RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Details4 Scale LED lights

Reply

Old 02-19-2019, 12:19 PM
  #1  
two dogs
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Details4 Scale LED lights


Does anyone know where you can purchase LED lights compatible with the last generation of Details light controller........or have LED's you might want to sell

Thanks
TwoDogs
two dogs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 12:49 PM
  #2  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Do you know the output voltage for the LEDs?
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 03:58 PM
  #3  
IFLYBVM2
My Feedback: (359)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 699
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Controller

That is Dan's newer controller-it does not regulate voltage. Because of that , voltage input to the controller is what the leds will 'see'
He recommended a li-ion 3.6 volt pack if I recall.
His older controller DID regulate the voltage, hence the lack of the cooling fan on the new vs. the old.
Hope this helps-
Mike
IFLYBVM2 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:05 PM
  #4  
IFLYBVM2
My Feedback: (359)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 699
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

And to better answer your question, I would add you should be able to use almost any led that you want so long as you stay with the 3.6v input.
IFLYBVM2 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:23 PM
  #5  
Basspilot
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pm sent.
Basspilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:26 PM
  #6  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pm if you need some LEDs ours are good up to 5 volts, cheers!
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:52 PM
  #7  
two dogs
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

3.6 input voltage........been unable to locate vendor that has the type of lights Dan sold

Thanks
two dogs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 09:38 AM
  #8  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

To me having separate 3.6 volt batteries are a PITA. It's best to get a system that runs off the RX batteries utilizing a smaller controller (size of a stamp?). These old air cooled controllers that require specific batteries (which means another battery to charge every time and don't last but one or two flights) are relics of the past.
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:28 AM
  #9  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another option is to use an adjustable BEC to give you the required voltage from a larger battery pack:

https://www.dimensionengineering.com/products/de-swadj3

Bob
rhklenke is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:37 AM
  #10  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rhklenke View Post
Another option is to use an adjustable BEC to give you the required voltage from a larger battery pack:

https://www.dimensionengineering.com/products/de-swadj3

Bob

Great idea Bob.
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 11:53 AM
  #11  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 4,776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Twodogs, save yourself the headache and go with another light manufacture. I vote unilight.
ravill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:07 PM
  #12  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Andy our controllers regulate the output so no matter what u use on the in 6.6 up to 24volts it only puts out the required voltage. Makes it easy on finding LEDs and no crazy soldering.
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 04:05 PM
  #13  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
Andy our controllers regulate the output so no matter what u use on the in 6.6 up to 24volts it only puts out the required voltage. Makes it easy on finding LEDs and no crazy soldering.
I want one. email me the cost aa@foodserviceequipment.com
AndyAndrews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 04:29 PM
  #14  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by AndyAndrews View Post
I want one. email me the cost aa@foodserviceequipment.com
Email sent
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 08:55 AM
  #15  
DPKII
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I just found this post. Coincidentally I have a separate post on RCU asking if anyone has instructions for this unit. I am trying to set one up for a buddy in a Skymaster F4 and have not had much luck figuring out the jumper and switches for setting up the outputs/inputs. On my post I did get a copy of instructions for an older unit (thank you!) which does seem similar and I will try these out this evening but if anyone has a copy of the instructions for this unit it would be very helpful.

Thanks,
David
DPKII is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 12:20 PM
  #16  
two dogs
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

DPKII email me at d.carter2008 @hotmail.com and I'll send you a copy of my instructions

Dave Carter
Two Dogs
two dogs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service