mine off a 130m runway and it rotates after about 100m if I hold up elevator. Donít use a lot of flap. With a lot of flap it leaps off the ground a bit. I am also moving my c of g back a bit too.
Craig B. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:32 PM
  #12  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine is a bit chubby at 41-42# dry with a KT210 and Tam pipe. I have all three tanks in it and it takes probably 600í to takeoff. Landings are probably about the same but I pop the chute and wait a long time to even apply brakes so it looks more Scale. I donít hold full up but I donít let it be the worlds fastest tricycle either. I hold about 1/3 up from the start of the roll and let it rotate when itís ready

Tom, itís a great plane but more power is better. Iíd love a KT260 in mine. Landings are incredible. On the other thread I list all the cg and tank feeding info if you want/need it

that scheme is awesome. Well done!

Dave
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:36 PM
  #13  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ps-Guys I have sent all the data to Revoc for them to make a set of wing bags for the 1/7.75 Scale F-4. I asked them to include a pocket for the forward wing spar. I havenít seen the final product yet but should in the next week or so
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 02:59 AM
  #14  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks guys. I fly off of 700' close cut grass. Have a 38# Rhino SP with the stock pipe. Weighs 36 dry. Cg is at Kevin's 340. I think it just might work.
tp777fo is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 05:09 AM
  #15  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Let us know how it goes. If your talking putting green close no issues. Grass is always a challenge. I am in the camp that more power is better. I have Tam Pipe and K210 in mine and another K210 going in my new one
kevinthoele is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 06:33 AM
  #16  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I ended up glueing several hardwood blocks in around the gear mounts as well. (Forward and aft of the gear got big triangle stock thy I made from hardwood, under the rails themselves got blocks as well). You may want to think about that for grass
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 08:53 AM
  #17  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Tom, one more thought...you may want to consider eliminating the front tank entirely. Itíll cut your takeoff weight significantly as well as allowing a more aft and consistent cg which will help with the rotation

As I mentioned mine is 42 dry (flitemetal, lights, chute ab rings etc) so 4# heavier by with 8# more thrust and no one would call it overpowered. The phrase Iíve heard is ďthat looks very ScaleĒ
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 11:29 AM
  #18  
Kevin_W
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ozief16 View Post
I ended up glueing several hardwood blocks in around the gear mounts as well. (Forward and aft of the gear got big triangle stock thy I made from hardwood, under the rails themselves got blocks as well). You may want to think about that for grass
I actually worked on beefing up my main gear mounts just last night. I added 8mm plywood doublers to each rail, and I will be swapping the wood screws for 6-32 bolts and blind nuts.
I'm also going to change the main gear door linkages to use 90 degree bellcranks so the force of the air cylinders can be maximized.
Kevin_W is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 02:57 PM
  #19  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Kevin Take some pics of the bellcrank door upgrade your doing
kevinthoele is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 08:11 PM
  #20  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Kevin(s)

I changed the main gear doors (inner) to BV cyl at a very different angle as they never shut per the stock setup. I can take pics if you need

kevin, sorry to go wild dingo on your thread. As I mentioned gorgeous plane

Dave
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:40 AM
  #21  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 2,684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pix please
tp777fo is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:06 PM
  #22  
Kevin_W
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by kevinthoele View Post
Kevin Take some pics of the bellcrank door upgrade your doing
Kevin,
I got the bellcrank geometry figured out today. I don't have the air cylinder mounted yet, but this should give you an idea of what I did.



I tried using standard Dubro nylon bellcranks at first, but they are only 3/4" arms and did not give enough throw. I had these G10 bellcranks that I made for another project years ago and was able to modify them to work for the Phantom. The arm is 3/4" on the air cylinder side, and 1" on the door side (center pivot hole to ball link hole). The bellcrank is mounted to a piece of 1 1/2" angle aluminum that I cut and shaped into a bracket for it. The other side of the bracket is drilled and tapped for two 4-40 screws and mounts to a piece of 1/8" plywood that I glued to the wing root rib.

Last edited by Kevin_W; Yesterday at 05:22 PM.
Kevin_W is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:46 PM
  #23  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hereís what I did thatís been working for me
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:47 PM
  #24  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 530
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


I also did this with flap horn as long as I have the wing out. Gives great geometry and a ton of deflection
ozief16 is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy