Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Reasonable Fuel Capacity

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Reasonable Fuel Capacity

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2004, 01:17 AM
ArtW

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reasonable Fuel Capacity

I am new to jets and am trying to figure out what is a reasonable first Jet. What fuel capacity is reasonble for a JetCat p70 or PST 600R based aircraft. Is a single 50 oz with a UAT enough fuel? How long a flight do you get? The 50 oz tank is 1500 ml. The maximum fuel consumption rate of the JetCat P70 is listed in the 250 ml/min range as is the PST 600R. That would give 6 minutes at full throttle. How much fuel is used getting going on the ground? In my prop planes I have always strived for maximum fuel capacity and fly for 15 minutes routinely. Does a plane with 50 ounce capacity and a 14 to 16 lbs thrust turbine have enough fuel capacity?

I was looking at the DV8R and it has 100 oz of fuel for a JetCat P80. Does this imply that 50 oz in plane with a p70 is inadequate?
Old 11-25-2004, 03:01 AM
Molar mender

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Reasonable Fuel Capacity

ArtW
I fly a 14 1/2 lb AV8R with the PST J600 and have a 50 oz main and the standard BVM UAT. I have a 10 oz overflow tank attached to the vent and use it to taxi to the preflight area. I set my talking timer to 7 min and then I remove the overflow tank prior to take off. I have my flight routine down so that the mains touch the runway when my timer tells me zero time is left. After taxing back and with the shut down procedure, I have the UAT full and approx 5 to 10 oz still on board, depending on throttle management through out the flight. This fuel capacity is fine for the J600 but I would recommend at least 60 to 65 oz for the J600R for approx the same flying time which will give plenty of reserve.

RH
Old 11-25-2004, 04:47 AM
David Gladwin