Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Anyone have some old P120 stuff laying around?

RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Anyone have some old P120 stuff laying around?

Reply

Old 07-29-2019, 11:01 AM
  #1  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Anyone have some old P120 stuff laying around?

Looking for an IO board, Powermax solenoid and Powermax filter. Mine is a V5.0 if that matters.
Thanks

Last edited by JohnVH; 07-30-2019 at 09:22 AM.
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 11:47 AM
  #2  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have one installed in my L-39, working. If you need it pm me at
hmarmaizmd717@yahoo.com. Maybe can work a deal. I'm planning to
upgrade my plane to a 160.

hector
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 11:49 AM
  #3  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Propane filter, you can use one of the H9 ones if you want to filter the propane gas.

Last edited by CARS II; 07-29-2019 at 11:53 AM.
CARS II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 12:43 PM
  #4  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by E.N.T. View Post
I have one installed in my L-39, working. If you need it pm me at
hmarmaizmd717@yahoo.com. Maybe can work a deal. I'm planning to
upgrade my plane to a 160.

hector
I have the motor, ecu, fuel pump, GSU, but need everything else..
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 04:06 PM
  #5  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is it the motor with or without starter? How about temp prob?
CARS II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 08:14 PM
  #6  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You may not need an I/O board. My old titan doesn't have one. The gsu just plugs directly into the ECU.

Last edited by LGM Graphix; 07-29-2019 at 08:16 PM.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 08:16 PM
  #7  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I also dont use a solenoid for the propane. I just use the valve on the propane bottle and turn it on and off when needed. I skip the onboarding propane tank. Never had a filter in the propane line either.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:16 AM
  #8  
mauryr
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by LGM Graphix View Post
I also dont use a solenoid for the propane. I just use the valve on the propane bottle and turn it on and off when needed. I skip the onboarding propane tank. Never had a filter in the propane line either.
What's the propane filter for anyways? One would hope cans are clean enough
mauryr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:22 AM
  #9  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by LGM Graphix View Post
I also dont use a solenoid for the propane. I just use the valve on the propane bottle and turn it on and off when needed. I skip the onboarding propane tank. Never had a filter in the propane line either.
Technically its powermax yet, Id really prefer to have it setup like the factory would have, if I can find the parts, jetcat doesnt seem to be what it used to be
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:23 AM
  #10  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
Is it the motor with or without starter? How about temp prob?
Ive never seen a jetcat with out a starter? This has a starter and a temp probe. I just need a few parts to complete it.
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:37 AM
  #11  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,796
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by JohnVH View Post
Ive never seen a jetcat with out a starter? This has a starter and a temp probe. I just need a few parts to complete it.
Dreamworks has Jetcat IO boards and solenoids in stock.

Bob
rhklenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:55 AM
  #12  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rhklenke View Post
Dreamworks has Jetcat IO boards and solenoids in stock.

Bob
Ok, thanks. Ill keep that in mind, But still hoping someone has some parts laying around they dont need.
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:57 AM
  #13  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by JohnVH View Post
Technically its powermax yet, Id really prefer to have it setup like the factory would have, if I can find the parts, jetcat doesnt seem to be what it used to be
finding powermax might be harder than finding the solenoid. I gave up on powermax years ago. Just went back to the green Coleman propane canisters.
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:00 AM
  #14  
modtron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chinnor, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looking for an IO board, Propane solenoid and Propane filter

All simple, standard items and should be easily available from JetCat at any time.

modtron
Oxford UK
modtron is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:01 AM
  #15  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by LGM Graphix View Post
finding powermax might be harder than finding the solenoid. I gave up on powermax years ago. Just went back to the green Coleman propane canisters.
I have a case of it yet.
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:30 AM
  #16  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I ask if it has a starter.motor and tem prob because some guys put togather motors from parts, aparantly you are not one of them and won't be needing my spare starter motor or temp prob.

DW is your store to go to.

Good luck.
CARS II is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:07 AM
  #17  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The best way to start the turbine with propane start version is to use the regular jetcat mechanical valve and one way festo 4mm fitting , I stopped using the solenoid long time ago and the manual controls working much better with 100% of the user control.
sysiek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:22 AM
  #18  
JohnVH
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by sysiek View Post
The best way to start the turbine with propane start version is to use the regular jetcat mechanical valve and one way festo 4mm fitting , I stopped using the solenoid long time ago and the manual controls working much better with 100% of the user control.
Never seen anyone do that, and what mechanical valve? Didnt know JC had a manual one. This is a powermax starting engine. I guess I should not have said propane...
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 10:31 AM
  #19  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,796
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Powermax is a propane/butane mix fuel. Straight propane will work, but you typically need to have a regulator for it. The partial pressure of propane is over 150 PSI at normal temperatures and so straight propane tends to blow the the hoses off of the fittings. Dreamworks has a regulated propane valve for starting:

https://www.dreamworksrc.com/propane...regulated.html

There are many alternatives to Powermax for propane/butane fuels - Coleman makes one, there's Jeboil and MSR, and others. Do a Google search on propane/butane and you'll see many alternatives. I get mine at the local REI store, but you can also find them at Walmart some of the time.

The problem with the propane/butane fuel cans is that the valve you need is different than for a straight propane tank. I bought some Festo valves that fit those tanks from Altecare RC way back when, but in a pinch, I've also made one from this camping stove that I got at Walmat:

https://www.amazon.com/Coleman-Peak-...-goods&sr=1-39

I do not use on-board gas anymore, its actually not any more convenient and it wastes gas. I just have a 1-way Festo fitting into which I connect the off-board gas tank, a gas filter (the manufacturer says there should be one there, so who am I to differ?), and the gas solenoid.

I would not however, eliminate the gas solenoid. On a gas-start engine, the gas solenoid "throttles" the gas down until it lights and then lets more in as the RPM comes up. You can do that manually - as we used to do with the old air-start engines, but unless you have a trigger valve and some experience doing it, I wouldn't recommend it.

Bob
rhklenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 10:44 AM
  #20  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,796
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Actually, I think that this valve will fit a propane/butane fuel tank (even though it just says propane tank):

Click image for larger version

Name:	airpropanetankvalve.JPG
Views:	2
Size:	177.9 KB
ID:	2264923

With this valve, you have to connect the hose to the aircraft and then screw the valve down to open it - or you could put an on/off valve inline to turn it on and off. Just be sure to unscrew the valve before you put the gas away, least it leak out and you have an explosion hazard in your garage or trailer...

The one I bought a few years ago had an on/off screw in plunger built into it, which is handy.

Bob
rhklenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 02:24 PM
  #21  
kelly vallee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Granby, QC, CANADA
Posts: 441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If someone has a good combustion camber for a old p120, propane start?
kelly vallee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 02:44 PM
  #22  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

actually I think that I have one,and rear blades and ngv
sysiek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 02:55 PM
  #23  
kelly vallee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Granby, QC, CANADA
Posts: 441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by sysiek View Post
actually I think that I have one,and rear blades and ngv
what do want for it?
kelly vallee is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service