Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Voice activating switches

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Voice activating switches

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2005, 08:13 PM
kiwijet

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Voice activating switches

Hi Guys

I've been flying jets down here in New Zealand for a few years now and have trouble activating retract and flap switches (don't we all)

Was wondering if anyone has had experience voice activating Tx switches either directly or via an Ipod or similar running a Windows based voice recog software package.

Now before you condemn me to the loony bin I should explain that I'm a C6 Tetraplegic which confines me to a wheelchair and most importantly robbed me of the functional use of my fingers.
Whilst this does'nt stop me competently flying my jets it sure makes trying to feel my way around the JR 10X difficult, and as you can imagine I'm not to keen taking my eyes off the model when its doing mach heaps!!

Any suggestions/help guys would be very appreciated.

Cheers............Rene
Old 01-03-2005, 10:44 PM
Mike James

Default RE: Voice activating switches

If you use a noise-cancelling microphone, to avoid interference from surrounding noise, the concept isn't so far-fetched. Both Windows and Mac have good enough speech recognition to recognize simple phrases like "Gear down", "Flaps up", etc.. The trouble would be the interface to your transmitter. I'm sure it could be done, but I don't personally know how to wire it.

This is interesting. If someone will help you build the device, we might all be interested in the future. Maybe an RC manufacturer will take the lead, by building in some simple software, and a microphone input. I hope someone helps you accomplish this.