RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Byron F15c Project

Reply

Old 04-26-2019, 03:37 PM
  #1  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron F15c Project




Hey guys and girls, this is my new purchase, a 30 + year old byron f15c, it was on Rcgroup for awhile, it has a 106'' long fuselage, it only weigh 14lb with retracts and servo only, seem pretty solid airframe, Im plan on running a 120 to 140 turbine, also looking to buy a Y pipe for it, this project will be interesting, but doable, stay tune !!!!!!!
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:45 PM
  #2  
spike223
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St Francois, QC, CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice !
spike223 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:50 PM
  #3  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:58 PM
  #4  
spike223
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St Francois, QC, CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Fei Bao F-15 is also a 1/7 scale.
The pipe should be the same
Contact Catherine !
spike223 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 04:16 PM
  #5  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Yes, I send them a email, but she she asked if I needed a steel pipe or a carbon pipe and I told her I needed a steel pipe and she never got back with me.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 06:52 PM
  #6  
thunderchief
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

wow......nice
thunderchief is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 07:38 AM
  #7  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have an old Byron F-15 too (sitting dormant) and was under the impression that it needed at least 160 power to fly it well.
Are you sure 120-140 will be enough? Don't we lose up to 20% with the split pipe?
A7Bldr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 09:01 AM
  #8  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Going off Sherlock f15c, fly weigh was 32lb, with a vt80 turbine, so I'm running a 120 to a 140 turbine.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 11:19 AM
  #9  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,897
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Frank I hope yours flies as well as this One:

Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 11:35 AM
  #10  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

maybe you dont need a Y-pipe at all...

erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 04:15 PM
  #11  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Ok, just bought a new Y pipe from a friend Mike, thanks, now I can mount the pipe and start the setup on building the turbine engine mount.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 04:29 PM
  #12  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c




Last edited by frankle951; 04-28-2019 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Add pic
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 04:32 PM
  #13  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Ok guys, should I cut the top open or go ahead and bolt the turbine in from the bottom, above are pictures showing both ways.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 07:35 PM
  #14  
jeteye
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Louisville,
Posts: 3,956
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I had one years ago, and loved it! It should be a great flyer for you.

Lewis
jeteye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 01:49 AM
  #15  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you Lewis, but did you have your turbine bolted from the top the fuselage or did you cut a hatch from the top and bolt the turbine at the bottom of the fuselage ??????
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 02:42 AM
  #16  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron F15c

Originally Posted by erbroens View Post
maybe you dont need a Y-pipe at all...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89HTA3JKHMM
That's really cool, only using one turbine and not using a Y pipe !!!!!!!!
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 02:47 AM
  #17  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron F15c

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
Frank I hope yours flies as well as this One:

https://youtu.be/JzSbJkY2qVw
Yes, I've watch this video over 20 times, he has it dial in and a great flyer !!!!
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 10:24 AM
  #18  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I wonder if he has that Turbine or pipe offset a little to compensate? Can't really tell in the video.
Grumania does this in one of his jets, too.
A7Bldr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 12:08 PM
  #19  
spike223
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St Francois, QC, CANADA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by A7Bldr View Post
I wonder if he has that Turbine or pipe offset a little to compensate? Can't really tell in the video.
Grumania does this in one of his jets, too.
Hi

I did emailed Friedhelm a couple years ago about this. Not Grumania. ..just a straight pipe a 5 degres angle.
spike223 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 02:51 PM
  #20  
jcterrettaz
 
jcterrettaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Carp, ON, CANADA
Posts: 293
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will not bolt there turbine from the bottom , make a new hatch ..less problem for maintenance later
jcterrettaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 04:13 PM
  #21  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Ok, guys, I you cut a hatch on the top, I will post pictures.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 03:02 PM
  #22  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Okay guys don't laugh, this is just a temporary set up.

frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 07:02 AM
  #23  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron f15c

Here are the elevator doors, that was missing.
frankle951 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 09:31 AM
  #24  
Vettster
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Beeton, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frankle951 View Post
Ok guys, should I cut the top open.
Flames tend to rise... so YES cut the top
Vettster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 11:14 AM
  #25  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by A7Bldr View Post
I wonder if he has that Turbine or pipe offset a little to compensate? Can't really tell in the video.
Grumania does this in one of his jets, too.
absolutely yes, this way this small offset compensates the assimetric thrust line. I had two jets with Y-pipes, but even if the sound they make is great, they are fragile and a sure factor to loose a jet if they fail. They also are very inefficient, taking away a sizable amount of thrust.

That german guy plane and pipe solution are brilliant.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service