RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Tuning JP Brakes?

Reply

Old 05-12-2019, 02:25 PM
  #1  
Dave Wave
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Any Town, IL
Posts: 133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tuning JP Brakes?

I installed a set of JP electric brakes on my new build. I set them up on a 3 position switch, so I could have off, mid and max braking. I adjusted the EPs in an effort to achieve this. However, I get no braking at mid, until I go to max, if I go back to mid from max, I get medium braking.

Max works fine on its own (locks the wheel pretty much).

I would like to be able to go from off to mid, so I wont lock the wheels on landing.

Any ideas?
Dave Wave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 02:36 PM
  #2  
jet-lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I know this is not the answer you are looking for but I use an Assan AG63 gyro which controls the nose wheel and the left and right brakes.

Works perfectly at keeping the aircraft in a straight line under heavy braking.

Personally I find a the need the brakes on full or not at all.

Just food for thought!
jet-lover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 03:05 PM
  #3  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,002
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Jp controller is a poor design.
I use the Xicoy brake controller it works great
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 04:10 PM
  #4  
Len
My Feedback: (3)
 
Len's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB. Canada
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
The Jp controller is a poor design.
I use the Xicoy brake controller it works great
Agreed, and if you have a terribly mismatched set of brakes, like I have, then you can use two Xicoy controllers and mix them on separate channels to get straight braking. Oddly enough the two Xicoyís are less money than most single brake controllers!
Len
Len is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 04:15 PM
  #5  
jet-lover
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Len View Post


Agreed, and if you have a terribly mismatched set of brakes, like I have, then you can use two Xicoy controllers and mix them on separate channels to get straight braking. Oddly enough the two Xicoyís are less money than most single brake controllers!
Len
or you can use the Assan AG63 brake gyro which automatically adjusts the brake voltage on each brake to keep the plane straight.

Much cheaper and more effective.
jet-lover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 03:24 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,537
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Agreed, the Xicoy works great.

I have experimented with just about every brake method when I had a jet column and flying others models and I have found that down elevator is the easiest way to apply brakes while landing. The only time I found a lever or maybe what you're doing more effective, is when you have a short runway and really need to pre-load the brakes a bit but even that could be done with a mix while still using the down elevator for brake application.

Just my .02
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 03:48 AM
  #7  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,537
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wave View Post
I installed a set of JP electric brakes on my new build. I set them up on a 3 position switch, so I could have off, mid and max braking. I adjusted the EPs in an effort to achieve this. However, I get no braking at mid, until I go to max, if I go back to mid from max, I get medium braking.

Max works fine on its own (locks the wheel pretty much).

I would like to be able to go from off to mid, so I wont lock the wheels on landing.

Any ideas?
While their controller seem a poor design, something they also put 3-4 magnets (little strong bugger) to hold the disk Iím guessing to reduce friction.....

I have since removed all those magnets by taking the wheel apart and punching them out, on the 3 set of JP brake I have....and that help in getting some brakes at low to mid point, Iím on a slider so my result may be different.....I also change 2 of them to the Xicoy controller with the Gyro...
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 03:52 AM
  #8  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,302
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Get yourself a xicoy LGC15 and solve your braking. Had relatively the same issues. Went thru 3 other controllers before the LGC 15. It has a gyro and if the plane starts going to the side, it lets off on the offending brake and also uses the nose wheel to also correct. It takes a bit of programming. But, It solve my brake problems even in my very light Ultra Flash. Make sure you get one that is either for your retracts or an open programming one so you can tailor it to your specific retracts. I got my open programming ones from PacificRC.
Len Todd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 11:40 PM
  #9  
hot dog
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: st.ann, MO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
The Jp controller is a poor design.
I use the Xicoy brake controller it works great
I just got a xicoy controller blue light comes on nothing happens no diagram on how to hook up wheel wires piece of crap
hot dog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 02:43 AM
  #10  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,002
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Itís simple match the power input.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 03:36 AM
  #11  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,537
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by hot dog View Post
I just got a xicoy controller blue light comes on nothing happens no diagram on how to hook up wheel wires piece of crap
Which controller....I donít think you have the LG15...
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:18 AM
  #12  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,302
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The directions for the LGC 15 and the labels on the controller's output make it foolproof. Granted, you have to be able to read and take the time to read the manual. I set mine up on the bench and programmed it. It took a couple hours, but the time was well spent. I have great even controlled braking on both my jets that have it in them.
Len Todd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:20 AM
  #13  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,537
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Len Todd View Post
The directions for the LGC 15 and the labels on the controller's output make it foolproof. Granted, you have to be able to read and take the time to read the manual. I set mine up on the bench and programmed it. It took a couple hours, but the time was well spent. I have great even controlled braking on both my jets that have it in them.
He said he’s got a blue light.....so it’s not the LG15...

