RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skymaster F4 lighting help

Reply

Old 03-23-2019, 04:14 PM
  #1  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Skymaster F4 lighting help

I know Steve Stricker built one and put lighting in the wing tips. How did he or anyone route wiring. Are holes needed to be drilled from where to where. Just opened the tip and fitted the details4scale lens (not glued yet)
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 08:01 PM
  #2  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I ran my wires along the aft side of the rear spar and simply flexed the flaps and ailerons to route the wire
ozief16 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 06:58 AM
  #3  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ozie

Is there holes in the wing formers to run the wire through or did you have to drill? I have been shinning light through the hole I drilled in the wing tip but cant see light so I thought I must have to drill
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 07:15 AM
  #4  
f106jax
My Feedback: (16)
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 946
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Kevin, are you working on the 1/6 or the 1/7.5 version?
f106jax is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 07:48 AM
  #5  
ozief16
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good point 106

Both Steve and I have the 1/7.75 (unless heís got a new one)

Iím pretty sure I had to use a long drill bit to punch through one rib in there to get to the TE of the wing. I I think I slipped roughly a 3/16Ē bit in the crescent shaped hole for the light, aimed it straight to the TE (so roughly 45 deg relative to aircraft heading from the front left towards the aft right or vice versa) and only found one rib in the way. If I remember correctly (Iím not home right now) that aft spar doesnít go all the way out so after going through the offending rib, I came around the outboard end of that spar with the wire.

Because tou can clearly see that aft spar with the flaps down I tack glued the wires in the top skin/aft spar intersection so you canít see the wires with the flaps down

i can check all of this and give you pics in a day or so if you need

Dave
ozief16 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 08:00 AM
  #6  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lighting

Originally Posted by ozief16 View Post
Good point 106

Both Steve and I have the 1/7.75 (unless heís got a new one)

Iím pretty sure I had to use a long drill bit to punch through one rib in there to get to the TE of the wing. I I think I slipped roughly a 3/16Ē bit in the crescent shaped hole for the light, aimed it straight to the TE (so roughly 45 deg relative to aircraft heading from the front left towards the aft right or vice versa) and only found one rib in the way. If I remember correctly (Iím not home right now) that aft spar doesnít go all the way out so after going through the offending rib, I came around the outboard end of that spar with the wire.

Because tou can clearly see that aft spar with the flaps down I tack glued the wires in the top skin/aft spar intersection so you canít see the wires with the flaps down

i can check all of this and give you pics in a day or so if you need

Dave

Working on 1/7.5 size
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 09:34 AM
  #7  
f106jax
My Feedback: (16)
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 946
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry, didnít put lights on my 1/7.75, just the 1/6. Looks like Ozie has the answer for you.
f106jax is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 08:02 PM
  #8  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Controller

what wire is positive? Does it go on top or bottom of controller when plugged in?
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 04:52 AM
  #9  
f106jax
My Feedback: (16)
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 946
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

White is the common and goes towards the bottom. No damage if you plug one in wrong, the light just wonít come on.
f106jax is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 04:58 AM
  #10  
kevinthoele
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Finally got both installed this weekend. First one was time intensive but after I learned how to bend wire to use as fish the second was easier. Lens all glued with silicone and after putting to AA across wires they light up!!!!!!!!!!
kevinthoele is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service