Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

I can't get the pipe in

Reply

Old 06-14-2019, 04:33 PM
  #1  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I can't get the pipe in

Hi,
To start with I am dealing with a 1/9 AD Rafael. This has been a really long term project I have worked on between builds for years. I recently got to the install of a pipe and found I can't get one through the hatch. It needs a bifurcated, but I tried a single to set up measurement and it wouldn't go, so a bifurcated would have the same problem,
I was searching pipes and noticed a listing for an offset pipe but did not take down its source as I was looking for the bi pipe. I now can't find the vendor, so if anyone knows, please help.
It would seem I will have to feed the pipe in from the rear as it will not fit through the hatch, so I will have a single pipe. I noticed the ad for the offset pipe mentioned revectoring the efflux to help with the offset thrust line.
I do not wish to cut a new exit between the two nozzles for a linear thrust line as I have seen done if I can help it.
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 05:02 PM
  #2  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is what you should do,cut the back nozzles away and install the pipe truth the back and just glue some plywood pieces to install the back nozzles back to the fuselage.
sysiek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 05:55 PM
  #3  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you.
I had already considered that approach, but there is a former the nozzles are attached to further in the fuse which also acts as a rigidity support for the fin. I don't want to compromise that former. The holes through the former are large enough to take a single from either side but still carry all the loads on the fin all the way to the bottom of the fuse.
I can't get one by feeding it to the forward portion of the fuse first either.
A collapsible pipe could be put in, but I've not heard of double wall pipes designed that way.
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 06:08 PM
  #4  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have the same jet before and this is the only way to install the pipe , my was the df version or electric but after some flying with the Y pipe I installed the single straight pipe and this was the best way for the jj 1400 turbine,do you have servo installed for your rudder?
sysiek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 06:21 PM
  #5  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, I have a rudder servo. It is mounted at the base of the fin so that is flush with the main portion of the surrounding fuse. It will have good clearance from the pipe.
Did you run your single pipe between the two nozzles in a new hole, or put the exhaust through one of the nozzles?
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 08:32 PM
  #6  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Center between ,This is very fun to fly jet and fast , my jet its actually the one at the jetjoe side as the promo video the blue and yellow
sysiek is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service