So its either 12 or 13....and they can’t be programmed as far as I know.....
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:59 AM
  #14  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,002
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Heís referring to the stand alone brake controller. When you activate the brake function a blue LED lights up.

You have to replace the plug that comes on the JP brake line with a std servo plug.
The red wire goes where you normally would see the signal wire in the plug. That why I told him to match the input power.
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 08:39 AM
  #15  
hot dog
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: st.ann, MO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
Heís referring to the stand alone brake controller. When you activate the brake function a blue LED lights up.

You have to replace the plug that comes on the JP brake line with a std servo plug.
The red wire goes where you normally would see the signal wire in the plug. That why I told him to match the input power.
The blue light gets brighter as I move slider switch but nothing works I did not get no instruction with Controller my question is how do you plug in I think I have tried upright side ways there is only two wires coming off each wheel ?
hot dog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:03 AM
  #16  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,002
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



Pic
Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:07 AM
  #17  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,002
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bob_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:26 AM
  #18  
john491
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It programs with that little button in the middle. I think there are five choices. You need to toggle through them.
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:38 AM
  #19  
Dieselman1220
My Feedback: (25)
 
Dieselman1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 794
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This looks like a nice unit to use with my new ultra flash Evo.
Am I reading correctly that I can tie in the rudder and nose steering with this unit and free up a channel on my receiver?
Dieselman1220 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:52 AM
  #20  
hot dog
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: st.ann, MO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post


Pic
Thanks for help but not exactly sure what I am seeing is blue wire negative, red wire positive and are they plugged sideways ,is that a different plug ? Why did you separate wires ?
hot dog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 11:06 AM
  #21  
john491
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The controller is wired with the pos and neg in the two outside servo lead locations. The brake unit has the pos and neg next to each other. Hence you need an adapter of some sort on the extension to change the pos wire. I just moved the wire over on a typical extension and placed in series. This unit only controls brakes. The LC15(?) has a gyro and will pulse the brakes in time with the gyro to make the braking happen straight buy controlling the brake action on each brake.
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 05:09 PM
  #22  
jetmandan43@yahoo.com
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Nice Fix

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post


While their controller seem a poor design, something they also put 3-4 magnets (little strong bugger) to hold the disk Iím guessing to reduce friction.....

I have since removed all those magnets by taking the wheel apart and punching them out, on the 3 set of JP brake I have....and that help in getting some brakes at low to mid point, Iím on a slider so my result may be different.....I also change 2 of them to the Xicoy controller with the Gyro...
I removed those pesky magnets. For the first time ever I had a nice braking action. Smooth with no lockups. I wanted to say thank you for a great idea and fix.
Dan
jetmandan43@yahoo.com is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 05:14 PM
  #23  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,537
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not really my idea....just passing info along, after doing it myself..
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 09:13 PM
  #24  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,815
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

On my Joker I found there was a difference between the two wheels holding power, taking it apart I found several thin shim washers, on the side that did not hold as well I took two washers out and found this gave me even braking.
Dave Wilshere is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service